Writers logo

Mythological Truths

By Kathy Frizzell. AKA, Chantel Inch

By kathyPublished about a month ago 8 min read
Like
Spirits

Crime/Urban Fantasy: Crime stories are plot-driven and teach us that social order and justice depend on clever people who outsmart chaotic wrongdoers. Develop engaging characters and vivid worlds to transport readers to other realms.

Plot: An investigative journalist and the local police chief team up to solve a string of murders linked to the local police department.

What’s at Stake: Social order and justice.

Character Wants & Needs: The protagonist wants to see justice done and needs to learn something previously unknown for that to happen. Usually, that learning will require an internal change based on a Worldview, Validation, or Redemption arc.

Characters: Angel {Mage-Monk}, I am known as Angel to have short white hair, ghost-like skin, yellow eyes, an arm tattoo, clothing: ripped jeans, a tank top, snake boots, leather jacket, mirrored glasses, leg-holster gun, “magic-spell casting, sword, and traits: fear no one, straightforward with my words, and truth-speaking about mythological sharp-tongued.

The Last Magic Magus is the only surviving member of a group of powerful magicians trying to bring back his culture while dealing with people who don’t believe in magic. I was born into Buddhism as a young person.

Gold-Moon {Dark Elf-Sorceress}, known as Gold-Moon, to be “known as lone-wolf,” to have smokey-gray long hair, red eyes, nose piercing, a tattoo of a wolf, and blue skin. Clothing: flamed leggings {red-black}, crop-top, white-blue robe, bow/arrows holsters, staff-“wand,” small sword-“two-handed,” and traits: independent-minded, creative, curious, cold.

There was always a limit to the amount of power the Elves could harness — the risk of madness and spiritual corruption prevented them from delving deeper into the power of Chaos. A natural affinity for the shifting winds of magic. High Sorceresses, also known as Supreme Sorceresses, are the most influential practitioners of Dark Magic.

Blade {Vampire-Rogue}, My name is Blade; I am known to have wavey, long black hair, pale skin, and orange eyes. Clothing: black-long cloak, hidden weapons, leather snake boots, black mirrored glasses, holly-ripped shirt, hidden magical books, supernatural {Day-Walker,} and skin-tight pants. Traits: confident, courageous, conflicts, anti-violence, clear-headed, knowledgeable, Methodological and high-minded. Background: I was an orphan, living on the streets, hiding in the shadows, knowing that I have always been different, still have my soul, born with all of a vampire’s strengths and none of their weaknesses.

Raven-Wolf [me] {Druid—Elf, Princess and is the Journalist}, My name is “Raven-Wolf,” and I am known to have long flaming blue/green hair, porcelain white skin, {dark hour-glass,} purple eyes, crown-beaded headpiece, bracelet heirloom {mum} Butterfly brooch, teal dress, heals, and clothing: casual wear-white “robe cloak,” owl-staff, horns, sleeveless top, zipper leggings, gloves, arm bracelets, leg and arm holsters. Traits: Graceful, cold, aloof, and imperious. Background: from the royal family and princesses, I am an Inventor in a Magical World, an intelligent creator in a world where magic is more important than science. She’s trying to make something unique that uses science and magic, even though people don’t value my work.

Jedi, {Arikara-Warlock and is the Chief}, my name is Jedi. I am known to have reddish-like skin, silver mist hair, black eyes, and glasses. My clothing includes a buffalo-skin cloak, moccasins, deer-skin boots, seal-skin pants, a leather shirt badge, a gun-holster and a headpiece horn feather. My traits are curiosity and recklessness. Nature is my belief, and I am immune to fear. Background: Born in Tepee, age 10, I was a man hunting alone with only a spear; I brought home my first kill. Years passed, and I became the chief. Chose to become an officer of the law by being chief of the police.

Dr. Dean: unknown to the mythological creatures, and Parallel Worlds: Some fantasy worlds are parallel dimensions connected to our Earth via magical portals or items, and certain fantasy worlds are hidden within our reality. Mark of Cain, time travelling, Death Ring, human-bad/good days, weapons-casting spells, master hunter, and god powers.

{Note: Twist An unreliable narrator tells the story. And there’s a twist! The Object of Desire is Evil: In this plot twist, the thing the protagonist has been chasing after turns out to be mythological and not harmful. This is a great way to create an element of surprise in your story and keep your readers guessing.}

Raven-Wolf [me] {Druid—Elf, Princess and the Journalist,} Gold-Moon {Dark Elf-Sorceress}, Blade {Vampire-Rouge,} returns home to Hobbiton with their share of the treasure and a lot of wisdom gained. Jedi, {Arikara-Warlock and is the Chief,} was found guilty! Ends the Second Twist.

The Prime subjects are Angel, Gold-Moon, Jedi, Dr. Dean, and Jedi, {Arikara-Warlock and is the Chief,} was found guilty! Ends the Second Twist.

Essential Premise: Criminal activity results in chaos, whereas the pursuit of justice restores social order.

Audience Emotion: The Crime reader wants to feel the intrigue of solving a puzzle or the safety of seeing order and justice prevail. Variations: Crime stories may center on solving a puzzle, investigating a crime, or planning a caper or heist.

As a Supporting Story Type: Typically, where a story contains a crime element, Crime will be the primary plot. However, a crime that incites the protagonist to seek justice in a character-driven story could drive their substantial inner growth.

○ Meet the expectations of your intended audience.

○ Write a consistent story with a clear beginning, middle, and end.

○ Finish. After all, you can't sell an unfinished story.

Break

Long ago, when I was little, my family inherited this old “Castle,” because we were from the royal family, we were treated as such!

Castle Rock

Whispering Falls is my hometown; born with “Elves Blood and some Druid from my father’s side, but I had a dream that I had specialty powers; if some would say {Magic is real or fake in the holder!} I will leave that to the fantasy world!

My name is “Raven-Wolf,” and I am known to have long flaming blue/green hair, porcelain white skin, {dark hour-glass,} purple eyes, and graceful, cold, aloof, and imperious.

Being an “Elf-Druid” is {exciting and exhausting}, and some would say I am running away from lies!

Walking in this old castle, sometimes with wild dreams, I could not fight the feeling that it was haunted. This night proved that I, “Raven-Wolf,” was not dreaming. Standing right in front was a portal!

Break

Curiosity got the better of me, “Raven-Wolf” walked through a creepy feeling and came across that “Raven-Wolf,” said to myself {we are not in Kansas anymore.}

Laughing, I looked around and felt that I, “Raven-Wolf,” was not alone. Suddenly, my mood got a little darker.

I saw things around me that looked fake, but something inside me said that was not so and that I, “Raven-Wolf,” should listen to the inside voice in my head.

But “Raven-Wolf” did nothing and kept walking until I was back in my room in the castle. That was weird.

My room was dark; it was bedtime, and I felt sleepy.

Sleep was not that graceful that night; tossed and turned all night!

Waking early this morning, I was lazy getting up, finely dragged my ass out of bed and slowly walked down this long corridor; not to my surprise, this old feeling that was dreaming came back?

This was no dream; I, “Raven-Wolf,” was in the portal, and an old friend looked down at me.

Picking me up, “Blade,” said what are you doing down there?

Sadly, and I said, don’t know!

Woke up in my bed, dreaming horrible nightmares, and now I, “Raven-Wolf,” am here in a portable.

Break

So very confused. “Blade,” said come with me to my home just a little ways off the path, and we would talk.

Have you ever grown up with tales of the spooky, haunted forest, dark elves, and woodland creatures? Nothing good ever comes from the forgotten realms, and even gnomes, including fairies, get a bad reputation!

That is how we started talking all through the night. It was chilly, so “Blade” put more wood on the fire and made a snack. As we sat eating, there was a nose!

Forgot that he was a {Vampire} and had powers of the dark side.

A creepy feeling rolled over me that shook me through my bones!

I “Raven-Wolf,” said, remembering this in a dream that had happened before and “Blade” said what are you thinking about?

I could not say it was too weird. A chill rolled over me again. Are you cold? “Raven-Wolf,” Blade asked.

Putting more wood in the fireplace should warm you up, “Blade” said.

When I woke up again, I was in my own home. It was all just a dream, and that did not happen.

Okay, something is wrong here, and I want to know what it is all about.

Knowing that Blade is a vampire with dark powers, could he be doing this? I went downstairs alone because my parents were dead, and I, “Raven-Wolf,” had inherited this old castle.

Break

When Urban Fantasy Met Mystery Fiction: with minimum criminology.

Nail-Biting Suspense: Imagine your treasured gumshoe detective facing supernatural forces that defy logic and reason. The stakes are raised as twists and turns keep readers eagerly anticipating the next daring move in this deadly dance of genres.

Whispers of Secrets: Shadows whisper secrets, and danger lurks around every corner. Urban fantasy and mystery fiction waltz together in perfect harmony, creating a world where the supernatural and gritty realities intersect. This genre-fusion tango—a dance of intrigue and imagination—keeps readers hooked.

So, grab your coffee and sit back with your arcane grimoire. We’re diving headfirst into a world where supernatural mysteries abound, and the darkness within our souls is just as treacherous as the monsters in the shadows.

Break

VocalPublishing
Like

About the Creator

kathy

My birth name is Kathy Frizzell… but I am known as Chantel. I had a double stroke and with lots of loves it has brought me to telling you my story! I always wanted to be a writer; my role modules are {Stephen King, and fantasy, mystery.}

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.