Writers logo

WHAT I LIKE TO READ

you might like them, too

By Margaret BrennanPublished 5 days ago 4 min read

WHAT I LIKE TO READ

you might like them, too

++++++++++

First of all, in addition to writing whatever pops into my own imagination, whether it be a story or poetry, I love to read.

I'm asking you to read my favorites, I'm just mentioning them.

One of my favorite authors happens to be here on Vocal. Please read: https://vocal.media/fiction/the-book-of-many-clans

That said, one book stands out among many. The Devil's Advocate by Taylor Caldwell. It has absolutely to do with satan. One hint: it deals with the rising of the minutemen - again.

Nora Roberts is another favorite but here's where I get a bit fussy. Honesty, I'm not so much into the romance novels. Just not my thing. I do, however, enjoy her books dealing with Witches. Yes, I know they also include romance but it's the magical, witchery that I enjoy.

For instance, Stars of Mitra and Three Sisters Island are amazing but we can't forget Sign of the Seven - and my favorite series? Well, I have to be honest and say there are three favorites: Chronicles of The One, The Circle Trilogy, and of course, Dragon Heart Legacy.

Let's take a small switch from NR to her alter ego, JD Robb. I simply adore her In Death series. I'm actually on a rereading of the series. Her descriptions of what might be in the years from 2059 and beyond makes one wish we had a few of those items now. Huh! Time will tell, now, won't it?

Jeffery Deaver is another author I like but my favorite is his series with Lincoln Rhyme. And to think it all started with the Bone Collector!

Oh, and we can't forget The Women's Murder Club by James Patterson. What a fantastic series! A bit gets lost in the story line if you don't start from book one which is 1st to Die.

Another series I fell in love with is the Ghosts of Culloden Moor. This series contains a total of 79 books, the first being The Gathering but omg! What a series. Should you decide to read these, believe me you won't be disappointed. While there isn't any witchery involved, the tale of each ghost is a truly amazing and fun read.

John Sanford writes the Prey Series - and I think I'm in love with his main character, Lucas Davenport. He's smart, tough, good looking (according to my imagination) and knows he's also capable of making mistakes.

Now that I've bored you with what I enjoy reading outside of Vocal, I find the stories and poems on Vocal to be a fantastic way to get your name and work known. I have read so many wonderful pieces of "art", and yes I call each work of the written word "art" because aren't we all "crafting" words to make our ideas come to life?

I wish there were enough room, time, and words to tell you about those authors whose stories have become memorable. To name ONLY a few (and in no particular order): DJ Reddall, LC Schafer, Mark Graham, carol Townend, Babs Iverson, Thomas Terry, Paul Stewart, Patrick O'Hana.

Once you begin to read, you'll be encouraged to read more as well as other authors and soon you'll find your own favorites. Not only will you find interesting things to read, but you'll soon realize that you've made some new online friends, who not only enjoy reading YOUR work but are eager to encourage you to write more.

All that said, now, as you begin to scroll through the many wonderful works of words, whether here on Vocal, Kindle, e-readers, paperback, or hardcover, please consider taking some time and reading a bit of my work, especially my latest, The Inheritance. It was really fun to write and each time I think, "Okay, that's a good place to end my story", my brain tells me a day or two later, "Oh hell no, toots! There are more words floating around in here. Get your fingers going."

I know The Inheritance is a long read (more parts than I originally intended) but, as I said, I had fun with it. Maybe if you have the time and inclination, you might consider reading it and letting me know if you'd like me to continue it or stop where I left off.

Now, I think I'll hit a blank page and see what my brain will tell my fingers to write.

While I'm waiting for my brain to come up with a new idea, I think I'll go and make myself a cup of tea. My "wake up" coffee did nothing to stir the imagination.

Whatever your venue, happy reading and keep on writing.

Just for laughs and to end this little essay about what I like to read, here is a little poem I wrote to honor my mom and picnic snafu we encountered many times:

* * *

The Picnic

Mom grabbed the picnic basket for a treat down by the lake.

Sodas, food and munchies . . . what else might she take?

Can't forget the napkins or the blanket for the ground.

Let's see . . she says we're ready: just one more look around.

*

We're on a roll; it's off we go for a picnic in the sun.

That bat, the ball and other stuff to provide us with some fun.

Time to eat, let's grab a plate - oh darn! we're all such a dorks!

She brought the slaw and salads, but we forgot the forks!

*

My father, now is laughing and if that's not bad enough,

She brought the largest soda bottle but then forgot the cups.

There are plastic knives or spools to help us get along.

The concession stand's not open. What more, now could go wrong?

*

We thought we felt a drop of rain - dark clouds are moving in.

We quickly gathered up our stuff when mom slipped and bumped her chin.

We finally made it to the car where we felt that we could hide.

Alas! There was NO shelter. The keys were locked inside.

* *

Yes, that poem is a true occurrence of a few of our picnics by Lake Ronkonkoma in New York.

Inspiration

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Sasi Kalaa day ago

    lovely books and beautiful poem!

  • Megan Malcolm5 days ago

    I always love a good book rec, thank you! And that poem at the end was such a treat!

  • I love reading on my kindle and I always read also some paperback edition at the same time. I love holding and feeling the scent of a real book! I am so glad for this amazing space where I can read stories of my favorite authors. I will read more of your pieces also.

  • Mark Graham5 days ago

    One more thing other then reading children's and youth books for my reviewing job I like reading James Patterson, James Michner, and Herman Wouk, and John Jakes as well as Nora Roberts not for the romance but for the mystery and family aspects of her stories.

  • Mark Graham5 days ago

    That picnic story is one to always remember you mom. I hope you continue with 'The Inheritance' unless you pick up a few months or even years in the future with these characters. Open up the next book with Kathleen "Remember when." or something like that and have her living with her mom.

Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.