Writers logo

What Am I Up To?

*Insert crack of a whip sound*

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 4 days ago Updated 2 days ago 3 min read
What Am I Up To?
Photo by Venti Views on Unsplash

Hello, Hello and welcome to “What am I Up To?”, this is your host HKB!!

 

Unfortunately, Donna is busy with various projects that I have been cracking the whip on and hasn’t been as available as she could be. But I assure you, she is safe and happy. If not sweaty and slightly overworked!

 

Now, before you get all concerned about her, I assure you this is for a good cause! It has suddenly come to our attention that we could be producing novellas on Amazon, thanks to a few of our larger series that have been published in the magical realm of Vocal!! 

So currently, I have Donna working on editing and revamping a few series’ into novellas (Thanks for the idea JBaz).

 

As many of you know, the role of HKB is to be a chaos gremlin. But I am also a perfectionist at heart. So I have Donna combing through our work with a fine-toothed comb and heads are about to roll.

 

I’ll start with the bad news.

Donna is still available to chat, read and comment. But she won’t be posting her usual amount while she’s working on the various projects I am about to reveal to you. 

We’ve stumbled upon this thing that I have dubbed our “New Standard of Writing” (because I’m big-headed that way). This means that I have deemed a lot of our previous work not fit for publication, barely passable for human consumption.

In the months since publishing our last two masterpieces Fox in the Hole and Jogger’s Trail, I have come to hate them. So as of July 1st I will be removing them from Amazon to be re-edited and then produced at a later time as second editions. That being said, this is a last-ditch fire sale for anyone who wants to buy the first editions before we lose them forever.

Unfortunately, this also means that I will be withholding Into the Fox’s Den (the sequel to Fox in The Hole), until after I can fix the wreckage of its predecessor.

We will decide on new release dates at a later time (hopefully by the end of summer). Please check back for more details.

 

Now, on to the good news.

As mentioned before, I had the bright idea to turn some of my longer Vocal Series’ into novellas (thanks JBaz). I won’t republish the stories on Vocal as I do like the idea of keeping them to show growth in my authorial journey, but if you liked the storyline, then I might suggest checking them out as I publish them through Amazon.

The first will be A Tale of Thieves, you can find its release date at the bottom of the post.

Next is The Enchanted Forest Series, better known as The Forest of Cigam and The Legend of the Tree of Life. You can also find the release date at the bottom of the post.

The next will be one that I’ve been working on for a while called Paradise City, which I haven’t published on Vocal yet but intend to do as soon as possible. Upon which I will share its Amazon release date as well.

  

Anywho, I’m off to crack the whip some more. 

As always, thanks for reading!!

- HKB

 

 

 

P.S. If you’re reading this right now, I want to assure you, that I am by no means unalived or worse, miserable! I am just happily working away for my rewards of ice cream, beermosas and new reading material!

See you soon friends,

- Donna

 

 

 

 

Release Dates Summary:

Fox in the Hole, Second Edition: TBD

Into The Fox’s Den: TBD

Jogger’s Trail, Second Edition: TBD

A Tale of Thieves, The Novella: “Come back later, I’m working on it!!”

The Enchanted Forest Series, The Novella: “Same as above.”

Paradise City, The Novella: TBD

 

 ** Update: It's also camping season, so if I go awol for a while (no commenting or replying), I'm just in the Candaian bush doing wild things! Cheers! **

PublishingProcessAchievements

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Rachel Deemingabout 7 hours ago

    Exciting stuff! Made me laugh! Good luck with it all. And don't hate your stuff. It's all part of the paved path to get you here!

  • Novel Allenabout 12 hours ago

    You seem to be having a whale of a time out where fun is to be had. I hope you continue having fun and happy camping. Best of luck on your projects.

  • Lamar Wiggins2 days ago

    Awesome news, Donna! So happy and excited for you!!!

  • Grz Colm3 days ago

    Hey hey! 👋 For some reason I was not logged in (I realised) when I got to the end so hoping it still counts as a read. Anyway, I loved this format, very entertaining.😄 Sounds like you have lots of exciting things on the go! I’m sorry I’m not on vocal as much and haven’t read anything from you in a while. I hope it’s okay to pop in and out. It just means I can’t keep up with everything. This isn’t why, but I also started a paid medium subscription in May so I’m on there occasionally. Not a lot and just slowly putting some of my free verse poems over there. Just trying it out I guess. You said.. “As many of you know, the role of HKB is to be a chaos gremlin”..I don’t think I knew this but I like that! Some days I’m a rat in maze too but chaos gremlin lol is a heaps better turn of phrase. 😊👍 Anyway good luck with all your endeavours and novellas HKB! Very exciting. And hope you have been going well too. Best - grzzzzzzzzzzz

  • Ooh… exciting times! 😃We’ll miss seeing as much of your work on Vocal but it sounds like HKB has the upper hand currently… & if it means more ice cream & reading material etc…😆🙃

  • Not me thinking of something else entirely and inappropriate when you mentioned the whip 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Also, should I be worried? HKB has always scared the hell outta me. I hope she rewards you on time, with ice cream and beermosas! I'm so happy for you D, you have soooo many series! Like whoaaaa! I truly admire that about you because I can never bring myself to even write a part 2 to any of my stories hahahahahaha. So proud of you! 🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • JBaz4 days ago

    Strange that I too am working on my own works and have not been on VOCAL as often. still trying to do the odd piece and read other works. I am pleased that you are doing this as I believe you have the talent and creativity to pull this off. Good luck and please stay in touch to keep us up to dat on the progress.

  • Hannah Moore4 days ago

    Darn it, making me feel inadequate, need some whip cracking willy nilly!

  • Mark Gagnon4 days ago

    HKB can be such a nasty taskmaster, but I'm sure it's for your own good. It appears you are moving on in your writing journey which is always a good thing. I wish I had time to do the same. Good luck my friend!👏👍💙

  • Caroline Craven4 days ago

    Can I send Donna a birthday cake with a file in it so she can break out from HKB’s clutches?!? Ha! Nah, seriously - GOOD LUCK! Love this idea and wish you all the best. Looking forward to reading your new work.

  • Oh dear! Someone let HKB take the wheel! DONNA BLINK TWICE IF YOU"RE BEING HELD HOSTAGE! XD XD XD XD XD This is all so exciting! I can't wait to see what comes out of this maelstrom of creativity you've found yourself in!

  • Christy Munson4 days ago

    Congratulations on acting on your convictions! Looking forward to reading all to come.

  • Dana Crandell4 days ago

    Awaiting the new releases with bated breath - well, anxiously, anyway!

  • Paul Stewart4 days ago

    Well done you...on all of he above. realising things are not as perfect as you think...and deciding to change them...is admirable and sign of real growth. I'lll be looking out for your new releases, with intrigue and excitement!

  • Real Poetic4 days ago

    I believe in you Donna, and I cannot wait to read your edited editions! ❤️

Donna Fox (HKB)Written by Donna Fox (HKB)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.