Writers logo

Two Year Review

My Daughter

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 10 months ago 7 min read
Two Year Review
Photo by ergonofis on Unsplash

Two years ago, was my first story posted on Vocal. The writer's challenge has asked the authors to review the first thing we wrote. As I scrolled back through many pages of stories, I smiled at the first writing I made. Two years ago, my first writing was about my daughter.

What a time the pandemic was for all of humanity. With the world shut down, people forced to live uninterruptedly with each other, for the first time, I observed my daughter as an adult. At the time, she and her son moved in with me just two days before the great shut down. The promised job she was coming to work called and said, "Shutting down, you will not start work until further notice." Everyone felt this moment in history but none realized the impact it would have on us all. As I wrote those two years ago, I was adjusting to my world changing just like everyone else.

I remember the day she arrived. She was so scared of living the life of a single mom. Her confidence was broken by a bad relationship. I really didn't know what to expect with the transition. Some people climb out and others just continue to wither away. However, on the day she left my home I knew she was gaining her strength.

Through the two years, she has grown into the most amazing momma, significant other and a supportive sister and daughter. I just sit back and admire the drive she has to make things happen in her life. Once she was able to work again, she flew into action and showed me a side of her I didn't get to see. The adult daughter had emerged with vengeance.

Once the pandemic had cleared, she obtained a job and worked quickly to accrue enough money for a down payment on a house. In a matter of time, she and her family exited my home. The loss was felt in me. Not just the loss of her but the loss of my grandchild and yes, her significant other was surprisingly a huge loss to me. Yet, at the same time, I knew they were ready to move on with a clear path. She cleared the path. She made her life happen and I am still proud of her today.

As most parents do, when help is needed, they jump in and help. My help was to provide daycare for my grandson. Even though this was a difficult time for me, I grew a bond with that little man that no one can contest. The bond made her jealous at times and I would respond, "I gave you the same love and attention I give him." This did help her to understand that all my babies will receive the same love from me. After all, a parent's love doesn't stop with just one.

When she found out that another baby was on the way, she jumped into action to make the shift to become a stay at home mom and to work from home. With a laptop balancing on a baby belly, she worked as hard as she could to build a new foundation for her family. Once my granddaughter arrived, I watched her world change and shift again. New baby, three year old bouncing on the couch, dishes needed to be done yet, she persevered. I watched the adjustments she made with awe. She has become the most amazing momma and is proactive in ways I hadn't imagined she could.

A caring heart, parents have a caring heart for their children. I guess, I built that in her too. After all my son had put us through, she still rescued him from a terrible relationship and moved him home with her. He has a lot of healing to do and I know she will assist him the best way she can. Her heart has grown and her love for family is clearly displayed on her sleeve and I am so proud of her.

Life keeps one busy and at times, one doesn't always stop to observe everything around them. I had the rarest opportunity to observe the most beautiful moment in my life last night. If I wasn't forced to stop and observe, I don't think I would have seen it. Please forgive me as I take you through my lovely evening in observation mode.

With my son's return, our world was turned upside down. His work schedule has caused many sacrifices to be made. He has weird work hours so we too have had to make adjustments to accommodate this change. I have found myself once again spending a lot of time with my daughter while he uses my car to devote his time and effort to make his own comeback. There seems to be little peace right now but I know this time period will too pass. Hopefully soon, our world will be okay again.

I did get a little taste of what is to come. Last night, I was sitting in a darkened part of the room just watching my family. This was the first night together in three years. We were all in the same place where no one was working. We were spending valuable family time together binge watching T. V and eating lasagna and just being together. We haven't had a moment like this in three years and I just sat back watching the whole thing play out.

My day had two parts. The first part was a time for mother and daughter. The second half of the day included her significant other and my son.

In the morning my daughter and I took an adventure together with the babies. The little man needed to burn off a lot of energy so off we went to the park and local splash pad. Usually, grandma is the one sliding down the slides but today I watched her and her son play on the monkey bars and slides. Play brings out a level of abandonment of care. I love to watch adults play. One gets to see a bit of their childhood come back to them. What is more rewarding to me is to see her play and laugh with her son on our little adventure.

After a much needed nap, she and I spent the rest of our time binge watching the movies in the, Step Up series. My daughter and I love to dance and sing and our choice of movies show that. The dancing and music filled our eyes with thrilling steps and loud music that we enjoy. We chuckled at the baby as she too seemed to be enthralled at the movie's busy actions and exciting music. That little one has learned how to rock herself in her rocker and seemed to enjoy the music as well. I see that she will fit right in with girl time and be willing to binge watch with us.

By Nina Rivas on Unsplash

I am in the generation where video games were just coming into the world. As a teen I use to play some of the games but I wasn't one who HAD to play them. The men in the house love to play many games but their obsession with Minecraft just boggles my mind. It looks like a game from back in my era but they cling to their screens for hours. My daughter was playing it on her phone, my son-in-law was on his laptop with my grandson sitting on his lap watching intently. When my son arrived he held baby girl and watched as everyone play the game discussing the improvements they had made while he was gone. They were having their own little family dynamics and shared experience over a video game. I didn't get the draw, but I just watched them enjoy life on their terms over a video game. I didn't mind not participating, I had my own game to keep me entertained.

If I were to leave this world today, I know that she will be alright. I have seen her ability to fight and her caring heart is still beautiful after all she has been through. She, like me, gives to those she loves and that says a lot to me that she will successfully raise a happy family. I know she loves her babies, her significant other, and her brother. I know they have each other and I am happy with that. I felt last night, that all will be okay when my time is done.

A parent's job is to raise independent children. I know she has this all under control. Stepping back and watching her has been so rewarding. Such a strong woman she has become. Yes, she has hard times too but she really rises to meet those challenges and I am amazed with her. I guess I did my job enough to help build a good foundation for the family.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I would like invite you to read my first story I wrote on vocal two years ago. Two years have passed since my first story here on Vocal and I can see improvement in my skill but the greatest improvement is my admiration for my daughter's gift to my life.

Challenge

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    You're such an amazing mom! Thanj you so much for sharing this!

Sheila L. ChingwaWritten by Sheila L. Chingwa

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.