Writers logo

There Can Only Be One Winner

Observations On The 2023 Vocal Writing Awards

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
16
An AI Creation By The Author

Introduction

The 2023 Vocal Writing Awards is causing a lot of anguish among Vocal Creators. It is an amplified version of their normal challenges but significantly more expensive. There are a number of categories so there will be multiple winners, but that will not condone the ones who feel that their work has been ignored.

My Own Observations

When I saw The 2023 Vocal Writing Awards announced and the cost of entry I immediately decided I would have no part of it. I had never been placed in a Vocal challenge so the likelihood of me being even considered for a big money Vocal challenge I decided was misicule.

There was talk among my Vocal friends about what they were going to submit and I left them to it.

Like anything, where there is a competition, it may be a race, or a Vocal Challenge, or a job, there will only be one supreme winner and maybe a couple of places.

I heard a story of someone, who when he was sorting through resumés for a job, would split the pile in half and throw one half in the bit, saying "I want a lucky one". While such a thing is both morally wrong and illegal, this could be something that could happen, especially if the employer is short of time and resources. Whatever the outcome, there will be a lot of disappointed entrants, whether they were binned or not.

This is the same in any situation where there is likely to be a winner who is not you. You need to prepare yourself for not, winning, or even getting close.

The way that I do this is to set my own personal targets, that are potentially achievable, and then anything extra is just that, something extra, and the cherry on the cake.

Like almost everyone, I joined Vocal expecting to win challenges but soon realized that would probably not be me. In fact, the very first challenge that I was eligible for I didn't even enter because I thought all stories were automatically entered.

I entered more Vocal Challenges and still didn't place. I knew my writing was good because others told me it was so, so I decided to just keep writing and started using challenges as a prompt.

As I say, I only enter my works that I feel may have a chance of winning. Challenges are paid for by my subscription, so are sort of free for me as I am a Vocal Plus member. I enter but don't expect to win, but sometimes I do get Top Stories.

I have built up an audience of 750 subscribers and they provide me with a good number of reads each day, and that means Vocal provides me with a little coffee money for my effort.

So everything I publish on Vocal is a success for me.

Surprisingly I eventually placed in a Vocal Challenge with the story below. I am not sure why it was placed, but if we knew the answer then I believe much of the writing on Vocal would become very formulaic and boring.

Conclusion

I saw The 2023 Vocal Writing Awards as a competition for the creators that Vocal see as serious writers, and that is not me, despite me being a Top Creator in Confessions and Beat.

Every positive comment you get it a win, it is a success. The people who really matter are your friends and audience.

I have sympathy for everyone who doesn't place in The 2023 Vocal Writing Awards but you have not failed, because you had the belief to enter, and that, in my opinion, is a big win.

Keep on Writing, that is your, and my success.

The music I've included is "Keep On Smilin'" by Wet Willie which is what we should all do. Play it as you read this.

ShoutoutPromptsInspirationCommunityChallengeAdviceAchievements
16

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock7 months ago

    Sage counsel, my friend. I had decided not to enter, partially because I was too busy & partly for the cost. But then they kept on rewarding me for being most supportive &, when they extended the deadline an extra 24 hours & I actually had some time, I submitted three just to be supportive if nothing else.

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    I tried to enter a poem, my Postal Code got rejected. It was last minute, my heart was not really into it for the same reasons which you have suggested. But I do the challenges for fun. Write for fun and enjoyment.

  • I didn't even pay any attention to it as I'm not even a Vocal+ member. But yes, I'm happy you eventually placed in a challenge!

  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    Thank you for sharing these thoughts. A writer has to learn to face rejection. It happens over and over again. But it doesn’t mean the work isn’t good. Rowling and King sit amongst the deities that have had their writing rejected. Competitions can be fun, but more it’s more important to keep writing. 🤗

  • Well said, Mike! As writers, we often pour a piece of ourselves into our work, so when it fails to be received in the manner we expect, it is obviously a disappointment. I don't personally view the challenges here as anything more than suggested prompts, but I cheer for those who rise up to those challenges. My unsolicited and novice advice to all is to not be disheartened when your work is not selected. There could be a myriad of reasons, and most of it has little to do with the quality of your publication. I have seen what I consider some amazing stories go barely noticed while other seemingly less-deserving works are showered with praise and awards. There is no perfect standard to judge and critique writing. It is mostly subjective. I applaud Vocal for at least attempting to present a fair standard for judging the entries, and I will do my best, time permitting, to give my honest and fair personal assessment of the pieces that have been shortlisted.

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I also failed to enter a piece early on because I assumed I had! Yeah, I also didn't enter, I don't have money to throw around like that, but I've got to say, I'd like to know if a) every challenge entry is actually read and b) if they are just anonymously on merit, or whether there is a more nuanced system.

  • Caroline Jane7 months ago

    I have this perspective although I do enter a fair bit. I just enjoy the sport of it tbh.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Nicely said, Mike.

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    I didn't answer for much the same reasons. Figured it'd be a waste of my resources at this time.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.