Writers logo

The Writing Hacks I Use Every Day

and maybe you should too

By Elise L. BlakePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
The Writing Hacks I Use Every Day
Photo by Rainier Ridao on Unsplash

There isn't a single site you can scroll where someone isn't going to try and throw the word hacks or tips at you. 

There are hacks to lose weight, to make women fall in love with you, and surprising to no one - there are also hacks for writing. 

Now I don't mean hacks as in:

Try this one miracle thing to finish your novel in 60 seconds 

I mean everyday behavior modification that you can add to your daily routine that will help you write with less frustration and get the most out of your writing sessions. 

But "hacks" just made for a better title. 

Hack #1 

Start With Just 15 Minutes

Sometimes I just can't bring myself to write. I can have my tea and snack ready to go, open my software, and put on the right mood music, but I still can't get into the right mindset to write.

I can sit at my desk for an hour and get nothing down except hurt my back sitting curled over on my desk and scrolling through my phone. 

When this happens I tell myself that all I need to do is write a little bit, just enough that I will have written something so that the entire day isn't a complete no-writing day. 

I'll set a timer and tell myself I only have to write till it ends. Somedays this is the push I need to start a writing session and I end up writing for a few more hours while on others I end up closing the program and completing some other productive tasks for the day instead - but at least I wrote something. 

Hack #2

Pomodoro's 

I will not write without a Pomodoro clock ever again. I use them daily in my writing practice as well as in my writing streams live on Twitch (https://www.twitch.tv/barbara_king) 

A pomodoro is the process of on-again and off-again productivity. Typically working in sprints of 25 minutes of work, followed by a 5-minute break. 

This process keeps me on track while allowing for breaks that I can use for stretching, getting a drink, or honestly - scrolling through my phone or checking social media until the bell rings and it's time to get back to work. 

This method keeps me focused and productive and allows me the time to complete the tasks that would normally pull me away from writing. 

Hack #3

 Celebrating Small Wins 

While this one seems strange to be a hack, changing the way you look at your accomplishments can do wonders for your mindset and improve your productivity. 

Writing can be challenging and it's easy to get discouraged so taking the time to acknowledge and celebrate your achievements is a practice that every writer should practice.

Be proud of how many words you write, even if it's just a few, and even if there aren't any. It's ok if some days you don't have the time to write or if you need to rest and relax. Your physical and mental health is important to care for as well. 

---

There are always things you can add to your writing routine that can help you on your writing journey whether you need something to help you be more productive or something to motivate you to start putting down those words.

Best of luck!

With love, 

B.K. xo xo

Want to write with me live? I'm now on Twitch! Come join me in some writing sprints most days at 10:00 pm EST

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

_____________________________________________

This story was originally posted on Medium. Join Medium as a member for just $5/month to access premium content and help me continue creating articles like these. You can also earn money by posting your own stories using Mediums' Partner Program.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1. Your support keeps my creativity brewing. Treat me to a cup! ☕

Thanks for your support and happy writing!

InspirationGuidesCommunityAdvice

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Mark Graham5 months ago

    I actually do these 'hacks' many not with a Pomodoro clock but I do write for a half hour take a break or start reading books.

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    I know about those Pomodoro clocks... Tempting...and an interesting piece...

  • Ha Le Sa5 months ago

    Writing is both an art and a battle, and sometimes the best way forward is to simply write, even if it’s messy or imperfect.

Elise L. BlakeWritten by Elise L. Blake

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.