Writers logo

The Love Of Words

More Observations On My Writing

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a month ago 3 min read
11
An AI Creation By The Author

Introduction

One of the reasons that we love creating stories is our love of the simplicity and complexity of words.

The music I have chosen is "Stay" by Shakespear's Sister (I know it is spelled differently to the Bard of Stratford's surname)which contains beauty and darkness in a wonderful four minutes of music, a great listen and watch, and I love the sentiment "Stay With Me".

My Love Of Words

My first experience of written words was my mum teaching me to read before I started primary school. I did the same with my daughters Juliet and Kirsty and got berated by some teachers because it was their job to teach children to read. By the time she was nine Juliet had read "Lord of The Rings", a teacher at her new school in Sunderland when we moved to the North East did not believe that she could have read it so gave her a grilling. Post-grilling he was impressed with her knowledge. Juliet and Kirsty went on to write a lot of fan fiction but have not joined us on Vocal yet.

After learning to read I then wanted to write and loved writing stories at Primary School, though I found essays at secondary school very tedious. It was almost like the desire to write and create was being drummed out of me.

In 2007 I started a blog, but it was mostly diaristic with the odd poem and fiction piece, but a lot of ideas. I hoped it would actually kick me into writing a book, but despite three or four starts they all ended up on the scrap heap, but it gave me a good reason to write. It is still around, though since Vocal became my preferred writing platform the posts are a lot sparser.

I do check in quite a lot and sometimes the most popular posts for the period give me ideas or material for some Vocal stories.

All our Vocal stories, poetry, and articles are made up of words, some big, some small, some we know, some we have to look up and they can give us some wonderful adventures taking us to places that before dropping into the story, we never you existed.

William Shakespeare is still a good yardstick for us to check against, although I also love the work of Dylan Thomas, Bob Dylan, Edward Lear, JG Ballard, Kurt Vonnegut, and Lewis Carroll. The works of all these creators give us lessons on how to weave the words of our own creations.

Your list will be far different from mine, and your stories will be far different from mine as well but will be no less important than mine.

Our Tales can range from a tiny Haiku or Senryū (川柳) to an epic saga and maybe even a complete novel or series.

Our words have no limits and can take us and our audiences to worlds of wonder that will be unforgettable to many.

In case you hadn't thought (you have noticed though) this article is made up of words that have flowed from my mind and fingers through the keys on the computer. This is what we do when we let our imagination have its way and let it lead us to places for us to discover and explore.

Conclusion

These are just a few of my thoughts on writing. I love words and love doing things with words, and still harbour thoughts of writing a best-selling book, although that is just me.

Thank you for getting this far and for being with me on my journey to maybe one day being a recognised writer by the ones close to me.

VocalShoutoutPublishingPromptsProcessLifeInspirationCommunityAdviceAchievements
11

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm30 days ago

    Hey Mike, I enjoyed this insightful little reflection on your writing history! Hope you have been well. I’ve not been on Vocal very much at all this year, but trying to get back into it slowly. Have a good one! 😊👋

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    From one logophile to another, well done on another smashing piece 😁

  • Relationships & connections are formed, shared & broken by the expressing & sharing of words. And so our worlds come to be.

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    Yeah, unfortunately high school writing has a bit of a way of slapping the creativity out of you- glad you carried on with it though! 🤍

  • Daphsamabout a month ago

    Thank you for sharing Mike , this was very interesting to learn about your writing journey, maybe one day we’ll see your daughters on Vocal!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.