Writers logo

The Haunting by Mary Patterson

My first and lost story

By Real PoeticPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
The Haunting by Mary Patterson
Photo by Zara Walker on Unsplash

The first piece of writing I ever wrote was titled, “The Haunting by Mary Patterson.” It was a story about a girl, Mary, that was murdered by her bullies on her way home from grade school.

She was an only child to a single father. I can’t remember his name, but he was the best dad in the world. He took good care of his daughter and taught her everything he knew. They played board games together and read hundreds of books.

One day, the father noticed his daughter was late to arrive home. He waited to see if she would turn up, but she never does. He phoned the school to ask if she stayed after with her teacher; the school secretary told the father Mary was not there either.

He immediately hung up the phone and went out to search for his daughter. He walked down the pathway Mary took every day, and he didn’t find any sign of her. Until, he stumbled upon a large, wet pile of leaves just off to the right of the sidewalk. He found a very bloody knife hiding underneath the leaves.

The father became very worried and could feel in his gut that something horrible happened to Mary. He walked deeper into the woods and came across the lake. Mary’s body was floating in the water.

To make a long story short, Mary came back from the dead and murdered every single girl that had something to do with her tragic death.

I know it’s a little dark, but this is what came to my imagination when I was just ten or eleven years old. Mary is the first character I’ve ever written, and I’ll never forget her or her story.

I actually lost the full story when my first ever computer went up. I wasn’t able to extract the file before it broke down. Although I don’t have the actual story anymore, it lives forever inside of my head. I’m glad I was able to share the anti-bullying story of Mary Patterson. Be careful who you’re mean to…

Writing ExercisePrompts

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

Thanks for reading!

[email protected]

Instagram: therealpoetic

-R.P. ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    Wow, that is dark, but it left an impression in your psyche as something to write about. Sorry you lost the original!

  • ThatWriterWoman11 months ago

    Nice! It is interesting how the first story you wrote was so dark! Thank you for sharing it!

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    That sounds like such a well formed story… that contrast of light and dark, the perfect father but bullying and tragedy. Then the redemptive arc of taking the bullies out so they’ll never hurt anyone again. You were always a writer. Ten is such a powerful age, spiritually. I read a lot of good books that year.

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    I love good ghostly haunting. Bullies need to get their comeuppance. The first stories tend to get lost. Dark indeed.

  • Whoaaaa, Mary came back from the dead and murdered her murderers! I love this story so much!

  • Mother Combs11 months ago

    <3 <3 <3 <3 I leave you with four hearts. Love it.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Okay, I want to read it...

Real PoeticWritten by Real Poetic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.