Writers logo

The First Piece I Ever Wrote

And The Life Changing Events That Got Me There

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
The First Piece I Ever Wrote
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

My first work published on Vocal. It has been revised but ultimately became the pathway for my recovery.

I am still a work in progress and write almost daily. (I'm sure some of you have noticed that, lol)

I doubt honestly, that Vocal has any idea just how many ways their platform is changing the lives of the people who are publishing. But you are. I am one of them, and I am grateful for the friends I have made in the process.

Well, to get into when I started writing anything anyone else would want to read, and why I began writing, I will have to expose a few wounds, for insight.

I have done this before, a little bit at a time, but never in a full-blown exposé. I will do my best to keep the Jerry Springer out of this tale.

I began to write about my feelings after my mom died and my marriage fell apart, in 2018. My youngest graduated high school, and both girls left home for college; I left with nothing, bought a house by myself, and moved myself (by myself) into a cute little house.

For the first time in 53 years, I was absolutely alone. Broken, and scared to death.

I had my self-esteem handed to me through a shredder when my husband had an affair, and the one I person I had always depended on, to walk me through the next door, was gone.

I survived only because of my girls. I did not want to go on. I had completely lost my purpose.

My entire life was encircled around my family and kids, and now, they were gone.

I was tagged by Paul Stewart to write an interview, in a side challenge one of the Vocal groups hosted. I tend to only write poetry, but I gave it a go.

My first thought was...ok Kelli, be funny, but before I knew it, I had unloaded the past five years on the page. (it didn't get many reads) I think sometimes I am too open, and it may get a little dark for some.

My intentions are to be as open as I can, to help someone else who may be in the same position I was in.

So, I tried a couple writing challenges to get my feet wet, and my mind onto something else. This was a whole new challenge for me.

Writing feelings and rhyming seems to come easier than building characters and back stories, but the journey has been fun.

I was introduced into a Vocal group by Rick Henry Christopher and with some encouragement, I really began to like it. These groups have filled a large void for me. The quality of people on here is top notch!

I have never placed in a contest, and that gets me down sometimes, wondering if I should pack it up and quit. But I have had a few Top Stories, which is unbelievable, and then, a new challenge comes out, and the competitor in me says, why not?

I did not intend for this to become a self-promoting opportunity, and I apologize if that is how it has come across. It's just that each story offers a bit of insight into what has gotten me here. And the incredible thing is, every writer that you stumble across and follow on this fantastic platform, also has a story to tell.

We are drawn together, we encourage one another, hold one another accountable and celebrate together as those we have befriended (AROUND THE WORLD) succeed in a journey that started with simply, maybe even reluctantly, picking up a pen.

How amazing the journeys, we are privy to, how lucky we are to get to learn and grow in that influence.

So, thank you to everyone who has read my work. Thank you for interacting and supporting me for who and where I am.

I am honored to be a part of this platform.

Inspiration

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    We are all better because we have found each other here. This was fascinating to learn about you. Would you like to be interviewed on my podcast??

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    You are more than a great poet Kelli. I remember when we first met in the Vocal lounge and you wrote a compelling romance story and a crime series. Was that fiction or autobiographical, I can’t remember! 😂 Either way, it was excellent! 🥰

  • I'm so sorry your husband cheated on you 🥺 Don't worry, Karma's got your back! I'm one of your biggest fans so always keep writing!

  • Dyllon Rodillon10 months ago

    Keep up the good work friend!

  • Such stories, from tragically true to incredible truths. Thank you for sharing them with us, Kelli. I believe the only one I had read before was the interview.

  • Mark Graham10 months ago

    Writing is a great vehicle to let out our feelings one way or another.

  • MecAsaf10 months ago

    Nice work

  • Joe Patterson10 months ago

    It’s honor to have you here. I love reading your stories and you are certainly one of the most dedicated writers who I have had the pleasure and privilege of following.

  • C.S LEWIS10 months ago

    this is wow you can read the one I have prepared for you also I am sure you will like it

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This was a fantastic and heartfelt read, Kelli! So many people are saying similar things about Vocal and it is kinda amazing. Your story proves you're a strong individual and I often get annoyed that you don't place either, but still glad you write on this platform. I often think there would be some kinda catastrophe if you or Mike were not publishing regularly. :) Bravo for this!

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.