Writers logo

The Essence of a Woman

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 5 months ago 6 min read
Like
The Essence of a Woman
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

I remember back in those days. I remember the laughter. I remember the pain. I remember my family. And I remember my friends. Cora Jenkins was my best friend. We met in church since we were little girls. We grew up together. We ate together. We played together. When all those little boys and all those little girls at school was mean to me. Cora stood up for me. Cora would even make breakfast for me when I moved out of my family home. Cora was my favorite. I loved Cora and Cora loved me. We were friends for life. Cora has her family with Emmitt. Emmitt sweep Cora off her feet. And they were happy together for a very long time. I knew everything about them, their love, their fights, and their arguments. Don't you know Cora would call me up early in the morning just to settle an argument she had with Emmitt. I also had a family Peggy Evers. I was like Cora, a Southern Bell. I loved night walks with Jerry. Jerry was White and I was Black. And we got a long just like everyone else. We had our issues and we had our love. We were crazy about each other. And we would not let anything get between us.

Cora and I would talk lately ever so often because we were older now. We were grandparents. And we had a brief distance and strained in our relationship because of raising our families and seeing about our children. And also our other family nieces and nephews and cousins and aunts and uncles. We were at a time completely overwhelmed. None of us was prepared for what was gonna happen. We were both wrapped in our worlds and then each other's world together. Because that's what people did back in our days, we had to be about each other so the world would go around and around. Then it was Sunday, I have to met the Lord and see all of my family and friends. And as Jerry and I were driving, we were gossiping. Jerry was trying to be cheerful about going to my old church. And I was little worried. I said that I know those people and they are not the friendliest. And I don't know how they are gonna react when they see Jerry and I. Jerry reassured me that true love is greater than anything and true love can overcome anything. I said I hope it does because my attitude wants to be positive but if they say one thing about me or you. I just might knock them out with a Christian laying of hands. Jerry said you mean you are gonna punch them. I said Well Jerry the Bible does say provoke not and the Bible does say suffer not your mouth. Jerry said while shaking his head, I am just gonna let God deal with that. Then we pull up into the church parking lot. Jerry and I were walking together and holding hands like two young lovers even though we were well pass 60. We were greeted by everyone. We sat down just before tithes and offering, the choir sang. They had this older lead singer. They sung Whitney Houston's Count on Me. And something told me its Cora but I never heard Cora sing. I heard her hum. I heard her today. And I was staring anxiously and when she sung "I can see it's hurting you. I can feel your pain.

It's hard to see the sunshine through the rain. I know sometimes it seems as if It's never gonna end. But you'll get through it

Just don't give in 'cause you can. I begin to cry and stand up with Kleenexes. And at the end I shouted Cora and I think she heard me because she smiled and wave.

After church, I convinced Jerry to stay for the church dinner. And we sat next to Cora and Emmitt, we had fun talking about her hairs and dresses. We even talked about how long the minister took. And I said he promised that he would not stay long but I think the sun went down by the time he was done. And Cora said maybe he was under the Holy Ghost. And I said Maybe but look the church dinner is a hit, everybody came because his message made them hungry. Cora just said Uh-huh. I tried to be a comedian and make everybody laugh at least my friends and husband. Well when we got full and ready for dessert, it was odd when the Mayor came bye. And he specifically appear to be interested in my vote and Cora's vote. He shook our hands and complimented us and he said he loved Cora singing. I waited till he left and I told Cora, you know he would do anything for a vote. I don't trust no politician. Especially one disturbing my meal and coming into the House of the Lord with a vote for me sticker. Cora tried to silence me and she said we agree to disagree. And Cora hugged me and laughed. And I hugged and laughed.

Then after weeks of this ongoing church meetup with Cora, I had to called Cora because Jerry at work had a massive heart attack. They said his friends were saying he was okay when they left him. And he was on the ground at the office. I am at the hospital. And I am waiting for Cora and Emmitt. Cora came and said Emmitt is away. Cora held me and was moved to sing, Count on me through thick and thin, A friendship that will never end. When you are weak I will be strong. Helping you to carry on, Call on me, I will be there. Don't be afraid. And at the end, she told me she will always be there for me. No matter what because she was my friend as simple as that. And just when I removed myself from hugging Cora, Jerry died. Cora stood outside the room. And when I told her, she hugged and sing to me again I know sometimes it seems as if, We're standing all alone But we'll get through it. 'Cause love won't let us fall. And in my mind, all the good times with Jerry flashed through my memory, I was hurt and in pain. And Cora helped arranged the funeral, I was sad and weeping throughout the funeral. I heard the preacher say, The essence of a woman, the essence of a man is what he or she has done in this life. What they have done for their community. What they have done for others. How they treated their families. How they treated their children. God measure a man or a woman based on their heart. He measure them on what they intended and what they hope for.

Then the preacher was interrupted by the Executor of the estate he acknowledge me and the family of Jerry, and said we are grateful for the Members like him who lift up the National Museum of African American History and Culture. We welcome our 10 millionth visitor just days later. He’s been an essential part of making these and countless other successes a reality. Please know his continued dedication is the cornerstone of our work to promote and highlight the contributions of African Americans. Because of Jerry, we’ve been able to extend our influence and education globally, touching hearts and minds in every corner of the world.

We thank your family for creating a ripple effect that will inspire generations to come. And I cried and thank God for giving me Jerry and Cora comforted me. The funeral ended and Cora told me over to her house with her husband Emmitt. And she said she would always be there for me. And Cora made me dinner her family and me. And they allowed me to stay in their guest room. I will never forget Cora and all the good she has shown me. And my Jerry was the best man in the world to me. He taught me love. He taught me respect. He taught me hope. Thank you God for making me his woman.

Challenge
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.