Writers logo

The Accidental Poet: Poetry Collection by Paul Stewart - Reminder and Review Request

Bit of Self-Advocacy and Self-Promotion

By Paul StewartPublished 11 days ago Updated 11 days ago 3 min read
Buy it, enjoy it, review it? Please?

Following on from my first couple of reviews of Vocal creator-penned books, which you can read here and here, I wanted to take the opportuunity to be my own advocate. In December 2023, a lot of monumental things happened...I mean I am sure they did. For me, one of the most important was the release of my first self-published book.

The Accidental Poet: Poetry Collection may not have the most clever name, but outlines exactly what it is - a collection of some of my best work since I discovered a love for writing poetry.

There is no way I could be accused of a misleading title.

So yes, I released the book and a quite a few people, more than I expected to be honest, put their money where their mouths were and bought a copy. I appreciate every single person who put their digital hand in their digital wallet and bought the physical or digital copy. Whether you are a relative, friend, acquaintence, foe, rival or all of the above - thank you.

But...yes, there is a but...as you may habe guessed or should have guessed. This wasn't going to just be an exercise in blowing my own trumpet.

Importance of Reviews

I wanted to talk, briefly, as I know you have better things to do with your time, about reviews. Reviews are in many ways just as important as sales. Sales will result in me getting money for my hard work (though hard work is a relative term, you know what I mean), but reviews help encourage more sales and are a good indicator of what worked and didn't work about the book.

My pal across the water and fellow self-publishing author, Stephen A. Roddewig has discussed this before in his own review of my book, SE Holz's book and when discussing his experience with self-publishing.

So...I just wanted to reach out and remind people that have bought the book that a review on Amazon would be appreciated.

Also, if you haven't bought the book yet - why not give yourself a treat?

If anything, it's a great placemat/coaster/paperweight. - Paul Stewart - an actual self-published poet/writer.

Don't Overthink it

I know some people get a bit funny about writing reviews, especially of literature - I was the same. However, there is no rule that says you have to write a review in a specific way. Some of the best Amazon reviews are the short and sweet ones that just highlight what the person loved, and even disliked about the book and that's it. You don't need to write it like a snooty journalist for New Yorker, New York Times or The Guardian.

What counts more than anything is leaving a review above all else. It's a hard thing for creative people to ask for reviews sometimes and I have learned that the done thing is to include a friendly reminder at the back of the book - which I will do in subsequent efforts. I figure you all know me well enough to let me away with this slight bit of cheekiness. If you have bought my book or anyone else who has released one on this platform and have yet to leave a review on Amazon (or wherever you purchased it from), I urge you to leave a review. Even a small one can make all the difference.

Self-Promotional Nonsense

If you are still unsure whether this poetry collection is for you...know this, that it is all from my rather battered and abused heart and mind, features stuff that will possibly make you laugh, think, cry and also either draw closer to me or give me the widest berth possible.

*

Thanks for reading!

PublishingAdvice

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Poppy 6 days ago

    I'm so unknowledgable about self-publishing (despite having done it) that I had no idea of the importance of reviews lol. But clearly, I have work to do! Thank you for writing and publishing and awesome book and thanks again for reviewing mine!!

  • Grz Colm11 days ago

    On my to do list! I uh…ah… honestly didn’t finish it. I took a good gander at it the first couple of days and told you I was enjoying, yet then I got distracted. I must get back to it! ☺️👍 My apologies.

  • I'm so sorry Sir Paul, for not being able to buy your book 🥺 I've tried to leave reviews before but Amazon said that I could only do that if I purchase something for $50 😫😫 Sorry I'm not able to help you out 🥺

  • Jess Boyes11 days ago

    I’ll have a look ☺️

  • Hannah Moore11 days ago

    Yeah. So went to Amazon yesterday and got distracted by plant pots. I'll pop it in my basket so once I've chosen a plant pot... Got some chilli peppers growing on a window sill that need containment. Then I'll get free delivery. I shall leave a review; "this book enabled me to get free delivery. Worth it."

  • Um, Paul? I clicked on the preview link ... unless you intended a drastically different reading of the poem, was the first piece supposed to have its original title of "My Bloody Beating Heart" and not "My Boody ..." ?

  • JBaz11 days ago

    It is on my list now, once I read I will leave a review. Although I am not the correct person to write a review on poetry, for some reason the nuances slip by me.

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.