BookClub logo

Wasted Love by Poppy In Review

Just my opinion of the Vocal Writer's First Poetry Collection.

By Paul StewartPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
Buy it, Buy it, Buy it!

As a follow-up to my review of SE Holz’s wonderful short story collection, I bring to you my long-overdue review of another Vocal's foray into the world of self-publishing in the form of Poppy's poetry collection - Wasted Love.

I have, like many other people, long been a fan of Poppy's creative output on this platform. She has this ability to capture emotions, which are often very personal to her, and give them lyrical, literary beauty. Whether it's the emptiness and sadness of a breakup or the grief for the passing of a loved one, she has a stunning gift for weaving poetic magic with the English language.

The Actual Review

I feel a little unqualified to give a detailed review of a poetry collection, as I have not read many in my adult life. However, I did appreciate the overall theme of this collection. It's called Wasted Love and it's an apt title. There are four sections, which help break up what is quite a large collection of work. That is by no means a complaint, but without it being divided as it has been, it may have been a much tougher read.

The four sections are:

Pretty Poison -The One I Thought Could Save Me

Hopeless Haven - The One I Wanted To Save

Reckless Falling - The One Who Did Save Me

Clear Skies - The One I Needed Saving From

Poppy told me once that this was work from earlier in her writing life...and while I have noticed in more recent pieces, improvements, the skill and heart are there between the pages of this collection.

Her poems tug at the heartstrings, have you contemplating past relationships, feeling empathy, sadness, minor fleeting moments of joy and learning the importance of life after a breakup and breaking free from relationships that are unhealthy. It’s all dissected in some truly gorgeous poetry.

There is a lack of pretention to the writing too, which I adore. It is free from polishing to its benefit in many of the great pieces, but never strays into "meandering journalling". It feels raw and heartfelt and is a great showcase of where Poppy started as a poet and how she has progressed since.

Any concerns that I would not be able to relate to it, disappeared after reading a few pieces.

Some of my favourites include:

Lost

I knew I couldn't find

The world in your eyes

But I searched for it there

Just the same

Cages and Homes

He put me in a cage

Telling me it was a home

And I believed him because

He made me feel like

I was flying when

My feet never

Left the groun

Fireplace

I know you're not quite

Sunshine on a rainy day

But maybe you're a fireplace

And maybe that's enough

I won't ruin anyone else's poetic journey through this collection by sharing anymore. But, hopefully these little teasers are enough to whet your appetite.

Summary

Overall, this is a strong collection of poetry looking at all aspects of “wasted love” and a great introductory showcase for Poppy’s impressive writing.

If you are a fan of her work on Vocal, you should buy this. If you are a fan of poetry that tugs at the heartstrings, makes you think and that is raw and free of pretention, you should buy this. If you want to support fellow Vocal writers, you should buy this.

If you do buy it – you should review it, as the reviews make a lot of difference. Not just for the author but for Amazon and other online retailers and may make all the difference between someone deciding to click Buy Now and not. It doesn't need to be much, but even a small review can have a big impact.

Here is a link to Wasted Love by Poppy on Amazon

*

Thank you for reading!

If you're interested...I also have a book, which you can find here:

ReviewRecommendation

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Poppy 9 days ago

    I am so so sorry it's taken me so long to respond this!! I've had this tab open for awhile but didn't want to just comment quickly and I've been super busy moving back home and catching up with people and stuff. Anyway, thank you so so so much for this Paul. For not only buying my book, and taking the time to read it, but also caring enough to spend time writing a review on Amazon and on here!! (I only just noticed the Amazon one! I'm such an amateur lol but I really appreciate that one too and sorry it's taken me so long to thank you for it!!) But not only am I so grateful for the time you took to do this, I'm so honoured you enjoyed the book and so appreciative of the lovely words! Next time I'm down, I'll just reread this😂 This means so much to me and I really appreciate your unwavering support!

  • Excellent review Paul✅

  • Poppy's poems always hit me so hard! Loved your review and cover photo hehehe 🍩🥐

  • John Cox15 days ago

    Wonderful review, Paul!

  • Jess Boyes15 days ago

    Great review 🙂

  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    Hmm I should possibly be buying these books.

  • Rachel Deeming15 days ago

    Great review! Can I just say how much I like the pose you adopt with these books?

  • Babs Iverson15 days ago

    Fantastic review!!! Loved your recommendation, Paul!!!♥♥♥

  • Lana V Lynx15 days ago

    Great review, and nice of you to give encouragement to a fellow poet, Paul!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.