Writers logo

Stop Trashing Your Cringy Writing

It's time to become a hoarder

By Elise L. BlakePublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2024
20
Stop Trashing Your Cringy Writing
Photo by Ferenc Horvath on Unsplash

I can't be alone when I say that I've looked back on some of my past writing and the only things that came to my mind were to ask myself what in the world made me write something like that or to look for the closest thing to help me set it on fire. 

At least I hope I'm not alone. 

Writers tend to overanalyze and be overly critical of their own work to the point where we would rather throw it away and pretend it never existed than take on the monumental task of trying to turn it into a workable piece of fiction. 

It's time we stop doing that. 

Some monumentally successful authors look back on their own published works and cringe at them, while there are readers out there who wouldn't be able to point out a single imperfection in the piece if they tried. 

Instead of throwing away these pieces that you may look on with absolute horror, hand them off to a writer friend (with the promise of a bottle of wine or their drink of choice) to help you sort through the rubbish to find the pieces of gold that were hidden beneath the dirt. 

Or just hang on these pieces as proof of your own progress to show to new writers who get disheartened when their writing doesn't come out nearly as eloquent or imaginative as yours does. 

Each and everything we write is a stepping stone on our writing journey that makes us the writers we are today. 

If these works are more recent things you worked on then don't put them away in that For Later box just quite yet. 

Use these pieces to embrace the imperfection of writing, sure they may not be perfect, but perfectionism is a lie. It doesn't exist. You can also use these pieces as a way to learn from your mistakes.

If what you wrote doesn't work and makes you cringe - well what's wrong with it? How can you avoid making the same mistakes in the next thing that you write? 

Even when you edit your writing it should always be in a separate draft from the one you started with so you can look back and celebrate just how far you've come from that very first notion of story. 

Everything you write is worth celebrating.

Keep it all. 

Hoard it as if you would a brand-new book.

Even if it just sits on the shelf, never opened, never touched, never read, it's a wonderful thing to keep around. 

With love, 

B.K. xo xo

Want to write with me live? I'm now on Twitch! Come join me in some writing sprints most days at 10:00 pm EST

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

_ - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

This story was originally posted on Medium. Join Medium as a member for just $5/month to access premium content and help me continue creating articles like these. You can also earn money by posting your own stories using Mediums' Partner Program.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1. Your support keeps my creativity brewing. Treat me to a cup! ☕

Thanks for your support and happy writing!

Stream of ConsciousnessProcessInspirationGuidesCommunityAdvice
20

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Belle20 days ago

    Congratulations on top story!

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Tiffany Gordon about a month ago

    Excellent advice & pep talk! Thank you! I needed to hear this!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    Good thoughts. I know I have unfriended a few. Congratulations

  • Nicole Cabout a month ago

    Thank you... I've deleted sooooo much over the years!

  • Angelaabout a month ago

    Well said. Have done some writing that I neglected but happen reading them again give me inspiration to write better

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    Loved the opening paragraph to your truth-filled article. I do cringe at some of the stuff I've written after not revisiting them for a while. I can only remember throwing out a couple of pieces in the past that were really going nowhere. Staying organized is my current problem. There's notes and unfinished projects everywhere 😅. Thank you for sharing and Congrats on your TS.

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    Ugh this hit so hard, you’re so right! I always regret so much of the writing I discarded that I thought was absolute trash at the time, but you never know when you might want to utilize an idea it might have had - you really don’t realize how much potential things can have until they’re gone!

  • Carol Townendabout a month ago

    I agree. I spend a lot of time pulling myself apart over my writing, but I wrote it at the end of the day! It doesn't matter how perfect we think we are, nobody can be an unmistakable perfectionist, and some things are worth keeping.

  • Amanda Starks2 months ago

    YES TO ALL OF THIS! I've been hoarding my old work for YEARS now and it is such a blessing when the creative well runs dry and I want to step away from whatever current project I'm working on. It's become both a snapshot of my progress and a treasure trove of ideas that could yet sprout wings!! This is a great article. Will definitely share it with my writer friends and say: "See?? I told you!" xD

  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    Quite the pep talk. Thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.