Writers logo

Sometimes Writing Has To Come First

Or the story of how I closed the door on my family

By Elise L. BlakePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Sometimes Writing Has To Come First
Photo by Sheldon Kennedy on Unsplash

I used to always believe that nothing should come before family.

Until I started working for myself as a full-time writer.

Before being a full-time writer, I worked as a retail manager in a tourist shopping district, working shifts that would start at 8 AM so that I would have time to go to the bank, restock, and complete paperwork before we opened at 10 AM. I did not leave until after I locked the doors, completed banking and payroll, and refolded all the shirts that were destroyed no matter how many times they were refolded. Most of the time leaving and walking to the train around 9:45 PM. 

My family was always supportive of me and because of my long shifts, I was able to have three days off each week.

However, this all changed when my job took place within my home. 

The first thing that became a point of contention in my family was that they were treating my working from home the same as if every day was a day off for me, asking me to spend time with them, run errands with or for them, and generally be available to bother since I was only sat at my desk. 

I did not mind this, thankful to catch up and spend time with those my overloaded schedule hadn't left much time for, but this was the beginning of my biggest mistake.

For context for this - just know that I have a hard time saying no when asked to do something that will aid someone else so when I was asked to babysit, dogsit, run to the store, pick up medication, company someone to a doctor appointment, I could never say no. 

Until I had to. 

It took a few months for me to realize that working from home, though I continued to work long days as this is what I was used to and able to dedicate my time to - doesn't mean that anybody else respected it or even acknowledged it as me working since I was only down the hall and sat at a desk. 

A continuous argument and strain on my relationship also developed as my partner's days off were never consistent and so I was constantly having to shift around deadlines I had made for myself or abandon projects altogether.  

As my family began relying on me, heavily, to be there, to complete certain tasks or errands, I began writing less and less until there were some days I hadn't even had a moment of the day to look at my computer let alone be able to sit down and write. 

It got to the point that for me to be able to focus and complete my writing goals promptly, I had to do the unthinkable.

I dug out my arts and crafts kit, made a sign for my door - 

and closed it. 

 I also made it a point to change my voicemail message and installed an app on my phone that would respond to all texts with a message that if received meant that I was working until a specified time and unless it was an emergency I was not available. 

I finished writing the book I had been attempting to write for almost two years in only two months. 

I love my family, more than anything, and while I still occasionally cave to their (demands) requests when somebody needs something they treat it with more respect. 

As a full-time writer, content creator, and now a live-in caregiver to a disabled parent. I have learned the balance between making time for my family and giving my dedication to my work this year more than any as I have made it my mission to post consistently and daily across all platforms to grow my author platform as I work through edits of my current manuscript. 

Whether you are a full-time writer, a student, a caregiver, or you work a full-time job it's important that you find the balance between responsibilities and dedicating the time that you can to your writing.

Best of luck, 

B.K. xo xo

Want to write with me live? I'm now on Twitch! Come join me in some writing sprints most days at 10:00 pm EST

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

_____________________________________________

This story was originally posted on Medium. Join Medium as a member for just $5/month to access premium content and help me continue creating articles like these. You can also earn money by posting your own stories using Mediums' Partner Program.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1. Your support keeps my creativity brewing. Treat me to a cup! ☕

Thanks for your support and happy writing!

LifeInterviewsInspirationAdvice

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Mark Graham5 months ago

    Way to go. I worked 16 years as a nursing assistant then LPN before having to move and now 60 years old starting my new career as a writer/artist here on Vocal. I know I will not get rich, but I like writing.

  • Test5 months ago

    Wishing you continued success in your writing journey and finding that equilibrium between your family and your craft. Keep up the great work!

Elise L. BlakeWritten by Elise L. Blake

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.