Writers logo

Safe and Sound Picks

Some of My Favorites, (safely tucked in my heart)

By Shirley BelkPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
9
Stories I Chose that Have a Special Place in my Heart

My task: Safety In Numbers: Publish a post featuring five stories from five different Vocal creators you’ve enjoyed during the season.

The season mentioned here is from the heart and mind of Gary Ragnarsson, Vocal Creator & administrator of The Vocal Trophy Hunters Group on Facebook. He welcomes each member like this: "Welcome, hunters, to our first seasonal challenge!" Season: 22nd December 2023 — 20th March 2024. See challenge at the end of my picks :)

So, this will be my first post in the first group I have joined as a writer on Facebook. I have been hesitant to join a group up until now. I think the word, "challenge," sold me on the idea. I look at it as an inspiration from the creative minds on Vocal and the stories I've loved from those minds. Obviously, the first task I chose was a no brainer for me. The difficult part for me was to narrow the selection to just five. So much talent from so many of my favorite creators.

I scratched off those that had already won a Top Story. I wanted to highlight those particular stories that I deemed underappreciated, yet so keenly full of talent. Maybe a spotlight would help others see what I had seen in a particular creator/story. These should have been awarded a Top Story in my estimation. So, here is my list, in no particular order:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This story is by L.C. Schafer. (Micro-fiction. Historical. Family) She describes herself as, "Flexing the writing muscle... Never so naked as I am on a page... Subscribe for nudes...Here be micro- fiction"

This story was gut wrenching from a mother's perspective. It was fiction, but it's not a far stretch to imagine that life, like the one L.C. brilliantly describes, has occurred in too many pages of history. An homage to sacrificial love and decisions that had to be made.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This story is by Alexandria Stanwyck. (Performance poetry. Mental Health. Inspirational) She states, "My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing."

This is a beautiful tale of overcoming adversity and heartbreak and learning to live and laugh again. Her use of metaphors, both absolutely stunning and spot on.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This story is by Celia in Underland. (Micro-fiction. Short Story) Celia whimsically describes herself as, "Just a voice finding its echo. Teacher - reader-writer-lover not a hater. Weirder than a koala in The Arctic. Magpie for shiny words and stuff. Taking the scenic route home."

This story is magical on so many levels. Celia transports us to the beautiful flowering land of Japan and old, cherished traditions from the eyes of a Geisha. She weaves her story with that same grace and elegance.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This story is by Rachel Deeming. (Short story. Micro-fiction) Rachel is a prolific writer and excellent book reviewer who describes herself as "Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things."

This story actually made me cry and that is no easy feat! Simple kindness and gratitude are such beautiful traits. And having such a token as the one she includes in this beautiful tale; is an act of courage many others take for granted. In this story, you will find all of these traits...kindness, gratitude, and courage.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This story is by Novel Allen. (Mystery. Psychological.) Novel is unique and intelligent, but humbly and simply states in her profile, "Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new." I always look forward to being surprised by her works.

In this story, she takes us on a journey of life's stages with all the pain and glory of each. This story beautifully reflects this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LifeShoutoutInspirationChallenge
9

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!💞💕💗💖👍

  • Awww, you cried for Larry! 🥺 It didn't move me as much as it did you but I was so glad Donna said hi to him and I disliked Jan so much! These were such an amazing selection from brilliant writers!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Thank you so much for the shout out ❤ Looks like those are some great stories you've lifted up here, I'll definitely check them out.

  • Test3 months ago

    Aw Shirley...I was just off to bed when a notification popped up from you so I was all hmmm 'one last read...; I am floored by the shout out! Especially amosngst so many talented writers I deeply respect 🤍 Not sure if I'm going to sleep well or spend the night buzzing! Thank you so very much!

  • This is a great collection of stories from some of my favorite writers. I will have to check out each one. Thank you, Shirley!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.