Writers logo

Gratitude Prompts

Three prompts that I can write about without having very much to say.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 15 days ago Updated 15 days ago 3 min read
6
Gratitude Prompts
Photo by Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

How do you say "thank you" without using those exact words? Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

In addition to the photo above by Wilhelm Gunkel, in my Ojibwe language, Miigwech means thank you! I am also aware of the Dakota language thank you is Pidamaya, Lakota is Pilamaya, and Nakota is Pinamaya or something very similar. There is a word for thank you in many other languages too.

I'm not sure but I don't know if that is what is being asked for in the above prompts. I don't think so. Here are other ways that I say thank you.

A kiss on the cheek for my hubby, children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, siblings, or other family, or a friend. Then there is a hug, a smile, cooking something without needing to. Buying a gift of something I know they may enjoy without a reason other than a thank you.

Heartbreak has taught me____________ Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

So much sadness. Time spent in mourning. I learned to take time each day after a heartbreak to grieve. I take as long as I need at the beginning of loss. Gradually I slow it down to about 20 minutes, 15 minutes, and 10 minutes. Then I move on with my day.

If it is a session of laughter yoga, I do it, even when I don't feel up to it, and sometimes especially when I don't feel up to it! Our brain doesn't know the difference between fake laughter and real laughter. We will still release our feel-good chemicals.

It takes time. I truly believe my loved one wouldn't want me to stay with the heartbreak for the rest of my time. I will live this day as if it is my last, and that is what it takes sometimes to get out of the funk.

What would I want to do if I didn't have much time left? Who would I want to spend time with? Where would I want to go and what would I want to do? Some of these questions for me are helpful.

Heartbreak has taught me to love the ones I am with!

To know that death will come, it is not a myth!

It is important to know that breakups happen!

I can be married by a Priest, Minister, or Chaplain!

It is important for me to live in the now!

I learned to take seriously my vow!

Describe a time something didn't go as planned. What did you learn from it? Rupi Kaur's Gratitude Writing Prompts

Planning is important and it doesn't mean everything will work out exactly as planned.

Today, I was going to a retirement party for a friend. I planned to stop at the print shop on the way and print a copy of my latest book for my friend. I had bought her a card and a small picture holder and filled it with some 4x6 photos of our times at water ceremony.

When I got to the print shop, I couldn't find the thumb drive anywhere. I had a sweatshirt with a pocket and two pockets in my jacket. My purse has pockets and I checked them. I was sure I lost it.

After looking everywhere I could think of, I went to the party. My disappointment must have shown as one of my friends asked me what was wrong.

How could she tell? I can be like an open book, and I know that. Most of the time I am smiling or laughing. I was not after the experience I just came from.

What I learned from my experience was:

1) That my friends know me.

2) People I spend time with can read me like a book. They are not used to looking at me when I am not smiling or laughing.

3) Then planning is important but sometimes we need to slow down. Pay closer attention to what we are doing.

4) Sometimes writing a list is important. Even if it is remember to put your thumb drive in your key pocket for the printer.

5) Do not be so hard on myself. The drive will show up. If not, it is on my computer.

6) I can give it to her at a later date. I see her on most Sundays. It doesn't have to be today!

Writing ExercisePromptsLife
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran15 days ago

    Oh no, I really hope you can find your thumbdrive soon!

  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    Beautiful and calming story!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.