Writers logo

Seven Days

in the Life of a Fledgling

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
6
Metaphoric Fledgling: Me as a Writer

So, per inspiration of Rachel Demming's,

I thought it might be a good time to assess if this challenge has been a learning tool or a detriment for me. A week has gone by and I have "cranked out" seven pieces of my thoughts and reflections.

I don't have many obstacles in my way that prevent me from writing daily. I am retired. There really is no good excuse not to write. But even though I can, should I? Should I force my audience (my followers) the trudge and duty of my thoughts? On a daily?

I remember when my children were small and vied for my attention, they would yell out, "Mama, look at me, watch me, etc." Of course, I loved watching them, but it wore me out mentally at times. (I have to be honest.)

And, in the fable, The Boy Who Cried Wolf, after gainfully getting the attention he sought twice, on the third attempt, was completely ignored...to his own peril.

I never want to be an intrusion. Or ignored...

So, I will self-review the seven stories I've written and published, along with the comments to see if the benefits to myself and the readers have outweighed the risks.

I wrote:

"I think we all have the hope that a sudden rebirth will be automatic and ever so lovely. But have we forgotten the pangs and spasms of what labor is like? It is a curse, if truth be told. But once started, a delivery, nonetheless, will occur. We have no idea what the new baby will look like, but we have our imaginations based on the propensities and whims of DNA, of course. We have faith in our character that we will embrace this new child and guide it, keep it safe, and watch it grow, praying that it will love us back for the investment we have in it. Or do we? I find it a little frightening, if I am to be honest. Will I be a good parent of the new "me?"

***

I wrote:

"The second day of January always belongs to my sister, Kitty. She was born on that day, so I must celebrate the world's day set aside for introverts with her! "

Mark Gagnon, (fellow Creator and such a fantastic talented one,) said this in his comments to one of my stories, "From my perspective, you appear to be a cross between a memoir writer and an informative/reporter-style writer."

So, this is in my "wheelhouse" and it felt like something I would write (with or without a prompt)...as was this one for Day 3 challenge:

But, everybody loves to send a tribute to their mother, right? Just so happened, it was her birthday!

***

I have to admit, I really enjoyed writing this one! The laugh was on me because I flubbed up the prompting "vision" and rules, but was still able to highlight a classic tale and wonderful movie that my beloved daughter and I had shared.

***

I was determined to write "fiction" as the prompt required: This is Jan 5th challenge of write daily. (sentient Christmas tree decorations)

My septuagint friend on Vocal, Denise E. Lindquist, wrote: "I really enjoyed your story!! It is so sad and yet exactly what I would want to do for my children if I had the opportunity!" My reply: "Well, we can, really. I used my children's names and chose an imaginary ornament for them that matched their "actual gift they give." I am not dying that I know of, but when I do go, they can read this and get a gift from me."

***

Day 6 challenge was a social commentary. I do not have the skill needed to give a war orphan justice by attempting to write their story. But I am proud to have been a very small part of awareness. They (the war orphans) are crying out, "look at me, see me," but I find that nothing has prepared me to fully see.

***

Oh, thank goodness, back to the memoirs again!!! It was fun writing about those times and so many of my Boomer Creators shared their memories, too. It was also neat to bring a bit of music history trivia to our younger cohorts.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

So, my appraisal ends like this. As a new mother to the 2024 "me" as a writer, my DNA has kept me close to the memoir lane, seldom veering out. But I am a wee bit more confident in what I write about. The prompts have been not only my challenges, but my lessons. As much as I hate being a bother, I ask that you have patience with me as a fledgling.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

InspirationStream of ConsciousnessShoutoutPromptsProcessChallenge
6

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    You've made a great start to the challenge! Congratulations! Definitely not bothering anyone! Your thoughts and writing is great! I wish I had more time to read everything or everyones. I'm sorry if I don't always get there, but not ignoring anyone. Just work getting in the way of life 😥

  • I'm the kinda person that would feel so bad if I didn't read something someone writes. I'd feel so guilty and it'll eat me alive because I know what it feels like to be ignored. So I do my best to read everything everyone posts. As for you, I've never felt you're an intrusion! It's always a pleasure to read what you write!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    You aren't forcing anyone to read what you write, just because you put it out there 😁 We will read it if we have the head space, and won't if we don't. I am always grateful when there's plenty of stories to choose from on someone's page, because I don't always keep up with notifications 😁

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I've missed some of these so I have some catching up to do but you are not subjecting us to stuff-you are sharing it with us. It's good to challenge yourself otherwise how will you know what you are capable of?

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Rooting for you to fly!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.