Writers logo

PROMPTED: #4

May Challenge [Unofficial]

By Randy BakerPublished 23 days ago Updated about 4 hours ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2024
54

PROMPTED: INTRODUCTION

There are now three Prompted Writer's Challenges in the books. Overall, I would consider the series to be a success, but the participation has slowed down. Hopefully, this one will generate some enthusiasm. I am excited to see what the entries will hold!

For Prompted: #4, we will be returning to the art of the short story. But...there's a catch. There will still be some poetry involved! Keep reading to find out what I've concocted for this month's challenge.

I welcome your feedback and encourage you to join in the fun. Also, please help spread the word. The more the merrier! I enjoy hosting these challenges, but participation is key to their success.

Now, let the games begin!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE PROMPT

The May Challenge will be to write a short story between 1,000 and 3,000 words in length. To be clear, this is not a flash fiction, or microfiction, challenge. Your entry must be newly posted to Vocal, not something from your archive.

For this challenge, you must choose a poem and then retell it in the form of a short story. The poem can be one that you have written, a poem by another Vocal creator, or a poem by any other poet (famous, or not). The only stipulation on the poem is that it must be publicly accessible online. You will need to include a link to the poem as an Editor's Note in your submitted short story.

I am including an example from my own writing to better explain the challenge. I wrote a poem called "Song of the Jelly Man" several years ago, which you can read here:

"Song of the Jelly Man" by Randy Baker

A few years later, I wrote a short story called "The Jelly Man", a retelling of the story contained in the original poem.

"The Jelly Man" by Randy Baker

When you submit your completed short story, please include an "Editor's Note" at the end of your submission. This note should name the poem you used as inspiration for your short story, as well as a link to an online copy of the poem.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE RULES

The rules are simple.

Follow the instructions above for using the prompt. Your story must be posted in the Fiction community. You must provide the link to your story in the comments below. Only those entries that follow these instructions correctly will be considered for a prize.

Entries will be accepted from the time the challenge is publicly posted until 11:59 PM (US Central Time) on May 20, 2024. Winners of the challenge will be announced on, or before, May 25, 2024. Only one entry per person will be accepted for this challenge.

It is not required that you link back to this post for your entry to be valid, but it would be appreciated if you help spread the word by doing so. To reiterate, you must post a link to your entry in the comments below.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE PRIZES

Winners will be chosen by me, at my sole discretion. Prizes will be distributed on Vocal as Tips. Winners are determined by content and quality, but you MUST have tipping enabled to receive payment. The awards will be as follows:

1st Place: $50.00

2nd Place: $30.00

3rd Place: $20.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Keep track of this and future prompts by hitting the "subscribe" button on my profile.

Questions or feedback? Let me know in the comments. Good luck!

- Randy

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE ENTRIES

"Until We Meet Again" by Christy Munson

"Nemesis" by Anna

"Volley and Thunder" by Matthew Fromm

"Voices" by Rick Henry Christopher

"The Beamish Boy" by Hannah Moore

"When the End Comes Too Soon" by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

"Fake it Til You Make It (the Story)" by Shirley Belk

"Where the Sidewalk Ends" by Heather Zieffle

"It Must Have Ended Somewhere" by Natasha Collazo

"The Road Not Taken" by Rubesh

Writing ExercisePromptsInspirationChallenge
54

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (43)

Sign in to comment
  • Rubeshabout 13 hours ago

    ❤️Here's my entry, thanks for the inspiration https://vocal.media/fiction/the-road-not-taken-30hx06r3

  • Anna a day ago

    Back to say congrats on your Top Story! I hope this will help you get more audience and entries!😊

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • M. A. Mehan 2 days ago

    This looks so fun!

  • Brenda Fluharty2 days ago

    Very interesting challenge indeed.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 days ago

    I'm going to do this!

  • Mackenzie Davis2 days ago

    Yay, top story!! More entries on the horizon. ;)

  • Damn I actually had one that would have been perfect for this minus my commentary at the end, but I published that back in November. But I'll try and rustle up a fresh one in time Looking forward to participating in this contest! Congrats on top story and have fun curating!

  • Matthew Fromm2 days ago

    So happy they finally made this a top story

  • Christy Munson2 days ago

    Back to say Congratulations on Top Story, Randy! 🥳

  • Here is my entry, thanks for the prompt, Randy! https://vocal.media/fiction/where-the-sidewalk-ends-the-story

  • Belle5 days ago

    I love this idea! So cool!

  • Paul Stewart6 days ago

    Oh this is cool and sorry I missed the last challenge...April got away from me really in many ways. This sounds fun and I love the idea of taking something from one form and taking into a different form. Great challenge, Randy!

  • Penny Fuller8 days ago

    Great prompt. Does the story have to happen in the same timeline as the poem? If I were to write about what comes before or after it, would that be an acceptable retelling?

  • This is my story, thanks for a great challenge, Randy https://vocal.media/fiction/when-the-end-comes-too-soon

  • Hannah Moore10 days ago

    This is a great prompt Randy. https://vocal.media/fiction/the-beamish-boy

  • Oh, wow....gotta give this some thought. Great prompt

  • Grz Colm13 days ago

    What a cool and unique challenge. I’ve only read Rick’s so far which I enjoyed. I’m not much good at fiction but I like that it’s inspired by poetry. ☺️👍

  • This is a hard story... But one I had to tell. https://vocal.media/fiction/voices-he780uko

  • Anna 14 days ago

    I just finished mine. Have been working on it all day... https://vocal.media/fiction/nemesis-986m0uef

  • Bugsy Watts16 days ago

    okay this is really cool. I'll try my hand at it :)

  • Christy Munson17 days ago

    Randy, I'm finally ready with my entry for The Writer's Challenge, Prompted #4! This story, "Until We Meet Again," was a delight to write and I cannot thank you enough for the prompt. I chose my poem, Never More, itself a piece written for an unofficial challenge (Babs Iverson's "Ask me in December" unofficial challenge). When I wrote the poem, I had an entire world swirling in my mind, so this challenge gives me the opportunity to fully explore that backstory. Hope you enjoy reading it as much as I've enjoyed writing it! https://vocal.media/fiction/until-we-meet-again-1o6y0f6g

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.