Writers logo

PLUS 1 šŸŽ‚šŸŽ‚

Another trip around the sun.

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 6 months ago ā€¢ 2 min read

Yesterday I couldnā€™t believe itā€™s been a whole year-

I wrote a cathartic letter to myself and here are parts of what I wrote.

ā€œI know you are scared, that time is moving too fast, or almost too fast and you donā€™t know how to maximize other than being happy, or attempting to be happy. Can I be more present than I am now? Can I enjoy and savor these moments a little more than I am?

I know you want perfection or forms of it. You want to be prepared for everything, to know whatā€™s coming, maybe this is the year you set yourself free and embrace what is., the now, the mess, the confusion, the unknown.

I know you are probably going to be very hard on yourself, or are learning to be easy on yourself, to accept something other than perfection from yourself. I hope this year begins with ease, and gentleness to it to believe in small steps to accept the smallness of your beginnings and to just keep going.

I hope you learn to love and respect the new home that youā€™re building or that is building itself outside of what you thought would be your home- open yourself up to taking roots in new places. I hope you find a home, or make steps toward it.

I hope you see the greys in between blacks and whites-nor at least you learn to look closely until you can see them. Nuances- see them, appreciate them, and the role they play in your life.

I hope you feel connected to the land you live, to the one you love, to your purpose and dreams, to yourselfā€

Being my birthday I also took some time to reflect on what truly matters in life. (Yes, I feel that young, LOL). I can write a book on this but here are a few quick thoughts.

First, and most importantly, HEALTH.

Taking care of your health is not a luxury but a necessity. Itā€™s not a fancy-add on. Itā€™s the lifeline that fuels every aspect of who we are. It affects our relationships, our work, our dreams, and our ability to embrace and appreciate lifeā€™s abundance. Stop taking it for granted.

Iā€™ve learned that success is not just about achievements or material wealth. Itā€™s about the impact we have on those we love, the lessons we pass on, and the legacy we create.

You donā€™t need many friends. You need a tight-knit circle of people who give a damn about you. Surround yourself with people who arenā€™t afraid to call you out. People who uplift you, challenge you and genuinely care about you. Think about the friends whoā€™ve seen you through it all the ups, the downs, the wins, the lossesā€¦itā€™s not as many as you think. Quality over quantity.

Life is not just what you get, itā€™s about what you give. Making a difference isnā€™t rocket science, just be a good person.

Blessed for another year.

Achievements

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • ROCK 6 months ago

    Inspiring! I am still procrastinating on how to prepare my 61st birthday vows to my better self. I have two weeks ( I think, šŸ˜‚)

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Wow! Talk about empowerment speeches. I feel so motivated, my shoulders are being lifted, my head held high. Yep...you go girl. Happy belated birthday. šŸ’žšŸŽ‰šŸŽšŸŽ€. I hope the new home works out fine, and your new year the best one yet. Blessings and hugs.

  • This was so positive and powerful! Wishing you a veryyyyy Happy Birthday Catherine! šŸŽ‚šŸ„°

Catherine NyomendaWritten by Catherine Nyomenda

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.