Writers logo

Please Tell Me Why

A single unfulfilled promise puts a curious child on the path toward cynical adult

By Adam PatrickPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - August 2023
38
Please Tell Me Why
Photo by Jeremiah Lawrence on Unsplash

It's funny what you remember about things like your earliest pieces of writing. For instance, I know one of the earliest pieces I ever wrote was a poem. It may not have been my first, but it was one of the most impactful. But the impact didn't come from the writing or the content itself, but from the lessons I would learn from the reaction to it.

I don't remember what grade I was in. I know that it was earlier than fourth grade because I went to a different school in fourth grade. I know it was later than first grade because the poem would make its way to the school principal, and I know that it was not Mr. Taylor--the beloved, gregarious principal who'd retired after my first year in elementary school--but Mr. Dunn--a younger man whose words felt more measured (looking back), whose actions felt pre-configured (in retrospect)--who would praise the poem and make unrealized promises to its starry-eyed author.

So, at some point during the formative years of second or third grade, I explored the one question that seemed to be ravaging my thoughts in a poem aptly named, "Why?" It was written in that simple ABAB scheme that children hear so often and pick up so easily. It was made up of several stanzas, each line challenging the ways of mostly workaday things: the linking of chains, the singing of birds, the falling of rain, the pull of celestial bodies. I only remember verbatim the last line of each stanza, a simple request:

"I'd like to know. Please tell me why."

I don't remember if it was an assignment or just something I did for fun. Regardless, it got the attention of my teacher and the teacher brought it to the attention of my principal, Mr. Dunn.

The way I remember it, both my mom and I were summoned to the principal's office at the end of a school day. One or more of my teachers were there, I'm pretty sure. And I know he lauded the poem, fawned over it. They all did.

What I also remember is the weight with which Mr. Dunn made what seemed to be a heavy decision. One that warranted praise, gratitude, high regard. "You know what," I remember him saying. I remember a long pause, a gradual nodding of his head. "I'm going to send this to the county paper, and I'm going to make sure they publish this."

I don't remember how I reacted in the moment. I don't remember how my mom reacted, but to this day, I can't shake the sense that her reaction was as measured as Mr. Dunn's words seemed to be. If I recreate the scene in my mind, I'm almost certain I can pick up on something unspoken in a look between Mr. Dunn and my mom. Not something communicated, but the exact opposite. A miscommunication. She was telling him one thing, but he was only receiving what he wanted to hear. What he expected to hear.

What he thought he deserved to hear.

I don't remember what I said in the car as I buckled my seat belt. I was surely excited. My poem was going to be in the paper! It was good enough to be in the paper!

Mom didn't share in my excitement. I don't remember the tone. I don't remember the words. Just the cautiousness with which she spoke when she essentially told me not to get my hopes up.

"But he said..." I do remember challenging. And I remember her continued skepticism.

Maybe she imparted some wisdom, explained why she was skeptical.

I'd like to know.

Maybe she was afraid to. Afraid that it would dampen my excitement. Afraid I would misinterpret her cynicism as doubt of my skills, my abilities.

Please tell me why.

And that was the last of the poem I remember being spoken, as it never was published in the paper.

Maybe Mr. Dunn never submitted it. Maybe the paper just didn't publish it. I don't remember ever being offered an explanation. I don't remember asking for one.

I don't remember asking why.

I don't know if I learned at that moment, or if the memory would later return as further evidence that sometimes, you have to take at face value what certain people say. What they promise. That some words don't carry as much weight as they make them out to carry.

But I do get the feeling that the awkward sense of miscommunication I see as I recall us sitting there in Mr. Dunn's office was exactly that. My mom making it clear that she knew what he was saying, how reliable his words were, and Mr. Dunn missing the message completely. Closed off to any incoming messages. Too busy sending his own.

But, memories...oh, how manufactured and misleading memories can be.

Maybe everyone had good intentions.

Maybe it simply slipped everyone's mind.

Maybe the poem wasn't even that good.

Maybe I'm remembering it all wrong.

I'd like to know.

But it's irrelevant, really.

CommunityLifeChallenge
38

About the Creator

Adam Patrick

Born and raised in Southeastern Kentucky, I traveled the world in the Air Force until I retired. I now reside in Arkansas with my wife Lyndi, where I flail around on my keyboard and try to craft something interesting to read.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    Honest, thought inspiring and very well written. Excellent entry!

  • Tina D'Angelo9 months ago

    So happy, then so sad. The feelings fell out of this story all over my brain. So many questions left over from our childhoods. Well done. Really well done. I'd put this one in the paper!

  • Jenifer Nim9 months ago

    This was a great read! Bittersweet...the happiness of your poem being praised and then the disappointment of promises not being fulfilled. It's so sad the first time it hits you that people don't always mean what they say.

  • Sarah D9 months ago

    it seems interesting that the poem you wrote, whether it was good enough for your teachers or not, got published in a Newspaper! That is commendable! Read mine too? https://vocal.media/fiction/an-irrevocable-dream-about-a-mermaid

  • Naveed Ahmed Syed9 months ago

    Early writing holds lessons that memories cherish, regardless of paths taken

  • Erin W M9 months ago

    I feel for your smaller self. I'm glad it didn't discourage you from finding your voice and writing.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Great story. Congrats on the TS

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great writing! Congrats on TS

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Brilliant! Those early disappointments can shape us in ways we never acknowledge. A well deserved TS!

  • Aksaya Bandodker9 months ago

    lovely article! Keep it up! You can check out my work too!

  • Maggie Elizabeth 9 months ago

    Congrats on the TS! This story was a beautiful read. The ending made my heart break a little.

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    Well done. Congratulations on Top Story. Many sentiments I can relate to.

  • Laura Lann9 months ago

    I did not expect it to go down the road it did. The first line really pulled me in as I remembered my own first poem.

  • LC Minniti9 months ago

    I can't explain why, but I felt this one. "But it's irrelevant really." That last sentence. Ended with a bit of a gut punch. It's something I could imagine myself saying as a child, writing my first poem, wondering why it was never published, thinking back to the look between the principal and my mother and what it meant, if it meant anything. So much meaning behind the words. Love it. Good job.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    This is intriguing and truly impressive. Congratulations!

  • Raihana H.9 months ago

    Very interesting... How ordinary, random memories/experiences of childhood can impact one's life... I think we all have memories like this that shaped us into the person we are now. I loved reading this! Thanks for sharing! :)

  • Well said 💯😉❤️😁also Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Ahh, grown ups. They can be such a pain in the proverbial.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.