Writers logo

Photo Prompts (From YOU!)

...As promised!

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
22
Kinora, with photographs - Wellcome Collection, United Kingdom - CC BY. https://www.europeana.eu/item/9200579/j7ha5z2h

I have some photo prompts for you! Similar to Poppy's awesome word prompts, I'm planning to have anyone who wants to write contribute. But dissimilarly, I won't be choosing a winner, so this is not a challenge. Just prompts! And photo prompts, to boot.

These are the photos that didn't get written about for my Ekphrastic Challenge. (It ended last month, see here for all the details if you missed it.) I know we're all busy and life happens, so no worries if you didn't get a story in, BUT I still want to see these get written about! That was the expectation we all had, and here I am to make that happen in a new way.

Consider these part of a community photo prompt. This is how I'd thought about the challenge, actually; that it's not really from me, but rather, from you all. A community-generated challenge.

Of course, this isn't a challenge, so there aren't any rules. Also, there is not a deadline. This can continue to be a prompt article for anyone, indefinitely. Write as many pieces as you'd like, write for multiple or all the photos, write confessions or poems, stories or advertisements, I don't care! Have fun! Hopefully you get some inspiration from some really cool photos.

I will be running the Ekphrastic Challenge again in a few months. Haven't set a date yet, but it'll probably be around May. Look out for that!

                      

The Photos (in no particular order)

Taken by Lana V. Lynx
Taken by Harbor Benassa
Taken by Rachel Deeming
Taken by Donna Fox
Taken by Natalie Wilkinson
Taken by Dana Crandell

And finally,

Taken by Dharrsheena Raja Seggaran

CommunityPrompts
22

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    https://vocal.media/fiction/finding-contentment

  • Back again… I briefly covered the Koi & Hoglet!🙃 https://vocal.media/poets/the-best-pet

  • Finally… I have a poem for one of these lonely photos! https://vocal.media/poets/a-shadow-of-you For Dharrsheena’s impressive photo.💙

  • I think an earlier comment of mine disappeared 😵‍💫… I have attempted a few poetry styles about the baby hedgehog, but neither worked out🥺.

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Oh, love this idea. I shall see what I can come up with. I have a few things on the cook right now...including a new unofficial challenge that will be launching soon. But, those pictures are providing me with all kinds of ideas. Great stuff, Mackenzie!

  • Natalie Wilkinson3 months ago

    Maybe I will try the hedgehog photo. I was supposed to write around that photo but mistakenly chose the one above me (disqualifying my story). Hedgehog research involved.

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    Here's the back story to my picture: https://vocal.media/fiction/move-your-long-sticks-bro

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Ooh, I'd rather like to be IN Lana's there.

  • Roderick Makim3 months ago

    So technically there was a story written for the geese picture, but the story ended up not fitting at all within the micro-fiction parameters of the Eksphratic Challenge, so I ended up just uploading it myself as its own thing... https://vocal.media/fiction/further-adventures-within-one-day-in-the-life-of-ivan-and-denis

  • Oooo, I hope Mr Brain cooperates this time. I'm most drawn to Lana's photo so let's see if anything comes out of it! Thank you so much for including my photo as well hehehehe. Looking forward to your next Eksphratic Challenge in May!

  • Poppy 3 months ago

    Exciting exciting! This is a great idea and I hope to come up with something. Also, I can't wait for your next Ekphrastic Challenge!!!

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    This is a great idea, no cool photo shall go unstoried. I like the hedgehog one.

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    I love the abandoned house! Cool 🇺🇸😶‍🌫️

  • Thank you for sharing these with us, Mackenzie. I think this is a great idea!

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Ouuu, this is so fun! I love this. Just some good ol' photo prompts. 🥰💞 I love that they're from the community. Thank you so much for sharing these, Mackenzie!! 💗 I can't wait for the next challenge in spring! 😄💖

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    Always happy to see the RCAF representation 🫡 These photos look awesome, Mackenzie! That challenge was fun on a bun and I’m hopeful I’ll be able to find the words for at least one of these beauties:)

  • Randy Baker3 months ago

    Good idea. I'm hoping I'll get inspired by one of these photos and scratch something out.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.