Writers logo

New Musings on the Block

Probably not so new, at that.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 5 min read
13
New Musings on the Block
Photo by Brandi Redd on Unsplash

I noticed recently that I've got 3,000 reads! Whoever you are, thank you.

I wanted to mark this milestone somehow, but wasn't sure how. Then I read Lilly Cooper's Top Story about writer's block. (If you haven't read it yet, go and have a look - it's insightful!)

I have just had a nasty bout of Writer's Block - and I mean really nasty, every time I tried to push myself up off the mat, it pummelled me back down again. This seems like the perfect topic. Maybe, on some level, I'm hoping that by marking a small success, I'll ward off a repeat.

I already knew, before I read Lilly's piece, that some people think writer's block doesn't exist. I've even caught myself thinking along those lines. Beating myself up with them. Flagellating myself with another tail o' the cat.

"I'm just being lazy" - that one stings.

"I'm just procrastinating" - that one gets under my skin.

"I'm just not very good" - ouch!

"Maybe I'm not a writer at all" - that one cuts deep.

Lilly calls it a "scourge" - and isn't that the perfect imagery?

Not a Block

My prevailing theory is that, often, it isn't a "block" at all. That is not to say it doesn't exist. Only that it's all too easy to think there's a block when the words don't flow. When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail, right?

To my mind, it's part of the rhythm of writing. The opportunity to read, people watch, absorb, percolate. The inhale before the exhale. Some people panic, and think there is something "wrong" because they are trying to harvest in the planting season.

OK - that works for a little, but what about when that lull is dragging on and still nothing is coming?

Most people are literate. Any of them can hit the keyboard - but what sets you or I apart as "writers" compared to any other sucker with a pen? I've said before - I think it's because we don't just write while the words are flowing, when it's easy... we also do it when it's hard. Doesn't this mean that the "block" is part and parcel of being a writer, then? To put it another way - how can you "write when it's hard" if it's never bloody hard?

Surely we've all had those days - or even weeks, or... no I won't even say it. We've all had times when the large number of words deleted subtracted from the meagre number of them written leaves you in a vanishing pit of minus figures. It's depressing. It's frustrating.

More Self-Flagellation

I've seen a number of posts recently about Guilt. The guilt people feel when they aren't writing as much as they "should", or if they aren't spending "enough" time on Vocal. They aren't engaging with others as much as they feel those people deserve. Finding balance is an art all it's own. It's an area I often -possibly ironically -fall down in. An exercise in self-forgiveness.

I think the two are linked - not being part of (and present in) a writing community, and not being able to write. It's a chicken and egg, isn't it? Are you absent from the community because you aren't writing? Or are you not writing because you are absent? For me, this throws into sharp relief the value of places like Vocal.

Cures

1. Suffer

This is my first, worst and best advice! Creativity is often a response to pain. I get insanely creative when stuffed up with a nasty cold, for instance. It doesn't have to be a physical ailment. How many songs are written about unrequited love? There is a reason for that. What have you got that you can use?

It doesn't even have to be yours - although inward is where many of us go, in an effort to "write what we know". Grief, social injustices, pet peeves - embrace some of the negative. Social media can be a bit of a bugger for toxic positivity. Could this be lending to an uptick in writer's block? During an age when people are more literate and writing more than ever... Now, wouldn't that be funny?

Be mindful of your mental wellbeing, of course. If you don't wield your pain-tbrush mindfully, Stuff can leak out of your pen anyway and catch you unawares. This happened to me recently with Run Run As Fast As You Can. That piece ended up much sadder than I expected - I thought I was going to write a horror, or a comedy-horror and it went another route entirely.

2. Let your creativity lead

Lilly suggests not trying to make your piece fit precisely the vision you started with, but instead let it take shape. I love this. It's a brilliant tip. Give your characters their head. Let it go in an unexpected direction if it needs to.

Can we apply the same when faced with a block? If nothing is coming, write something else. If this story is stuck, work on that one. Or write a poem instead. What do you fancy? I find this works a good portion of the time for me. Which leads me to....

3. Notice that you are already writing

You probably write something every day. Letters, blog posts, rants on social media. There is a little thread hanging off at least one of them, like off a favourite sweater. Pull it. See where it goes.

4. Lean on your community

If you don't have one, find one! Be present. Read. Engage. Let the Brownian motion of creativity bounce you around in the crucible. Pan for a catalyst, and when the chain reaction begins, seize on it.

5. Spontaneity

Stay open and awake to inspiration. Then, if at all possible, when an idea does strike, strike back. While the iron is good and hot. Don't table it. Don't wait. Don't put a pin in it, unless to skewer it to a page.

6. Just write.

Even if it hurts. Even if it's shit. Even if you don't show it to anyone. Especially if you don't have time and most especially if you think you can't. Something. Anything.

Worthwhile note

None of these remedies work all of the time. Lilly reminds us that, just as different things make us happy, or bored, different things could nudge us into a less creative state.

Equally - there are many different things that inspire me, bore me, or bring me joy. Why shouldn't the resolution depend on the individual?

It follows that for each of us, there will be several different things that precipitate a block as well - and surely the remedy will be different depending on the cause. Do we even know the cause, or does it blindside us? And if that is the case, should we even be surprised that we flounder and can't pull ourselves out?

Know your enemy, then. But not one half so well as you know yourself.

+++++++

My questions to you -

1. Do you experience writer's block?

2. Do you wait for it to pass, or you do actively tackle it? (and how?) Neither is wrong by the way, I'm just nosy.

3. Do you notice early signs of it - what are they?

4. Have you been able to pinpoint a cause?

5. How long does it last? What was your longest spell of it (if you don't mind saying) - and how long is "too long" for you?

+++++++

Thank you for reading! I appreciate your honest and thoughtful engagement, and I do my level best to reciprocate. If you enjoyed this mothersucker, the very best compliment you can give me is to pop your eyeballs on another one.

AdviceWriter's BlockAchievements
13

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Sooo better late than never 1. Do you experience writer's block? Not exactly...I always have 101 ideas I'm working on (that may be a tiny exaggeration, but you get the point) so I've got in the habit of just shifting to another one. Or if a new thought comes to my head and flows easier, I do that. So it's not really a block. I just switch. 2. Do you wait for it to pass, or you do actively tackle it? (and how?) Neither is wrong by the way, I'm just nosy. See above. I tackle any sort of obstacle by working on something else, walking also helps. Cos walking I can unfold a story in my head more. 3. Do you notice early signs of it - what are they? As I don't really have a block as such, I can still answer that I know I'm heading for trouble with a piece, because I'll get irritable. Will pace a lot, tap, do all my anxiety things lol. Whereas on normal days, the words flow a lot freer. 4. Have you been able to pinpoint a cause? I just need ideas to gestate and ferment. That's what I've come to realise. 5. How long does it last? What was your longest spell of it (if you don't mind saying) - and how long is "too long" for you? Well as I don't have blocks in the traditional sensee. The If The Walls Can Talk or whatever it is called challenge, I had an idea for that...missed the deadline because I couldn't get it right in my head or in writing...then months after...I finished it and published it lol. But actual stoppage of writing never lasts for that long. My brain has started just shifting. Or even sometimes Ill just takea break, eat and have a drink. Anyway. Told you I'd be back. your post was interesting and I like the fact that you gave proactive tips.

  • 1. Nope because I don't make myself write consistently. So I only write when I have a new idea! Well, I can't answer the remaining questions as I said No in Question 1, lol. Anyway, those were some great tips! Also, congratulations on 3000 reads!

  • Caroline Jane9 months ago

    Stress and lack of time are my enemies. If I sort those 2 out I can usually crank out something. Although anything actually good depends on how open I feel. Holidays, right company, solitude are conducive to getting something decent done and out. Great thought provoking article. Thank you for writing

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    There seems to be some disagreement on whether or not writers block even exists. I think it does, but not in a "whole" sense. For right now, I'm having great difficulty with writing a serious fiction piece. Usually, I get a story near completed in my head before I ever touch the keyboard. I'm getting nothing for the GAN or even the modern fairy tale. Meanwhile, I have written a few poems, critiques, and other silliness. So I'm not completely blocked from writing, but I am for the fiction. Sitting in front of my laptop trying to force out a GAN is just not going to work for me.

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    Wonderfully helpful write up. I do find that my writers block comes from the inability to pen my ideas in a way that I see fit. It's not so much that they're not there but that I can't find the words to satisfy the craving of getting them our, which is so incredibly frustrating. I try to write through it but mostly walk away with ideas in tow for another time. Often thinking on it will lead to the realizations I needed for the idea to come to fruition in the prose I need it to. As for how long? Lol... I've gone months without writing even recently (obviously still "writing" in terms or emails, texts, and tweets, but creatively, no). Great article

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    Oh wow, “The inhale before the exhale” is a brilliant line! Also, “harvesting during planting season” hit really deep! This was a wonderful discussion and exploration of my least favourite part of my favourite hobby!

  • Congrats on 3,000 reads. I don't get rider's block. There are always ideas there and I can always write. But I do go through periods where I just simply do not feel like writing. I just want to be lazy and take a break or take it easy. Usually when I go through those "lazy" periods it will last maybe 2 to 3 weeks. The longest lasted about 5 weeks. I always come back to writing though. Good and informative write up.

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Great article with some great advice. I just write, when I can. No process other than sitting and writing. I do try and leave time between finishing a draft and publishing so that I read it with reasonably fresh eyes but not always. I don't generally struggle with writer's block either - to date. Biggest problem is always uninterrupted time. But other stuff always has to come first. Hard sometimes but I take heart from Mary Wesley who was first published in her eighties. There's time for me yet.

  • Mohammed Darasi9 months ago

    That's a nice article. Yeah I read Lilly's article earlier today and I thought it had some really good points. I honestly don't really know particularly what people exactly mean when it comes to writer's block. There's of course nothing blocking us from actually writing (like you said, we write things every day whether it's emails or rants on social media).. for me usually it's the lack of motivation to start writing, because if I decide to write, I can write. I like what you said about sticking while it's hot. That's what I usually do. I usually don't like to write in multiple sessions (except if it's a fiction story). Usually if I sit down to write an article or a poem, I just start and finish it in one sitting and publish it (after light editing, which results in small mistakes here and there). I think the main issue that makes us not write is lack of motivation (for any reason, could just be a busy life) and lack of inspiration.

  • Excellent and informative❤️📝👌😉💯Thanks for sharing❗

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Congratulations on your 3000 reads💓👏🎊🥳Great advice . I am stuck on my novel challenge story write now, I don’t think I will make it .

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Liking this and bookmarking it for later. Wanted to just stop by and say congrats on the 3,000 reads marker! Awesome stuff! I shall be back later to read it and fully comment mumble on it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.