Writers logo

My New Remedy for Writer's Block

In honor of the new writers community!

By ThatWriterWomanPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
29
My New Remedy for Writer's Block
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I am taking a small break from my regularly scheduled fiction pieces to bring you this short article detailing my remedy for writer's block.

Writer's block sucks. It is an empty well of darkness where creativity should be. At worst, it can have a writer questioning if they even want to write anymore.

For me, it feels as if someone has taken my brain out and replaced it with those magnetic multicolored letters that go on fridges. I appear to be a toddler rearranging said letters into various nonsense and calling it 'writing'.

Thus we have a choice. We can wait for it to pass, or find a remedy that works according to our unique brains!

As for my very unique brain, this is the one that seems to work for me. I discovered it a month ago and have used it to thwart 3 cases of writer's block so far!

The truth is, it is very simple.

By Emmanuel Ikwuegbu on Unsplash

10 random words

It does not matter if you get them from flicking through a dictionary, clicking on a random word generator website, or taking them from conversations with others. Just get them and grasp them tight. They are the new foundation on which a new story will be written.

That's it!

Use those 10 words to write a story of any genre. Better yet, let the words decide the direction in which the story goes.

There is only one rule: All 10 words must be included within the story at some point. Bonus points if the words are repeated!

By Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

I have recently employed this technique when facing a very bad case of writer's block. Actually, it was more like a brick wall made entirely of writer's blocks!

In a desperate attempt for inspiration, I followed in the footsteps of an old Vocal prompt and went on the hunt for words. I went to a random word generator website (of which there are many) and picked 10 words from the ether. I stared at them for an hour when things suddenly began to click. The magnetic letters on the proverbial fridge door began to form sentences!

I proceeded to write the longest story I have ever written. While it was a great achievement, it is not word count that I concern myself with, it is quality, challenge, and enjoyment.

In terms of quality, I am by no means anything more than an amateur but I found myself writing more complex storylines within this '10 word technique', even including backstories and flashbacks for my characters!

The challenge in this technique comes from the one or two words that need to be shoehorned into the tale. I actually found this quite fun. The toughest was the word 'institution', which I had to find a place for in a medieval fantasy story. I decided to use 'the institution of marriage', which became one of the main themes! It was exciting that the words had such a bearing on the story!

There is something about solving a puzzle that is undeniably enjoyable, and this technique felt like a puzzle. Putting the last of the 10 words into a story feels like placing the final puzzle piece in and seeing the full picture on top!

If you are interested in this story which not just broke me out of my writer's block but smashed the writer's block wall with a swift, calculated. blow, I have listed part one:

(Perhaps you would even like to take my 10 words and make your own story out of them, yourself?)

Sharing this simple yet effective remedy gives me a lot of joy. While I usually dislike comments self-advertising, if you write anything using this technique, I would love it if you would comment them down below! I will even pop a few of my favorites in this article here:

*

*

*

And remember, the rules can be bent depending on the level of challenge you would like. Perhaps 5 or 3 words for a smaller challenge, or only choose words beginning with the letter R? I think I shall try that next!

Happy Writing Everyone!

By Nick Morrison on Unsplash

My socials: Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, and Twitch!!

AdviceWriting ExerciseWriter's BlockInspiration
29

About the Creator

ThatWriterWoman

Welcome!

Writer from the UK (she/her, 25) specializing in fictional tales of the most fantastical kind! Often seen posting fables, myths, and poetry!

See my pinned for the works I am most proud of!

Proud member of the LGBT+ community!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    TWW, I loved this! “Find a remedy that works for our unique brains” was my favourite line! So beautifully articulated how amazingly different everyones brain is and how we use it! I like your 10 random words technique, it’s simple and I’m willing to bet effective! Thank you for sharing this not only fun remedy but insight to your very unique brain and how it works! Such a marvellous mind, you have!!

  • Hope Martin9 months ago

    As a novelist… writers block is the worst! Thanks got the tip!!!

  • Scott Christenson9 months ago

    I really relate to this. I need some outside input, the more specific the better, to really start to write. One contest has 5 prompts (you're supposed to choose one) and I often make it a challenge to try to use all 5.

  • Nitu Gupta9 months ago

    Nice article, 👏 congratulation on top story. https://vocal.media/journal/top-10-europe-s-biggest-startup-hub-in-2023-nitu-gupta Please share and support my story. 🙏

  • That is a very brilliant idea. I might try it too! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Matt Martin9 months ago

    Congratulations on getting Top Story! Very well put.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💖🎉

  • Test9 months ago

    Thanks for the advice. Congrats on top story :)

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    This is a great technique to pass on. I used it with the dictionary to write a poem in response to a poetrry.com challenge when I was much younger. It's a fun way to create.

  • Mattie :)9 months ago

    Wonderful advice. Thank you!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    That's great advice. Thanks for sharing and congrats on the TS

  • Andrzej Zieliński9 months ago

    Great advice!

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    I have yet to work out an effective means of defeating writer's block. Sometimes, it's a matter of brute force, just keep trying until the words flow. Other times, it's 'stop, take a break, go for a walk, bake some cinnamon buns, get wildly drunk, and try again later.' Still other times... well I still have a slowly growing list of stories that have chronic writer's block... taunting me Thanks for sharing your process!

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    This is a great Idea! I think I will give it a shot. Congrats on Top Story.

  • KJ Aartila9 months ago

    This sounds like a great exercise for challenging your brain - I love it! Thank you for sharing this idea. ❤️

  • Muhammad Asim9 months ago

    nice idea

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    Really great article for tackling writer's block! I love random word exercises which made the Word Hunt Challenge a lot of fun for me. You've gained a new subscriber. Additionally, I sent you a tweet that you might care to read when you have a moment. Best wishes

  • Miss^_^San9 months ago

    I love the idea of using 10 random words to spark creativity and guide the story. It's like solving a puzzle while writing, and the results can be truly remarkable. I'll definitely give it a try and share my story here. 🖋️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.