Writers logo

My First Story

419/S.C.A.M.

By Jane JatoePublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
My First Story
Photo by Justin Morgan on Unsplash

The first story I ever written started back in college of the year 2018. I was bored one day in my dorm room and had absolutly nothing to do, so I began a random google search on the topic of pickpocketing. During my search, I discovered the many techniques thiefs use to steal wallets and the types of scams they use on the vunrable. The one scam that peaked my interest was called the 419 advadnced free fraud that originated in Nigeria. The concept of the scam is to pretend to be someone your not in order to gain trust from the victem and have them send you money over and over again. After watching videos and reading stories about it, an idea popped into my head about the scam. I started analyze the story and coming up character names while continuing my research. After gathering all the information I needed, I got my notebook and began to write.

The story was about a college dropout who discovers the secret world of scam artist and finds out the deadly truth behind it. I used a version of the 419 scam as the theme for the story and spent each day on campus or in my dorm room writing as much as I can come up with. Now, my writing style was pretty simple and amateur and I didn't know the proper method of how a manuscript was supposed to look like. When it came down to typing it up, I needed to a lot of editing and revising so that it made sense. After finishing, I sent copies to friends and family and they had a good time reading it. I felt very proud of myself and tried many different ways to publish it. It has a couple of recognitions but not enough to be popular.

About a year or two, I had another idea to come up with a part two to my story, this time based on the con game of Russian Roulette. Then after a while, I did a third part based off of a scam called, Black Money, which a trick where you trick your victem into thinking they're getting cancelled bank noted dyed black and they have to pay for the "solution" to clean it but really it's just stripes of newspaper painted black.

Each of these stories are short and so I made the decision to combine them together to see if it qualifies as a novel. But it was still short. Months later, I found a published book with the same title as mine and I had to come up with a diiferent title that was unique to me. The story is now called, S.C.A.M. I'ts a clever acronym I thought of that fitted well with my story.

Over the years I have tried different writing styles that I felt fit with the idea for the plot. I would often read other books and stories to see how they write and I realized there is no correct way to write as long as it made sense. Comparing my writing style from when I started to now, it's very different and a little more advanced. One of my favourite style is first person because it gives you the opportunity to know what the characters are thinking and what the reason is behind some of the decisions they make to impact their lives. I continued to write in my own way while adding the some of what I've seen in published work. I hope to one day be recognized for my stories and share all types of writing techniques I've discovered.

InspirationAchievements
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.