Writers logo

My Favorite 4 Tricks to Beat Procrastination and Get To Writing

If you want to write. Don't click this.

By Elise L. BlakePublished 13 days ago Updated 13 days ago 4 min read
1
My Favorite 4 Tricks to Beat Procrastination and Get To Writing
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

If it weren't for procrastination authors would put out ten times the amount of books in a year as they do now. 

But why write when you can think about writing and watch Netflix?

Procrastination is a hard habit to beat, but if you want to shift into the habit of writing one of these four tricks I use in my writing routine might work for you. 

No Coffee Till Morning Work Is Done

Like most writers I live by coffee, I exist by coffee, and coffee is a pretty decent motivator for me. 

Anytime my father wants to stroll around the neighborhood he can always convince me to go with the thoughts of that little coffee shop sitting on the end of the street. 

My writing space is in my bedroom because space is limited and I can't yet have a dedicated office so my desk sits in the corner of my room. 

This means if I want coffee in the morning I have to pass the desk as a checkpoint. 

Roll out of bed. Sit at the desk. Type up an article. Post on Social Media. 

And then coffee. 

Coffee has to come before more serious fiction work is done or else that whole session is a waste. 

Strict Parenting 

How do you get a kid to stop misbehaving and throwing Legos into the toilet instead of doing their homework?

You tell them no. (Yes I know it's never really that simple)

But if you should be writing and you find yourself reaching for the TV remote or your phone or raiding the fridge for snacks for the hundredth time today - tell yourself no and send yourself off to your writing space for a time out. 

Bargaining 

If there's something I really want to do, but I know I should be writing and just saying no isn't working. 

Well, now it has become more like a crisis negotiation. 

Do you want to watch that movie you've been thinking about all week?

Write for thirty minutes first. 

Or if I know there's a snack waiting for me in the pantry I can have it - after I finish outlining or writing a chapter. 

Now I have a reason not to procrastinate and there is a prize in it for me at the end. 

Bring In The Troops 

If you only have yourself to answer too well - it's pretty easy to brush writing off and consider the day a loss and that you'll try again the next day. 

However. 

This is when telling those around you that you have something to do and that you are putting it off can be your best aid. 

Your sister may take your phone and change the screen lock password and not give it back until you've done what you need to. 

Your partner may suggest one of your favorite places to eat that weekend, but only if you finish the chapters you need to. 

If you can't hold yourself accountable, it's time to bring in reinforcements and have someone else hold you accountable instead. 

---

These tips are a bit silly, but honestly having them be a bit of fun makes the task a little less daunting. 

The point of it all is to find things that work for you. 

Procrastination is a silly thing to begin with so if you can make a game out of getting through it and getting yourself in front of your desk then why not?

Best of luck! 

Now stop reading articles to procrastinate!

Go write! 

With love, 

B.K. xo xo

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

This story was originally posted on Medium.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1! Your support keeps my creativity brewing! ☕

Thank you for your support and happy writing!

Instagram | TikTok | Twitter | Threads | Youtube | Facebook | Twitch

InspirationGuidesAdvice
1

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.