Writers logo

Middle School Fanfiction

I had written fanfiction when I was young and I still do. It was something that I've enjoyed for years and probably will for a while.

By Raphael FontenellePublished 10 months ago 2 min read
Middle School Fanfiction
Photo by Kari Shea on Unsplash

The first thing that I had ever wrote was fanfiction. When I was about fourteen or thirteen years old. It was something that I was extremely proud of. I think it had been something about DragonballZ. Like a self-insert or something to that effect, it's been too long. I'm not really certain that I remember the character. I do know that I had bad grammar and really terrible spelling skills. Also, I hadn't properly formatted it compared to how I write right now.

The fanfiction was also something that my Mom didn't get behind. She kept saying that I was better at writing my own thing. Not that she didn't approve of it. In fact, she didn't discourage me from writing fanfiction. In an actively rude sort of way. But, she did unintentionally tell me to do so in ways that made me feel really stupid. Encouraging me to just write stuff that is my own.

I kind of wonder if she was worried that I would get sued or something.

Yet, I still do. I write fanfiction because it's fun. Because I enjoy my own spin on the characters. Write myself or another original character that I have into the world. Right now I'm writing several different fanfictions. Two of which are very self indulgent and made me feel happy. They're self-inserts that I hadn't worked on too long. It was a whole lot of fun for the most part. Especially the first one that I've written.

But we're not talking about that right now.

I think the first fanfiction was similar to that. Sort of. Myself in my favorite T.V show where I was just plopped in with no warning. But, again, it's been years and I didn't bother saving it. Mostly out of embarrassment for what I had written and not being confident in myself. Unlike now where I'm more or less a lot more confident. And don't care that I'm writing something cringy.

I'm having fun.

Who cares if what I have written is cringy or not? And if they do? They don't really matter to me. I'm going to have fun with this and not let it get under my skin.

Challenge

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    I love fanfiction it is helps me feel better when my fav show or movie is over and I miss it or I miss a character. Especially Luci from Disenchantment 😓

Raphael FontenelleWritten by Raphael Fontenelle

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.