BookClub logo

Biting Into Dracula

First taste of horror that really sticks with you.

By Raphael FontenellePublished 10 months ago 2 min read
Biting Into Dracula
Photo by Clément Falize on Unsplash

When I was seven years old, I got a copy of Dracula. It was the first actual 'adult' horror book that I got to read. And one of the few 'adult' horror books that I wanted to. I've re-read it a few months ago and it isn't the same. But when I was younger, it really ignited my love for vampires and everything horror. I started writing, drawing, and watching anything with vampires.

Though some weren't entirely age appropriate now that I think on it. But I didn't care.

I just wanted to watch it.

It really gave me a feel for horror that I enjoy. Inspiring me to write about characters who deal with vampires. Or are vampires themselves. Not always sharing them with others. At the time, I felt for Jonathan a little. I somewhat thought he was a moron for not realizing that Dracula's being a vampire. Now I realize just how little vampires might've been known when it was written. Or at least were as popular. So, him not understanding is understandable. Then again, I think he was deep in denial.

Really deep.

There's always a need to rationalize what you can't understand. Or maybe control, too? I understood that, sort of, as a child. As I grew up with an abusive Step-Father that I felt despised my existence. Maybe had. Dracula was the best escape that I could have as a kid. It kept me from thinking of how much my Mom's ex-husband had treated me. Treated my younger brothers and her. This was also one of the reason's that I dove into books like 'Salem's Lot', 'Bunnicula', and 'Vampire Breath'. And other such books that I can't remember right now.

I ain't too sure if anyone'll really count 'Twilight' from my cringy teenager years as such.

It gave me comfort to read Jonathan being terrified by a creature I knew how to destroy. One that I knew wasn't going to be able to kill him. As Doctor Van Helsing as well as other friends would never allow this. Neither would Mina if she were given the chance. I do think he would have been dead without his precious fiance.

She might have been gone without him as well.

I lost that copy of Dracula. Not sure where it went when we moved or if it was even in decent shape. But I've recently re-ordered it. I put it somewhere and I'll get back to reading it one day. When I actually can get the urge to read it during the months leading up to Halloween. I might even watch an adaptation of it to capture that youthful terror I once felt. Maybe then I might get inspired to write something as ambitious as I did when I was a child.

Maybe.

Challenge

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Wow, I didn't know it was a book, and now I want to read it. It sounds like it meant a lot to you.

Raphael FontenelleWritten by Raphael Fontenelle

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.