Writers logo

Lookout 2024 RHC is Here to Stay

I Love Vocal Media!

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 5 months ago 4 min read
Image created by Rick Henry Christopher using Microsoft Word and Photoshop

My aspirations with Vocal in 2024. I am a data-driven person and thrive on structure and achieving goals. I have always had a high level of motivation. My level of motivation has not always been a good thing. But, at the same point, I have accomplished a lot in my life. I have experienced many wonderful successes and I have grown from the life learning failures.

I joined Vocal back in 2021 about five months after my mom became ill and two months after my beloved brother's death. I still have not come to terms with his passing and never will.

I feel in these past three years being affiliated with Vocal has allowed me to grow and develop as a writer. Vocal has also given me a place to lose myself in different worlds and forget about the grief I have encountered.

I have compiled a list of the Top Ten things I want to accomplish on Vocal and/or with the influence Vocal can have on my life.

My Top Ten

1. I will write a story for the Humor community. My goal is to write something so unusually funny that the reader doesn't realize it's funny until after you've finished the story and have moved into another story or two. This will be a story that hits you out of the blue the next day or so after the fact.

2. I am going to write a totally predictable romance story. I will do this because I have absolutely no interest in romance so I want to challenge myself to write something in which my skills have not been used or may not be so sharp.

3. Psychological Thrillers is my genre. That is where I excel. I will write another Psychological Thriller that will rival my best; “The Hail Mary Confession” and “The Flashlight.”

4. I am going to explore new avenues in which to expand Vocal + Assist. We have great fun with this group on both Facebook and Discord but now it's time to take it to another level. What can I say, I love social media!!!

5. I am going to participate in a few challenges this year. Not all of them, but the ones that catch my fancy. This year in 2024 I plan on placing in a challenge for the very first time. I don't know how I will do it but I would really like to place in the Top Three of a challenge.

6. As I did in 2023 I will assemble a committee or two to discuss issues regarding Vocal Media and send the results to the Vocal team including Jeremy, Justin, and Gina. I feel it is important that the Vocal team hear what the Vocal community has to say when they can speak in a safe private forum and remain anonymous - that's when you get what people really want to say. When you have these open forums a lot of people sugarcoat what they're saying or are afraid to say what they really want to say.

7. It would be very nice to reach 50,000 reads. But I will have to work to achieve this goal. I will do it by putting out all quality work. I don't like just quickly throwing something together just to have something out there.

8. I am going to retire the Rate-O-Rama game. It was fun while it lasted but I feel its time has come to an end. However, I am going to put together a new music series for the Beat community. I'm not exactly sure what it will be but it will be something in which the readers will be able to interact and give their opinion.

9. I am joining my beautiful friend Tiffany Gordon in her crusade to get vocal to add a faith or spirituality community. Of course, this community should be open to all faiths and religions, not just Christianity. I consider myself to be a non-denominational Christian (not to be confused with the radical right-wing politically charged Evangelical Christianity), but I also feel that it is important to know, understand, and embrace all the religions and beliefs of the world. Whether it be Christian, Buddhism, Muslim, Atheism, or if shall be Satanism, I am not afraid of facing my spirituality and other people's spirituality or even lack of spirituality. If the Vocal team feels that religion or spirituality is too divisive of a topic to create a faith-based community then they need to consider removing The Swamp community. Because politics are, in my mind, far more divisive a topic. Not only that, I have always felt the name The Swamp is a poor choice for a political community, it should be renamed something other.

10. I would like to usher in a resurgence of quality storytelling and poetry crafting back to Vocal and bring us back to that place of glory that once existed a few years back. I join my friend Misty Rae in her push to bring Vocal back to greatness.

💝💝💝💝💝

The Last Word

Before I sign off I want to thank Jeremy Frommer, Justin, and Gina for the work and effort you put into Vocal Media.

💝💝💝💝💝

With Love, RHC ❤️

VocalInspirationCommunityChallengeAchievements

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Congrats on your Honorable mention on the Leaderboard as well! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Now that's a full plate and what I'm talking about! Best of luck to you my friend in 2024. You are a go getter and have no doubt you will work toward these goals. 💯🥇🍻

  • Test5 months ago

    Great goals!! I'm currently exploring the crime fiction genre. Not sure if it will turn toward psychological thriller. I'm interested in the "Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" books.

  • I like your goals for the year. I hope you reach most of them this year!

  • A great set of goals, though I shall miss the Rate-O-Rama game.

  • I'm looking forward to reading your funny story and psychological thriller! I wish you all the best for all the challenges that you'd enter and for hitting 50 reads! I'm not a religious person but I would love to see a Faith community added. That would be really nice

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    ✊🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • Scott Christenson5 months ago

    Rate-o-Rama was really successful I think it was a topic of general interest to everyone. Medium's front page concentrates on general interest topics. If Vocal is ever going to trend, they somehow need to make the story feed a bit less random. Medium's "publication" concept is an interesting way to do that. My vocal feed receives a lot of poetry, a topic I don't have a lot of interest in, but I don't seem to have any filters I can set. Good luck with all your 2024 writing goals, and look fwd to see your next idea for music! Audience interaction really works!

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    You have soooo much energy and enthusiasm. I've learned a lot about you through the goals you have set. I believe that you will accomplish what you have set out to do. I will miss the Rate-o-Rama, even though I came in late to it. I will also send prayers for you to help you in your grief. Look forward to your stories :)

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    I support so much on #9 . Good Luck On Your Romance Story Under taking, please tag me because I love romance stories

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    My problem with rate o rama has always been that I open it as I'm trying to get the kids to go to sleep...

  • D. A. Ratliff5 months ago

    Rick, I particularly like your goals of exploring the genres that you are least familiar with and flexing your skills. Writing is writing, but learning the nuances of different genres helps hone our skills to another level. I love writing in different genres, but I have yet to have the courage to write a horror story! Maybe that should be my goal. Good luck with all in 2024!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Impressive and inspiring goals for 2024!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    You really are a goal setter - your aspirations put mine in the shade 😁

Rick Henry Christopher Written by Rick Henry Christopher

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.