Writers logo

A Six Pack of Writers

The Vocal + Assist Admin Team

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 6 min read
Top Story - November 2023
35
The Vocal + Assist Admins

Hi my name is Rick Henry Christopher

On March 8, 2022 I created the Facebook group Vocal + Assist. I had been a creator with Vocal Media since May 25, 2021. That was during a very trying time in my life. It was a few months after I went through radiation treatments for prostate cancer. Shortly after that my mom began hallucinating pretty bad and ended up in the hospital. After that she required round the clock care having been diagnosed with dementia and Major Depressive Disorder. My brother and I taught ourselves how to care for my mom in this condition which also included the fact that she is completely blind and is now incontinent. Then my brother became sick only two months later and he passed away on January 31, 2021.

My brother’s passing turned my life upside down. I had to decide whether I would sell the house and put my mom in a home or quit my job and take care of her full-time. My Mom won and I am taking care of her full-time. She is well worth the time and effort I put into taking care of her. It has definitely been a rough road. But I am making it and I am surviving.

When my brother passed away I had a popular Blogger blog called Rock Music and More. After my brother passed away I stopped blogging. It’s been two years and nine months since I last posted there. However, the blog still manages to get about 45 views per week and has a total of 123,000 views on it.

I ended up leaving Blogger in March of 2021 and started up with Vocal Media two months later. It seems that Vocal Media pays better than Blogger.

When I first started with Vocal Media I was posting music posts but then shortly branched out to short stories, poetry, and informative articles. With the trauma and depression I experienced after my mom's illness and my brother's death, writing with Vocal Media saved me from diving into a deep depression.

I enjoyed writing with Vocal Media so much and was making new friends pretty quick that I decided I wanted to give back and I started the Facebook group Vocal + Assist. This group served two purposes for me. It helped me to keep my mind off of all the traumatic things that had just happened in my life and it helped me to make even more great new friends and gave me the inspiration to keep on writing. Vocal + Assist has been a Godsend for me.

In the process Vocal + Assist has grown and we have become an active group that has developed a very strong community of caring and friendship.

The current admin team which includes Oneg Tristàn, Jim Delaney-Howe, Darnell Lee, River Joy, and Sharon “Mother” Combs, is a strong close knit team that works very well together.

Behind the scenes, we often chat, coming up with new ideas for the group. If we notice any specific group member is struggling with anything, we reach out with open hearts and listening ears. In those behind-the-scenes moments, we are continuously building each other up and encouraging one another. This team truly has a wonderful bond.

✍✍✍✍✍✍

Now, I bring to you the Vocal + Assist admin team

(in order of seniortiy with newest first and ending with the most senior admins).

Sharon (Mother) Combs

Howdy! My name is Sharon Combs, and I write under the nom de plume “Mother Combs.” I write a mixture of fiction and poetry, sometimes combining the two. My favorite things to write are fairy tales and inspirational poems. When I’m not writing, I love to spend time with my family, play with the cats and dogs, or just sit outside and watch the chickens run around. Being disabled, I have plenty of time on my hands. I believe writers were meant to gather and talk in pubs, inns, and the like, and with these modern times, Facebook Groups and other social media sites are quickly taking over those antiquated places of old.

✍✍✍✍✍✍

River Joy

Hi I'm River, I'd say my unique voice as a writer comes from two places, my intense feelings towards the net good humanity does, and my intense feelings towards the net bad humanity does. In all seriousness I feel my style is both subtle and in your face, I tend to lean towards writing very introverted, deeply flawed, but I think lovable, characters in my fiction. My "slice of life" pieces such as the series on retail come from the same place I am constantly in awe at the absurd and the beautiful in my everyday, very boring life, that I need to write about it. Poetry tends to come from a more visceral place, though the themes are the same. I like making small things big, and I think that is what I'd boil down my writing to. I'm not going to write a story about the leader of a revolution, I'm going to write a story about her brother who quietly cleans up after her.

✍✍✍✍✍✍

Darnell Lee

My name is Darnell Lee. I have a heartfelt and honest approach to my writing. Whether a story of my life or factionalized characters, I pour myself into it. I don’t shy from the honest and vulnerable topics. My intent with my characters is for them to come to life from the pages they’re written on. I achieve this by crafting their experiences in the most honest way possible, no pomp, no frill.

✍✍✍✍✍✍

Jim Delaney-Howe

I use my life and surroundings as inspiration every time I write. Most of my poetry is about or inspired by nature. A few are inspired by love. I write short fiction, and that is the genre I am looking to improve in. I write about family and relationships quite a bit. Some of you who have followed me and read my work probably feel like you know one of my children and my husband. I write about my life with bipolar too. Writing is a release for me, and if it helps one person not feel alone in this world, or someone can relate, then that is a bonus.

✍✍✍✍✍✍

Oneg Tristan

I don’t do diluted writing. I write raw; emotions dangling from my sleeve leave a trail behind. Sometimes I like to write from an unexpected perspective, especially when it comes to micro fiction, and even horror. My goal is to yank on heartstrings and give the reader that emotional gut punch. I write honestly; vulnerably. I love giving a voice to the underrated, I think it’s part of the magic of being a writer. I mean, being a writer is practically magic in the first place- we create so much.

✍✍✍✍✍✍

With Love, RHC ❤️

ShoutoutVocalProcessLifeInspirationCommunityAchievements
35

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylor5 months ago

    Great place to be. Thanks to all the wonderful admins and all those who enter into the spirit. Well done for the deserved TS too.

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    An outstanding piece of honest-to-goodness, real-life, down-to-earth writing Rick! Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Tressa Rose6 months ago

    I am grateful to be a part of your group, it has been a great experience!

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    Lovely stuff. I hope you are doing well. The bios of the admin team are great. ❤️

  • Chloe Gilholy6 months ago

    Lovely group of people.

  • Erica Wagner6 months ago

    Hey Rick — this is such a beautiful concept. This is what we think the Vocal Community is really about: thank you so much. All best wishes to you and the team!

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

  • Cheryl E Preston6 months ago

    I joined 2 Voca Facebook groups. One would not post my articles and on the other one, there was no interaction. I'm glad your group is flourishing but I'm skeptical to join.

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    Thank you. This deserved the TS! 🏅

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    Love this, Rick! Great team, and congrats on the Top Story 🥰

  • JBaz6 months ago

    The amount of work and effort you put into this is amazing. I barely go on face book anymore due to priorities I placed upon myself. How you did all this and continue to do all this is a tribute to the type of person you are. I was honored to be a part of this group ( if only for a brief stint)

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    Well done. I was really good to get to know the team a little better. Congrats on Top Story

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    What a fine tribute to your group and Kudos for lifting up your admins! All incredible writers and great supporters of fellow creators. Glad to see this made Top Story!

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    This was a great way to get to know you. Rick, I had no idea about your personal circumstances and I have a deep respect for you and all that you have endured in what must have been a painful time. I hope that you and your mum are doing well and I am sorry about the loss of your brother. I hope that your writing continues to be an outlet for you and thank you and the rest of the gang for all of the support that you offer for all us lowly writers. When you reached out to me to join, it was a great day. I can't get on social media as much as I would like but I am trying to do my bit to support as much as I can and I am extremely grateful for the opportunities to mingle that your FB group offers me. To finish, can I just say how much I love the rate-o-rama? Great idea. I'm always intrigued what songs are going to come up next. Keep doing what you're doing, Rick and the rest of the Super SIx.

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    I love Vocal+Assist! 💖💖💖 Keep doing what you guys do. The ideas, games and challenges that come from here are amazing. Much love going out to the team.

  • Test6 months ago

    Excellent job everyone Keep up the great work!"

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Ahhh, so happy to read about this pack of 6! All the best to you guys!

  • LOVE YOU GUYS. YOU ARE REAL, EARNEST, CARING PEOPLE. THANK YOU. I AM ELATED TO BE A PART OF SUCH A CREATIVE TEAM.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Hi, It really seems like you work together very well and are a great support!! 👍😊 I knew a little of your situation with your mum Rick, but not the other illnesses and your brother passing. That is a lot of challenging things in just a few years. I’m so sorry that all occurred but you make me smile that you can be so caring, effervescent and proactive on the other side of all that!! ☺️👏👏 Vocal this year has really helped me too! I finally started to reach out more to friends made on Vocal early this year, write a little more and joined many of the fb groups which I do not regret! Excellent to get to know the team a little more too! 😃

  • Rene Peters6 months ago

    Love this! You're all so amazing!

  • Love every single last one of you. Thank you for all the support.

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Thank you for sharing!!! It's great to learn more about the six pack of writers

  • Ace Melee6 months ago

    I am trying to be more active and uploading again on Vocal. It was nice to hear about the Six-Pack of Writers (Nice photo, by the way), and your story is inspiring me to keep writing here. I also deal with mental struggles, such as GAD, Schizoaffective Disorder, and dysthymia; however, writing provides an escape from it. Thank you for writing this! Keep going strong!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.