Writers logo

Let it snow

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 5 months ago 4 min read
Like
Let it snow
Photo by Mariana Rascão on Unsplash

It was 1950 all over again. Summer has passed. Fall has ended. And Winter begin. I had my heart set on Christmas. I love Christmas the lights. The singing and the caroling, everything was just about joy and laughing. And I could not wait for my presents. My life was surrounded by Christmas. And the community would come together just time for Christmas. Heather Boeski is my name. My family would do every tradition that they could think of in the books. I could not help myself. I was young and adventurous. My family love doing something adventurous especially around Christmas. There's nothing like a good holiday. People laughing and children playing. People hoping and love felt everywhere. I remember when I was young and naïve. Nothing could stop me. I would put my hope into the wondrous snow. If its a White Christmas then it is a good Christmas. I would make snow angels with Mom and Dad. I love looking at the beautiful flakes on Christmas. I love tasting the flakes from the sky. And I love hearing Have yourself a Merry Little Christmas song. And drinking hot chocolate by the fireplace. So till Christmas, I would look forward to seeing Dr. Holub. He was the family physician. He was a good man who did no wrong. He also sponsored the Community Christmas Tree. Dr. Holub recommended celebrating traditions and holidays so patients would get over the gloom of winter. But today was different, weeks coming near, I had to see Dr. Holub. And he was not like himself usually. He was a little down and trying to be gentle as he broke it down to me about this Christmas. He said " I am so sorry Heather. Christmas made be a green Christmas. All those children in the community are gonna be sad. All those children and families without snow to play in. Sorry to break it down to you." Heather begins to frown and feel sad. She begin to cry. And Dr. Holub pat her on the shoulder. Dr. Holub tries to cheer her up and give her a lollypop.

Then Heather comes home and tell her parents. Heather's parents are calling up Dr. Holub and they are mad and yelling. And Dr. Holub talks them down from being angry and gives them some hope that the weatherman is wrong. So they eventually after hours, apologized. As the days passed by, Heather waits inside her bedroom's window. And she is praying that snow comes. She plays with her toys and keep busy while waiting for the snow. Her mother after days come in and check on her playing. Her mother sits on the bed with Heather. And they play with the dolls and her mother. Heather's mother said " Honey snow isn't everything. Christmas is about family. It's about love. It's about hope. It's about joy. There will always be time for snow. And playing outside. Try to be hopeful dear." And Heather quietly agrees and plays with her dolls. Eventually her mother leaves to cook dinner and she tells Heather that she loves her. Then a week before Christmas, the lights go out all around town, Mr. Boeski is angry. He is on the phone with the energy company and demanding for answers. The energy company stalls. Mr. Boeski gets really mad and threatens to complain and sue. The energy company explained that the lights and the weather. Heather is scared and she asks her mom "Do you think Santa Claus is gonna send us snow?" Her mother tries to not let her down but she tells her a little story about life in the old days. She talks about her family and the olden days where there was lesser things than people have now. She explained how people relied on each other. She sees that Heather is into the story. Then all of sudden before Mrs. Boeski finishes the story, the lights are back on. Just in time before Christmas and on Christmas Eve, there came a snowstorm, more snow fall. Heather was hesitated to play then her parents dressed her on Christmas morning. And they said "Let it snow. Let the children play. And let's make angels on this Christmas Day"

Advice
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.