Writers logo

How To Apply James Clear's Atomic Habits to Novel Writing

The non-writing book all writers should read

By Elise L. BlakePublished 16 days ago 3 min read
2
How To Apply James Clear's Atomic Habits to Novel Writing
Photo by Lala Azizli on Unsplash

"Every action you take is a vote for the person you want to become." -James Clear

The first thing I will tell any writer when they ask me for my number one tip on how to become a better writer I always tell them to read anything and everything they can get their hands on and that is exactly how I found myself sitting down with a copy of Atomic Habits by James Clear. 

This book has been ranted and raved about all over social media for a while and I dismissed it as hype, what did I need with a book like that?

 I'm a writer, I'm not trying to start a business. 

But I know enough to admit when I am wrong and about this book I was.

If you are a writer trying to build your writing habits or become a better writer in general I would recommend this book to you in heart beat. 

Now with that out of the way, what can this book teach you about being a writer? How can it be applied to writing? 

Let's start small - say about two minutes small. 

Start with the Two-Minute Rule

Anyone can do anything for two minutes and if you want to build a habit you should begin with one that only takes you two minutes. 

When it comes to novel writing this could mean writing only a few sentences each day, working on your outline, or jotting down a few ideas you have about your novel. 

Two minutes of writing every day will eventually add up to an entire novel, but most likely you'll build from that two-minute session to five minutes, then ten minutes, and then longer as the habit becomes a part of your day without you even have to think about whether or not you're going to write. You just will. 

Create an Environment for Success

If you have to climb over piles of clothes or move mountains of paperwork and other gathered junk to get to your writing spot then most likely you're not going to. 

It's much easier to just sit on the couch and start flipping through the streaming services telling yourself that you'll do it tomorrow. 

Wherever it is that you work, make it a place that is suited best for writing and nothing else. No distractions, no mess, just you and the environment that best suits your writing. Fill it with quotes or artwork that inspire you to write, but be careful not to let it get too cluttered. 

---

While Atomic Habits is not a book specifically about writing, everything in it can be applied to novel writing or writing in general. So whether you are new to writing or far along in your writing journey I would suggest picking up a copy of this book or borrowing it from your local library as I did and applying some of the principles to your life to help you create better writing habits. 

Best of luck! 

With love, 

B.K. xo xo

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

This story was originally posted on Medium.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1! Your support keeps my creativity brewing! ☕

Thank you for your support and happy writing!

Instagram | TikTok | Twitter | Threads | Youtube | Facebook | Twitch

InspirationGuidesAdvice
2

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham15 days ago

    Writing is a business in a way. You have an 'office space' and the necessary supplies to perform your duties of a writer. It is all about how you want to organize your time to write and do other chores. My schedule is early morning chores to get the body moving then sitting down to read or start writing or typing my various writing projects. I like the two minute rule.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.