Writers logo

Keep Going Until I Make it Big

My aspiration for Vocal Media in 2024

By Gladys W. MuturiPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
Like
Keep Going Until I Make it Big
Photo by Fab Lentz on Unsplash

For the past six years since I have been on Vocal Media, I have published poetry, excerpt scripts, music critiques, film and TV critiques, biographies, celebrities, where are they now stories, true crime stories, personal stories, gadgets, tech, and history. Before I signed up on Vocal Media, I was unemployed and an aspiring writer trying to find a writing gig just to get my work to be noticed. I had completed my first play which had been unproduced and I was a stay-at-home single mother to my loving autistic son Xavier.

Read my article stories about my life with Xavier:

I have been trying to write like Buzzfeed, HuffPost, Poet Magazine, and other writing competitions unfortunately I have been denied or put on the waitlist. I had tried to submit my first play to every theatre and play competition yet again the same thing when I applied to write for Buzzfeed, HuffPost, and Poet. However, in 2018, the play was selected for the New York Theatre Winter Festival until I had to cancel due to financial issues, of course, like I said I'm a single mother I had no one to watch my son.

When I already signed up for Vocal, I didn't know what I wanted to write. I wasn't ready to share my life at the time so I wrote my first poem "We R Humans" (before Vocal Media accepted poems on the Poets communities page) I didn't have many readers reading my page, wasn't a Vocal Plus member and I was only making a penny. I kept writing more poems on Vocal nearly every day until I wanted to write reviews and critiques on films I watched. I made my first top story when I wrote a film critique on Netfilx's Cuties.

Here's my Critique on Cuties:

I kept writing on Vocal nearly twice a day to every day and I tend to do it every day or when I have a free period. I would read other creators' love poems and sometimes their personal stories just to read and gain interest in their stories. Other than stories, reviews, and poems I have written, I plan to write more stories about myself and Photography. Ever since I turned 25, I didn’t even think about marriage even though I had a child outside of my marriage I had lived my life very sheltered without the help of anybody except my mother. I hope to share my stories to inspire others who are in the same position as me or someone who has a friend who was the same way as me. I had already taken a photography class in high school before and I have always wanted to take incredible photogenic photos. I would want to explore from the outside and take photos of the forest, birds, animals, skies whether it rains or shines, and the whole atmosphere setting. I hope to keep writing no matter what on Vocal before I make it big. Other than writing for Vocal, I had dreams of being an actress, writer, producer, and filmmaker. I have produced short films, stage plays, and animations. I had acted in one gig but haven't done anything yet. I had started my own production company "GWM Entertainment" but haven't raised enough funding for my first project. I haven't gotten that far in my career. I had been working at my new job at &pizza making a little chump change and writing for Vocal to earn enough to make a living.

If I do make it big, I would love to invest in Vocal Media and get more writers young and old to sign up and write more to give them more experience. I'm not sure who will ever collaborate with me on Vocal but whoever has a beautiful idea or a story we can write together I wouldn't mind at all. Even if we work together in the future, we could publish a poetry book or a film for my production company (yes, we'll get credit). I had entered Vocal challenges before and I had never won but I would win runner-up for my poem "Confused Heart". If I won the challenge, I would save up, write more until I make enough, and then withdraw to fund my independent production company. I hope to impact Vocal by reading other creators' work, interacting and communicating with them, and writing more stories on and on even if readers like my stories or not or want me to stop. In closing, this year 2024, even though there are times that are hard and are going to get harder, or even if I lose I still keep going and never stop.

Wish me luck!

#200

AdviceWriter's BlockVocalShoutoutPublishingPromptsProcessLifeInspirationCommunityChallengeAchievements
Like

About the Creator

Gladys W. Muturi

Hello, My name is Gladys W. Muturi. I am an Actress, Writer, Filmmaker, Producer, and Mother of 1.

Instagram: @gladys_muturi95

Twitter: @gladys_muturi

Facebook: facebook.com/gladystheactress

YouTube: @gladys_muturi

patreon.com/gwmuturi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.