Writers logo

It's Been Great...

...But I'm returning to my personal blog

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 10 days ago 3 min read
It's Been Great...
Photo by Lorenz Hoffmann on Unsplash

Hello everyone!

If you have followed me for a while, you may have noticed that I have not been very active on Vocal this year. In this post, I will tell you (honestly) why.

I am tired of social media.

I am tired of being beholden to algorithms that hide quality content to surface negative and controversial posts, and, in the process, leave indie authors and artists in the dust.

I am tired of some people’s obsession over virality and the numbers game.

I am tired of having to read nasty comments from insecure users as soon as I (and others) have differing opinions and/or because we won’t accept the “poor artist” diktat.

Most of all, I am tired of the gatekeeping and divisive / controversial discourses that pop up everywhere. The “hot take” and “unpopular opinion” posts make me want to pull my hair out.

Call me old-fashioned, if you want. But I have been online for more than 20 years. I used to work in social media marketing as a coach, blogger, and curator. I wrote several books on the topic, as well as content for clients. I also interviewed major players in the social media game. So, trust me, I have spent more time observing behaviors online than most.

Up until the mid-2010s, I believed in the power of social networks. I kept telling indie authors and artists that a presence on platforms like Facebook or X would always be rewarding — provided, of course, that you had a solid strategy in place. Those who listened agreed.

Unfortunately, that is no longer the case. The good old days of genuine interactions, respectful debates, and mutual support are gone. Most creatives now feel invisible. They can get almost no traction, despite working hard to produce and share good content.

I am a multidisciplinary artist with a career spanning almost two decades. I may not be a household name but I have paid my dues. I have worked my butt off to be where I am. As such, I do not feel compelled to prove my worth on social networks. That is the reason why I have decided to close my Facebook Page and stop bothering with Instagram and TikTok. Right now, Threads and Bluesky are on probation. Cara does not offer anything new and may not last. The only platform that I truly enjoy is Mastodon.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy Vocal. I have met really nice, talented people—Mike Singleton, The Dani Writer, Judey Kalchik, Mackenzie Davis, Gina C., and Caitlin McColl. There is a lot of room for improvement, especially in the spam / AI department. A few important features are still sorely missing, such as post formatting. But the team seems willing to listen to feedback and implement changes.

While this is not a farewell — I may continue to post here occasionally — I have always deemed it more important to focus on my website. My blog is the only form of social media that cannot disappoint me because I decide what goes there. I fully own my content. There is no algorithm and I know who my subscribers are. I can ensure that they see my posts without having to pay to play.

So, my friends, this is my official invitation. If you are interested in continuing to see my posts and work, join me on my blog.

I have a newsletter. To subscribe to it, click below:

If you are looking for an opportunity to discuss your project or book, feel free to contact me via the submission form below:

I am also looking to start a new series on my blog in 2025. More information in the post below:

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

Cendrine

ShoutoutPublishingProcessLifeCommunity

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Madison Diaz9 days ago

    I agree with a lot of what's been said. Everything feels over-satured and meant to be curated in specific ways. It's really hard for people to notice you, even when they want to actively support you.

  • Babs Iverson9 days ago

    Sometimes the best things sour over time. Your authentic choices are highly respected!!! 💕❤️❤️

  • Rachel Deeming10 days ago

    Good luck, Cendrine. I have subscribed so I will still be able to read your stuff. Social media turns me off a bit too. I don't do as much as I used to.

  • Incisive, Insightful & Candid! You have my respect. I wish you good luck, though you do not need luck. You have skills! 😌

  • You have no idea how much your support and encouragement has meant to me, you are an incredible writer and an outstanding human, all the best and all the love to you

  • Turning points in our lives can be worrying but are also exciting. Congratulations on your decision to take a change in direction and thanks for sharing

  • Judey Kalchik 10 days ago

    I admire your well-considered approach to writing. Level headed and thoughtful! Glad to still be connected on 🧵

Cendrine MarrouatWritten by Cendrine Marrouat

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.