Writers logo

How do YOU Write?

Muses aside, can you write for a prompt easily?

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - September 2023
57
How do YOU Write?
Photo by Clark Young on Unsplash

There are so many unofficial challenges happening right now! Do you want a list of them? I suppose I should oblige...

In no particular order

...and I'm sure I'm missing some...

These got me thinking. How many of you find it easy to write for these challenges, in addition to the stories/poems/articles that you're passionate about?

In addition to the official challenges?

In addition to the AWARDS?

😱

I frequently look at the speed with which many of you post entries into these unofficial challenges and marvel. I can't do that, I think. There's a process! I must have an idea first, be inspired.

(Side note: What is "inspiration," really? Is it just an idea? Is it the passion + an idea? Is it completely externalized from you, as the writer, who is a conduit?)

Anyway...

Tell me your approach to these challenges, or to writing in general. Do you get inspiration for the prompts or do you find yourself writing about the first thing that came to mind? Are you passionate about these fun exercises, or are they more like a blip in your "real" writing for the day?

Art, surely "real writing" is art...? I wonder if I put too much precedence on what kind of writing is "real."

Said another way, I cannot write about anything. Sure, the skill for that to be true is there. I can write. Theoretically I can write about anything. Not in practice, however. Give me a prompt, any prompt, and I guarantee I'll have no excitement for the idea that springs to mind.

See, for me, ideas are like pitch meetings. You throw out what you think the editor wants to hear and alongside the 5 or so ideas you really would love to write about, you spit out 15 that match the trends, the editor's tastes, the magazine's mission, etc., and rarely, very rarely, will you get assigned a piece that you care one iota about.

But you have to make it work; that's your job.

Is that what writing is? To follow your ideas, no matter how well you can craft them, no matter your emotions?

(Seriously, is that what writing is? I'd love to hear your thoughts...)

With these unofficial challenges, I find myself loving the concepts. My imagination goes crazy. I see myself having fun...And then I just don't end up doing them. Some, I'm inspired by. But the majority? I kick myself for letting the deadlines pass, for seeing other writers' brilliance and thinking, I could have participated in that light.

So, I'm curious what it's like from your side. Yes you, whoever you are, reading this right now.

What kind of writer are you?

Some of this has to come from style and taste.

Take me for instance. I want to write in other genres, like horror and fantasy, and sometimes, I can touch the edges of them. The challenges are great for stretching my comfort zone, but I can't be satisfied with my work when I'm uninspired and the muses are silent.

I write literary fiction, literary poetry. That is to say, the focus in "literary" anything, is on characters and emotions before plot. Plot might not even factor into the piece at all.

A LOT of challenges are best suited for genre fiction or genre poetry, where conventions rule, plot takes precedence, and a world can sweep you away.

I can't write like that on demand. I have to sit with drafts for weeks, experimenting, researching, failing, and giving up, only to try a new idea again and repeat the process.

Often, I'll try to make a challenge fit my style. But then, there are those that fly in the face of my capacities. These can be really interesting, though! And I'm left either kicking myself or trying and hating my attempts, over and over.

Are you the kind of writer that can just manifest their ideas, and quickly? Are you the unicorn?

These challenges are a wonderful community-bridging attempt, and they are successful! They bring so many people together in the pursuit of art for art's sake, and for fun. So...

...this isn't to say that I must participate; of course it's all voluntary. (Otherwise, what would be the point?)

What it is to say, is rather, to ask:

How do YOU write? I'd like to know.

And now, for the challenge...

-

-

Just kidding.

ProcessInspirationAdvice
57

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (40)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Love the idea of seeing how people go through their own process! Definitely agree with a lot of this- the waiting for the ‘right’ idea, how some Challenges don’t appeal at all, and about whether it’s best to write to a prompt, or off an idea. I guess it’s all a subjective mess! I think the constraints for lots of these challenges are great, because they make people think; less words, particular genre, this style or format. I guess they make our overall writing/way with words better, so that when we go to write the things we reeeally want to, that’s better than it might have been?

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    I love prompts but don't necessarily need them to become motivated to write. However, they do account for a ton of excitement and inspiration. I have entered quite a few of the unofficial challenges and am happy that I did. They've spawned stories I would have never written otherwise. My process is a simple recipe. 70% Imagination, 10% Reasearch, 20% Outlining. I then do the hard part, writing. This is not for every story, just a basic idea. I'd like to think I can write about anything, but not everything interests me. If I had your vocabulary knowledge, I think I would be ready to write a book. I'm constantly adding new words to my train of thought. This is one of the reasons I was so interested in in reading your "teach me a word" article. Thank you for crafting another thought provoking read! 💖

  • JBaz8 months ago

    I use prompts a practicing tool. It makes me think on something I may never have considered trying to write. It also keeps me humble, when I see all the great work that came from the challenges. Ultimately I still write in my own style, but find myself including aspects from one or more. Congratulations

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    Prompts always interest me, yet I struggle to create my own concept. I overthink based on others submission or just like failing to understand the point of the prompt. This is something I'm always eager to improve upon :)

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    This is a great question, Mackenzie. I find it difficult to write on demand unless the prompt touches on something I've been thinking about or an idea that has been percolating for me. I like to write fiction that has some kind of emotional draw to it. So it can be difficult and takes time to get it right. It can be so rewarding when you hit that magical zone where the characters take over and the story almost writes itself.

  • Andrew Zuk8 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story,

  • Aaliyah Madison8 months ago

    Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Ibinabo Brown 8 months ago

    Nice

  • Christian Lee8 months ago

    Interesting direction with this story. I'm random. I wrote two memoirs in the past, both eternal manuscripts; the first incessant, the other, more organized, but not cohesive and market-qualified. I also wrote countless poems in my 20s. These days, I write whatever comes to mind. My imagination isn't as fiery as my 20s. That may be due to my personal life and psychological complications from life experience. However, the recent Vocal challenges have sparked me to consider reading a lot more again (it's totally happening). On the other end, I feel as you with the issue of meeting a deadline because I need to research, fail, continuously write, and revise. Seems like it's a matter of phases, where we all are mentally in this breathing orb. Later. ;)

  • Thank you for the mention in this post! And congratulations on the Top Story! ❤️

  • The challenges can be fun and some I enjoy. I did the James and Oneg challenge ,- that was fun!!!

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Congrats on top story Mackenzie!! This was really interesting. That list of current unofficial challenges is super useful. I have a million ideas for novels but not enough time to write them, a good amount of ideas for poems but never any ideas for short stories and I’ve been told they’re my strong suit which is pretty frustrating 😂 I’ve stopped entering the official challenges unless I’m really interested and inspired by them otherwise I end up hating what I’ve written and instantly wanting to delete it😂

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    This is good. I think I can say that I entered a few of these contests because they sparked something in me that I did not know was actually there. I find it easier to respond to a situation that speaks to me personally than one that is open just because of popularity (you might notice that I do not write a lot of fantasy or science-fiction on my page, but I love the occasional smart-ass haiku or limerick). Not a unicorn; something far more domestic... ;)

  • Bugsy Watts8 months ago

    Gah, I'm so glad you asked this question! I struggle to produce content and I always thought it was because I am a perfectionist but now I'm reconsidering the reasons. I think passion is incredibly important in writing (and in life) but I think purpose is even more important. Writing to prompts can be fun and occasionally stretching different creative muscles is great for you, but ultimately, is writing for the sake of writing worth anything? I've realized there's nothing wrong with waiting for a little inspiration or only participating when I feel a spark (and often prompts will light the fire!). Essentially, I've learned to stop comparing and work on what I know I'm meant to say. My writing will find the right audience, even if I'm the only one reading it lol. Also, thinking is definitely part of the writing process. Stories swirl around in my head long before they meet the page and there's ain't nothing wrong with that :)

  • Kenneth Lawson8 months ago

    As a Pantser, I literally have no idea what I'm writing when I start. I usually have a prompt picture to work from. Sometimes the picture or an element of the picture makes it into the story, just enough to connect the two. Sometimes the whole story is based on the picture. For me, the key to unlocking a story is the Opening Line. I usually like short sentences or two sentences that almost read as one sentence. From there I see where it goes, Sometimes I run out of stream/story before I get very far. Then I just start over and keep trying until I get one that works and I can build a story from it. I've had months where it took me 3-4 tries before I got a story that worked. Sometimes I get really lucky and get a really good story the first time. I rarely know what genre a story will be when I start. The story last month was a Westren, I set out to write a Westren at that time and wrote one. But most of the time., I just tell whatever story comes out, and figure out the title and genre to put in as an afterthought. Sometimes they're a cross of genres or don't fit neatly into any one genre. As for writing challenges, I could do that without much problem most of the time, But I don't have the time to spend on them.

  • Brin J.8 months ago

    I'm absolutely loving these comments! Everyone is participating and expressing useful and honest information. As for me, prompts aren't always my best friend. Like the "Chapters" challenge that just ended, I wasn't going to participate. I don't like to talk about my personal story, especially where it'll stay on the internet forever. I stay far away from those kinds of things. But I submitted an entry anyway because it's on my resumé, so it wasn't like I was revealing anything private. If you read it, though, you'll see there's a slight detachment in my voice. Almost forced. I just didn't have the excitement going in as I do when writing poetry or fiction. And the unofficial challenges- between work and trying to finish my book, I don't have energy to spare😭. I barely make deadlines for Vocal's challenges.

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    This is so interesting. Now, I like the challenges because the challenge, for me, is to write on demand. And I tend not to ponder to long. Time is not always a luxury, so when I see a gap I can use, I tend to just sit down and get my head into it. My first draft usually is not far off my last draft. But I kind of like that. That kind of performance to demand. First, it stretches me, makes me do things I wouldn't, but also, it takes the pressure right off. This doesn't have to be perfect, this is and experiment, a game. I wrote a piece in 25 minutes the other day, in response to a community challenge to write in one sitting with no edits, and loved just flowing through it - this is it, I just get to do the fun part and walk away! I've never done a writing class or anything of that I'll, perhaps I find it a little intimidating to think about what it's "supposed" to be. So while, obviously, I want to write something beautiful, writing on demand is liberating and playful and takes away the angst.

  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    I Enjoyed reading about your process. Similarly, I write from inspiration and very often bypass challenges for that reason. I think the alien challenge was a good example. I was inspired right away to write about my dog, but it was over a week before I could figure out how. Then today out of nowhere someone was talking about radio waves in space and my inspiration level went super nova, allowing me the opportunity to submit another one. I have been writing for many years and my process is, listening to my thoughts, the thoughts of others, messaging notes to myself on Facebook, and then later working on them. When a challenge arises, I return to those notes and sometimes I get luckly, but usually there's not much to go on. I have found the challenges to be an invigorating break from the norm, an opportunity to write something short that really challenges my skill. Usually I don't make it in time, but I always go back and finish, then publish them. I guess I feel that if it was worth trying, it's worth writing and if it worth writing, it's worth publishing. Thank you for publishing this and congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Great topic. I find I can usually write about anything, but there is a significant difference between my "inspired" writing and my "uninspired" writing. I have entered a few contests. Sometimes, the topic inspires me, and sometimes, it does not. I no longer even consider contests just to "chase the prize". That kind of uninspired writing could never win for me anyway. Like you, I am often in awe of the volume (and quality) some writers are able to produce. I am a relatively fast writer, but I am a very slow, deliberate editor. I actually enjoy the process of re-writing, editing, re-reading, and re-writing again. It is almost therapeutic for me. I love the Challenges, both official and unofficial. I try to read and comment on others' work and celebrate their achievements, but I don't feel obligated to participate in the Challenges, instead focusing my writing energy and the little available time I have on projects I am more passionate about.

  • I really enjoyed this. You ask a lot of good questions here. But I will say, I think whatever feels right to you must be right. Everyone is different so whatever feels like the path you should take would be the correct path for you. For me, if I see an official challenge or an unofficial challenge, and I get inspiration and have an idea, then I have to do it. Because I become passionate about it. But I do freelance writing on top of my regular job and they’re hit or miss assignments being something I’m interested in. So I try not to waste my own time to write my own stuff for things I am not passionate about. Or if I can’t come up with an idea that I’m too jazzed about. And I always have my own works I am writing… so if something comes along… I have to want to do it or have to have a GREAT idea. I don’t really have a time limit, but I think I know in my head, if I read about a challenge and I can’t come up with a good idea in “X amount of time or days” I figure it’s time to move on. That’s how I work. Sounds like you might be similar? I’d say if you can’t come up with an idea don’t stress over that… that means it didn’t quite hit the right nerve… you’d be better served spending your time on something else. But if it hits the right nerve then you have to do it. But great piece here and congrats on top story!

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    I actually wrote an article about inspiration if you'd like to read it. As for "How do (I) write"? That's a curious question because it changes for every story. My inspiration and what is needed for me to create each piece is completely different. Generally I get the ghost of an idea and write it out, then I fall deeper into that hole and now I have the beginning of a story that could take me a day, a week, or months to write. Sometimes it's a drag, sometimes it's easy, sometimes its 300 words a day (including trashing and rewrites) for weeks until I get something I can even start polishing. Maybe I'll write an article about it

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Interesting question. I guess I'm in the "depends on the day" camp. I get inspiration from challenge prompts if they appeal to me. I'm particularly enjoying the community challenges because they're focused more on writing for the sake of writing, rather than a big prize. That said, I always have ideas running around in my head and sometimes I just decide to follow up on one of them. Also, I think this is probably obvious, but most of the time I'll lean toward the humorous side of things. I've been known to step out of that box on occasion and I plan to try a bit more of that.

  • Tressa Rose8 months ago

    I tried to start a challenge but it didn't get picked up unfortunately haha

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Mackenzie, I love this! I find it easier to write for some prompts/ challenges more than others! I also am like you and have a process I like to follow! For me inspiration is having one of those Ah-Ha moments that generated a bigger idea and I go from there! I also like to go for originality, for example if it’s a fairytale challenge and there are 3 stories about red ridding hood then even if I have a good idea for it. I won’t write about it! I think writing is following a prompt/ idea that you are passionate about and willing to uncover a journey for yourself. I struggle with forcing myself to do anything, it often ends in a long stand off with myself! (Don’t worry I always win 😜) I can’t write about just anything, I have to be passionate about it and feel the drive to complete the story! Love how insightful and thought provoking this piece is! Great work!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.