Writers logo

Houses

A reminder of potential

By TaliPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1

I often feel like a house

Houses have thick walls

Painted in different colors

To suit the different people that see them

Houses go through change, a lot of it

To fit the times, and fit the people

They have eye sores

Imperfections that you choose to live with or fix

If you’re lucky you get to enjoy

The sunlight peaking through dirty windows

It brings a warmth just like a needed hug

Houses require maintenance

Picking up the living room

Where people come together

But leaving the bedroom as is

Your personal space

That only you see

I moved more than most kids I knew growing up

I experienced a lot of change, quite often

Home was really never a house, but the people I loved, and that loved me.

My home is myself.

It’s my wonderful relationship. It’s my parents and my siblings and my friends and my cats.

I’m enjoying the sunlight through my dirty windows

I’m repainting my walls to the color of my liking

I’m fixing the small, ignored eye sores

Not for the people that notice them

But for the one who they belong to

I often feel like a house

Houses have endless potential

They offer protection from the outside world

Sometimes they’re neglected

And sometimes they’re transformed

I feel myself in a phase of transformation

Small, but mighty changes

Restructuring

I find so much beauty and comfort

From inside

I feel as if goodness is seeping out from the woodwork

I feel good change coming

This house has potential

Inspiration
1

About the Creator

Tali

Embracing all of life - Connecting to nature - Letting myself feel anything and everything - Truly finding the beauty in the ordinary.

Student at British College of Interior Design

Insta: @tali_hull

-Michigan 🌳

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.