Writers logo

Good-Big!

Here's why I dropped off the earth for a while...

By L.C. SchäferPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - November 2023
57
Good-Big!
Photo by Elisha Terada on Unsplash

Boo! I'm here!

I know, I've been right quiet, haven't I!

I know I mentioned recently that I was not able to be around as much because something big was happening - good big, not bad big.

I can see the spine! I can see the spine!

I know a few people know, and probably some people might have guessed, I guess...

I wrote a book.

Surpriiiiiise, amirite?

This is not a drill.

No ads, please, we're British

More importantly, this is not an advert.

I hate being advertised at, so I'm not going to do it here. If you're a V+ member, you're PAYING to be here, and that should mean the lofty privilege of not having to look at bloody ads.

I'm not going to ask you to buy it, I'm not going to link to it, or share a picture of it. I'm not even going to tell you what it's called. That's not what this is. No solicitation, just excitation and appreciation. I just wanted to share the news, before I explode of it.

I dip my toe in Twitter (I'm going to call it that forever, I don't care) occasionally. It is wall to wall with excited scribblers like me showing off their release. Thousands upon thousands upon thousands... There is no faster way to puncture your ink-bloated ego, than to be slammed with the reality of just how vast the ocean of us is. So many unique, identical droplets vying for attention. If each were a snowflake, you could be buried under an avalanche of us.

I don't want to be that guy.

Thank you

I also wanted to say thank you! Should you track down this maniacal scribbling, you will see that you get thanked collectively there as well. All the same, I wanted to do it here. Where you can see the well-earned thank you without spending any money first. As is proper, for a thank you.

Thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you a million times thank you!

For your support, your eyes, your ha'pennies, your feedback, your thoughtful comments. For being a space that, just by existing, encourages me to do the thing, and keep doing the thing. Motivation. Accountability. The occasional blowing of smoke up my rectum, like a tightly wound elastic band to power my little pen. All of it. Most of all, thank you for giving me room to be a bit shit, so I could get better.

Some details

It isn't out quite yet, but release is imminent. I fully expected it to be this week, to be honest. I am checking my email obsessively for an update. (I've grown some new appreciation for that word!) I'll keep you posted.

I am nervous. About all sorts of things. About the personal stuff that leaked out when I wasn't paying attention. About decisions I made (should I have cut that bit? Should I have dropped that character, changed that sentence, used that apostrophe?)

Mostly, I am nervous about typos. I've been over it and over it and over it, until I really was over it... I took that fine-toothed comb to it until I hated every crumb and comma of it. (Of course I wasn't the only one.) But it'll go to print and... oopsies, missed one!

I've already started on the next scribbling.

Here's to many more pages of being a bit less shit. PROST!

+ + + + + + + + + + + +

Thanks again! And, as always, thank you for reading. I do my level best to reciprocate as much as I possibly can, so please do leave a comment to make that a bit easier!

If you, too, have done some scribbling, and pushed your scribble off the branch and out into the world... Well, firstly, well done you! I know what that takes, so I really mean that wholeheartedly. Secondly - what's it called? When did you do it? What's it about? TELL ME ABOUT IT DAMN IT! Feel free to include a link (not just a link, please 👍)

AchievementsPublishing
57

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (46)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen A. Roddewig8 days ago

    - Book is read ✅ - Reviews are submitted on Amazon AND Goodreads (bonus) ✅ - Review with additional context and CTAs deployed to Vocal (https://vocal.media/bookclub/glass-dolls-by-l-c-schaefer-a-review) ✅ I think we're about done here. Some good stuff in there 😁

  • Latest book customer reporting in 🫡 Background: I read another book by another Vocal creator recently and am now interested to compare execution. Plus, my absolute favorite author just put out his 6th book in the Vietnam War series and it felt silly to ship one book only. Perhaps there will be synergy in subject matter!

  • Great work. Congratulations on the new book ! 🎉

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Oi! Just to let you know, I've bought your opus and will provide a review on the Amazon and on here in due time :) I mean, in BookClub!

  • Teresa Renton6 months ago

    A book! How cool are you? Well done and congratulations for both book and TS 🥳 Now I won’t speak to you again if you don’t tell us about your book 😂. How else can we buy it? 🤷‍♀️ xx

  • Brenton F6 months ago

    Congratulations are in order for your pending publication and this TS! Bloody good one!

  • Laura Lann6 months ago

    Just started sending my first to publishers, I understand how scary it is! Congratulations 🎊 👏 You did something very few get to and it's something to be very proud of!

  • Jackson Gitau6 months ago

    Schafer, you either echo us or we echo you. its been months of kwowingly a bang is inevitable though quietly but aware. love this journey

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    I love this post of yours!! It's funny and relatable and such a great bit of scribbling that shows off you as a person!! Happy to see you are back and not only that, you've been kicking ass! Congrats on your roll you've been on with success!! Congrats on the book, congrats on placing in the Vocal awards and congrats on this Top Story!!! Happy to see you flying so high!!

  • Test6 months ago

    Congratulations on achieving top story status!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    Congratulations on your success and your growth as a writer 📑 well done 👍

  • Erica Wagner6 months ago

    Congratulations! Thanks for sharing your joy with us!

  • Awesome I'm really happy for you. I Wish your book all the success in the world. I hope it takes off like Harry Potter. Also, I will always call it Twitter too X is such a stupid name and I miss the bird. The bird was iconic.

  • Phil Flannery6 months ago

    Well done you. Good luck with getting it out there and congrats on top story.

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Congrats on this good big news getting Top Story!

  • Test6 months ago

    This is brilliant news! Congratulations! 🤍

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Well tell us how to hunt it down! I know you use pen names, so at least give us a clue as to what name you published it under!! Congratulations, LC! I am so excited for you and I really want to buy your book. I hope this means you'll be back publishing here more often (perhaps one on the book publishing process??). During your hiatus, I actually went through my subscription list a couple times to make sure you were there!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Congratulations. You finished what I am still struggling on….darn editing. Way to go

  • Congratulations on fishing your book! So exciting, I can only imagine the jitters and giddiness of it all. Can't wait to find out about it!

  • Ayyyy, welcome back and congratulations on your book! Did you go through a traditional publisher or did you self-publish it? And please, I would love to know what it's called and what it's about 🥺

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    Good work! And boo to you, too!

  • That is exciting and congratulations! That is such a feat! Make sure to celebrate properly because it is a huge milestone. But glad to hear you’ve been working hard on other projects. I had recently completed a manuscript, but it isn’t out anywhere, looking for interest. But I know the amount of work it takes to just write something of that magnitude, let alone everything else that goes along with writing. So truly congrats! And what timing, at the same time as you coming in first in the fantasy category of the Vocal Awards! Double congrats for that!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.