Writers logo

For the love of Maya

A Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 5 months ago 4 min read
1
For the love of Maya
Photo by Abdul Gani M on Unsplash

It's the Summer of the late1960's era, when I attended class at Brockman College. I was young. I was smart. I was in love. Every course in school got deeper and deeper. I got more into my courses. I wanted to learn. I wanted to be something. But Cindy was there too, she was lovely. She was special and she was funny. I was in love. I couldn't stop laughing around her. Ahh Cindy Kelly, I wondered if she liked me. I wondered if she notice me in class. I wanted to be with her. I wanted her more and more each day. But who would want to be Mrs. Dave Bankee. Why couldn't my parents give me a romantic name like Sted or Marvin. I had to be named Dave. I eventually worked my way around it. I got into the notion that if I be the smartest then the right woman would come along and be mines. Ever since I was 13, I knew I wanted to get married and have children. But I knew that I had to be something, Momma said you have to be the smartest. And Dad said you have do your best. I took my parents' advice seriously as an only child. My mother was preparing me for the woman of my dreams. My father was telling me how to be the man I wanted to be. And now I am in college after passing basic education with flying colors as the old saying says. I never had time for girls. I never had time to be popular. Even in elementary, the most popular girl wanted me to be her boyfriend however I let her down gently blaming my mother. And in middle school when I made straight A's and was lifting weights. Mom said I could have a girlfriend. I did see this hot German American girl in middle school and she had a Coca-Cola bottle shape. I would pay attention in class. But she was definitely a distraction especially when she stretch in my view just about every week. A lot of guys liked her and it got so bad that a group of boys were gonna come after her. I became her best friend, risk my life for her. And I said If you touch her I will beat you. The group of boys left and she hug and kiss me. However her parents thank me and moved her to another school. Then in high school, I was so smart that I was tutoring other students in math and chemistry. I met this beautiful Hispanic girl, she could sure enough wear a beautiful outfit. She was one aisle away from me. And she was my fantasy. She finally worked with me. And I told her my secret to Chemistry that it is just like cooking. And she passed and I was in the Top Ten Percent of Chemistry in the whole county.

Anyways at Brockman College and in love with Cindy, Cindy Kelly. She was like all those women wrapped into one. Pretty and smart and cute, everything a guy could dream of. I tried several times to ask her out but nothing seems to work. She just treat me like a little friend. Then luck happen. I got into a course that she was taking. It was Contemporary Black Women. Like Etta James' song, At Last seems to play in my head, and Cindy didn't know anyone except me. And she sat right by me, nothing like seeing your love everyday. I tried to raise my hand and ask questions. I tried to look smart in class. But somehow that guy from Nigeria was beating me, he was the teacher's favorite. He was tall and smart. Two things I wish Cindy would see in me. After weeks and weeks, another chance of luck, Cindy and I worked on a book project. I Know Why the Caged Bird sing by Maya Angelou. I looked at the book and was overwhelmed. And then I read about the author and almost lost my mind. How could I get it on with Cindy reading Angelou? So Cindy suggested that I read the book on my own and she would read it on her own. Then we will meet at Dunkin Donuts to share her take from the book to create a good project. So I read hours in, taking time away from work. I read passed ten pages in like a minute, then hours and hours. I could not stop smiling. I started thinking she Maya Angelou really is a wonderful woman and smart and so strong. Then hours in, she made me laugh so hard I rolled, her insight, her wisdom, her guidance. And the end, I was sad and wanted more and more. Then finally I met up with Cindy at Dunkin Donuts, Cindy was lovely, she was like the French say a visage. And she was wonderful distraction, everything about her. I was daydreaming and fantasying at the same time. What I got out of Cindy's expressions and her talkativity is that she really liked the book too. So Cindy asked me if I love the book. I went on and on about the parts I liked. I smiled uncontrollably and I kept calling Maya Angelou, the doctor. Then I told her what I thought about Maya Angelou and women in general. And Cindy just stared and gently smiled. Cindy shouted abruptly "Dave will you be my boyfriend?" I exclaimed "Maya I love you. I mean Cindy Cindy Kelly you don't know how long I wanted to hear that. Yes if you be my closest friend." And Cindy hugged Dave while Dave kissed her cheek.

Advice
1

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Linda Rivenbark5 months ago

    Beautiful, heart-warming story of growing up and young love. I am glad you and Cindy got to share a project about a book by Maya Angelou. She was an amazing writer and human being

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.