Writers logo

Fleeting #2 My Love is a Veil

Reflection

By SchmalzPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1
Fleeting #2 My Love is a Veil
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

My first piece on vocal was just a little over a year ago. A poem that I think still encapsulates my thoughts and values towards love but lacked any form or style to it. I certainly wouldn't write that now I have found some form and added flare to my writing but I certainly find my word choice and detail have improved noticeably. Writing has been a journey for me and fleeting showcases the journey. A love that comes and turns to words to melt away from the mind into creation. Beginning as a writer was quite terrifying for me and accepting it as part of my personality was a struggling process and now I'm sure Fleeting was only the seed of a grand passion.

Things come and things go just like people and the whole process starts over again. Each blank page a spontaneous trail I've yet to walk down and I'll follow my heart the whole way down. I've found I far enjoy letting the story emerge as I'm writing rather than planning each step with the end in mind, I want to be taking on as much of a journey as I'm taking the reader on.

I also want to highlight how far I've come on the journey of writing making me a more courageous person, because the thought of publishing a short story or working on a novel used to terrify me into freezing the whole process and though I haven't published a lot in the fiction category it continues to be a place for me to put my words to the test. An ever growing process that is reaching for the heights and trudging along through the mud.

Ultimately my love for words since joining vocal has only increased with each poem or story I write. A soothing catharsis lies beyond the words that appear on the screen. I only hope to continue using the art of the word to provide whatever my spirit needs at the time I am writing like the fleeting nature in all things my dedication to the art is filled with and comes from a place of a love that doesn't seem to drift away. The love in each word I right continues to push me and improve my craft.

The stories change as I change and roll along. Following the fleeting interest but the passion is permanent. Starting my writing journey on vocal will be a mission I will not only not regret but love each and every part of. The words can take me places my mind otherwise wouldn't travel; through the darkest valley to every mountain peak the words do not belong to me and some are not mine to write.

Each story is a veil never meant to hide but to reveal. A woman who was quite deserving of love was the purpose behind Fleeting. She danced in and out of my life on the 4th of July. And as Stendhal preaches, "Love is like a fever which comes and goes quite independently of the will." So here I sit tonight as a passionate man dealing with a heartache unlike any I've experienced before. But the thought of Fleeting and the words in each story provide me with a beauty that redeems, ennobles, and saves and to have known such a joy, bleeds into each and every word. Fleeting was a moment in time a year ago and now I'm reminded once more that love does not always require possession and may my words even if gritty be fueled by the flame of love. The power of beauty overcomes it all.

Inspiration
1

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C.S LEWIS8 months ago

    Nice story you can also read the one I have prepared for you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.