Writers logo

Dealing With Not Being 100%

Yesterday Was An Oddly Bad Day

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author

Introduction

As you know I tend to publish something on Vocal most days. My friend Call Me Les says if I don't publish something and share pictures of cats there is something wrong in the world.

Yesterday I was finding it difficult to walk, my breathing was laboured, and carrying the lightest item was an actual strain. I was thinking that I may have to get myself to the doctor. When I got home I wanted to just get into bed and sleep.

This feeling went on and I watched some television, although about nine o'clock I started to feel a little better, but I was still tired and took an early night.

So What Did I Learn From This

When I walk I normally get inspiration for my writing but yesterday that wasn't happening because my mind was occupied by just how I was feeling, and what could I do about it. I wanted to write something and had some basic ideas, but those things were being pushed to the bottom of my able-to-do list.

I reckon this is how people feel when they say they have writer's block. It's like the taps are dry and there is just no way that you can even put together a sentence.

I had high-level ideas but they were just titles, I did not know how I could actually write an article.

There is a Vocal Critique Challenge which only requires fifty words, but part of me rails against multiple entries into short-form challenges although I have already entered three stories and I think that is too many, but that is just me, I don't judge others unless they actually need judging.

The fact that I am writing this piece shows that I am back to normal.

I do think that when you are physically run down, or hurt then that really can affect your creativity. You do need to take time to recharge yourself, usually by resting and doing something that does not take much effort.

Yesterday it was simply me watching a few episodes of "Supernatural", "The Righteous Gemstones" and "Have I Got News For You", that relaxed me and allowed me to just rest and really do nothing.

Around nine o'clock at night, I checked on Facebook and Vocal and noticed that there were some responses to my "One Word Poem" story then I thought, I could collect these and create a new Vocal story without too much effort, just write an introduction and then share the responses.

So that's what I did and that was my only published item yesterday, maybe it didn't take too much effort, but I did it while not feeling 100%.

This morning I had more responses to add to it and it is becoming an evolving piece. Though I say it myself, I think I am good at coming up with original ideas, Someone once told me that "Self Recommendation Is No Recommendation At All" so I hope that others see me as I see myself.

Today I have three pieces in train including this one. This may be the only one I publish, but the others will be published at some point.

Conclusion

If you want to create but are under the weather or don't feel well, take a rest and recuperate, and let TV, Music, or books help you recover, and possibly respark your creativity.

Yesterday I felt I could do nothing, today I am back on track.

If you ever feel like this, I am here if you want to drop me a line.

Don't be discouraged, there is always a way to get yourself back on track, and never think that you can't ask for help, there will always be someone there for you

I included the song "Family" by Spirit because my Vocal Family are always there for me and I am there for them.

Writer's BlockProcessLifeCommunityChallengeAdvice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    I think people forget that the brain is a simple organ too. It can be so busy controlling the immune system that there's so space left for creative thought! Love the encouraging way you wrote this!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I couldn’t agree more! My body tells me when I need to slow down, and I listen. Inspiration will strike if I’m making sure to take care of myself. I’m glad you took the time to rest.

  • Oh I'm so glad you took time off to rest and that you're back to normal now!

  • Sound counsel. Sorry you were under it yesterday. Glad you're feeling better. I go to the doctor tomorrow for a follow up on my newly diagnosed diabetes. Hopefully, I can get what appears to be a sinus infection (on top of allergies, asthma & restricted breathing/congenitally small lungs), taken care of at the same time.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Yeah, sometimes we just need to rest.

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Glad you’re writing again!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I agree 100% to your conclusion: Rest. Mike Please take good care of yourself. You are an important person to us 🥰

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    So happy that you're feeling better! Thx for the awesome advice!

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Mike, I’m so glad you are feeling much better and back in the swing! 😊

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    Same sentiments, I’m glad you are better today 🙏✨ The body always tells us when we need to adjust how we are treating it 🤍 take good care, we all enjoy your company greatly!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    So glad to hear you’re feeling better, Mike. 💖

  • Manisha Dhalani10 months ago

    Thank you for this reminder that writers aren't alone in this journey. Glad you're out of your slump.

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Glad you're feeling better.

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.