Writers logo

Day 8: Writing Challenge, “Who”

Prompts are cyclist, ballerina and puppy

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a month ago 4 min read
8
Day 8: Writing Challenge, “Who”
Photo by Dmitriy Frantsev on Unsplash

This challenge is meant to help me to be a lyricist. I was introduced by KJ Aartila, to this challenge. Her inspiration is Pat Pattison’s book “SONG-WRITING WITHOUT BOUNDARIES”. I ordered the book and started this challenge.

The picture above is for the 5-minute timed writing. When I typed in cyclist this was the one I chose.

It’s day eight today, we started day seven with “Who” writing. It is good to make small changes to keep from getting bored!

The focus is being timed and the idea is to include as many of these as I can; sight, sound, taste, touch, smell, body, motion!

Remember that the timer can go off in the middle of a sentence, or word. Please complete it the best you can using your own thoughts! Thank you.

This is day eight prompts:

Timed for 5 minutes: Cyclist.

As children, my siblings and I were always on our bikes. We took them to the park to play ball, to the river to fish and swim, to the lake, to the store. Everywhere.

Later, I started riding a motorcycle and bikes were pretty much out of my life. I was never considered a cyclist, nor was most people I knew. A few years ago, my brother and his wife bought bikes with motors to cycle on the trails through the woods in Northern Minnesota.

They love it and I have looked at a few. Not that I would buy one in the shape I am in, but I thought it would be fun, until my brother reminded me that you still peddle.

Okay, maybe not.

I have never gone to watch cyclists. I was listening to someone talk about that one day and how there is a lead cyclist and when they tire, someone else takes the lead. It reminded me of geese. I thought that sounded cool. That is the extent of my knowledge of cycles, and it isn’t much.

So, cyclist’s look good, almost always thin…

Timed for 10 minutes: Ballerina.

I know very little about ballerinas. I know they like to dance. I know it can be painful. I heard one say that you have to dance even when injured. I heard another say it takes serious discipline to be a great ballerina. I can’t imagine.

The practice, the intentional work out while injured. I don’t like pain. I sure wouldn’t want to suffer in order to perform.

No, it wouldn’t be for me. I don’t even really like to dance. I have danced, but I know I’m not any good, nor can I see myself dancing anymore. Maybe with lessons, however, I have no interest. Someone said their exercise is dancing around the house. Maybe that!

If I wasn’t so clumsy now as an older woman, maybe. I can’t have throw rugs on my floor, or I am tripping on them. I am not picking my feet up enough to dance without falling. Okay, it probably isn’t that bad. Or maybe it is. Maybe it is worse. I can imagine a video of me trying to dance. Pitiful!

Yes, I said pitiful. How I admire the beauty and grace of the ballerina. I used to think that is why they are so slim. I thought they were tall too and it was just that they are on their toes that makes them look so tall.

I love little ballerinas. My granddaughter’s dance recital was great! They were all so cute and the younger the better. They were beautiful and the one’s that just stood there while the others were following the moves of the lead may have been the cutest.

There were some that looked like they were moving in slow motion and would get distracted and start to move away from the group and a teacher or student would come in and redirect them. Now that was so much fun. We clapped wildly for the young dancers.

The oldest were outstanding and you wonder how they could have been one of the little ones at one time! So much difference from age 4 to 16. I will watch my granddaughter at her recital every year as long as she is involved. It has been two years now.

She is both a tap dancer and a ballerina...

Timed for 90 seconds: Puppy.

A puppy is the cutest! So loveable, cuddly and adorable! Now, imagine being allergic to those cute little critters! Yes, I am allergic, and it makes me sick to my stomach. Both the allergy and the idea of not being able to cuddle up with one of those cuties!

Now that I am older I would love one to cuddle!

~~~~~~~~

First published by Penny Press on medium.com

PromptsWriting ExerciseLifeChallenge
8

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit.14 days ago

    Great job congratulations

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    A ballerina is definitely not for me. I'm stiff as a stick and I don't like pain either, lol. Loved all your stories!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Timing is not my strong suit. I think I'd freeze up from the pressure, but you did a really good job of expressing yourself and painting those pictures.

  • “M”about a month ago

    Great job

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    Good work. This seems almost to describe all those free writing exercises we did in English courses.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.