Writers logo

Decluttering

My 28-day reboot or was it bootcamp?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Decluttering
Photo by Hayley Maxwell on Unsplash

It was the perfect time to continue with the program. I had signed up for Organize Like a Boss (OLAB) over the last few years. A five-day program for decluttering. Many things had stuck! Then another and even another. Free!

One I didn't do the whole thing as I scheduled it and then couldn't follow through as I wasn't home. It was okay as it didn't cost me anything.

Then, I signed up for the 28-day reboot for March of 2024. I am in week four as I write this. This time I was ready, and even though I knew I would miss half of one of the weeks, I was still hoping to get it done. I didn't get much done in week three, but something is better than nothing.

The biggest surprise of that week was that my hubby cleaned the fireplace mantel as I requested. I was telling hubby about my having to miss most of that week as I would be working out of town, and I asked him to step in for me thinking he wouldn't want to.

He just laughed and then he did it! What a great surprise. He cleaned the fireplace mantel off.

He did a great job. He dusted, organized the photos, and took some things off the mantel that needed to go elsewhere and he put together a small pile of photos for me to take care of. He cleaned the mirror that hadn't been cleaned in a very long time.

When I told him I had signed up for a month at a time, there was no objection from him. I was shocked! He then said, "I have never seen anything like it!!" I said, oh, so you noticed! He looked at me like I was crazy!

I guess it shows! And I don't feel like I have been overworked in the least. Yes, there is much more to do. I have not been able to get much done on my own, so having the encouragement and support of a program is exactly what I needed.

In week one, I cleaned out the utensil drawer and after taking out all of the items in the drawer, the bottom of the drawer was covered in bread bag ties. Not mine. He quickly came with a small box to collect all the ties he could fit in the box.

Rubix cube box full of bread bag ties - authors photo

That was so much fun as he had enough bread bag ties to fill 3 or 4 boxes that size. I'm not sure what he uses them for. As with every bread bag, there is a tie.

I decided I would probably not show him any other spaces I clean out as if there is his stuff or stuff he would use then he may be looking for a place for them.

He did take a full container of heavy-duty bags out to the shed for his use. I am not sure how many years they were taking up space in my recycle bin.

For the 28-day reboot, I was expecting a boot camp of sorts. Go until you drop and then go some more. My grandson explained boot camp by saying, "You learn and you do if you don't want the Sarge stepping on your head or back while doing pushups! Or if you don't want to get a kick in the a--"

Anyway, it was fun, kind of, and something I hope to continue to enjoy. At age 70, I need to downsize. I won't worry about hubby as he doesn't think he has a problem. Maybe he will get involved as he watches me. It is most often him telling me I need to get rid of my piles of stuff!

This year, in 2024, I hope to have most of my decluttering done.

ShoutoutProcessLifeCommunityChallengeAchievements

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Flamance @ lit.3 months ago

    Great job congratulations

  • Mark Graham4 months ago

    De-cluttering is hard to do. All those shows about organizing and they used to say take a picture of what you want to remember and get rid of that particular item. That way you still have something for the memory or something like that. I am very slowly trying to do that. I do have a lot of books, but actually I am re-reading those and writing critiques on them for here on Vocal.

  • Lol, why does he have so many bread bag ties 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 If I was decluttering, it's safe to say that I'd be throwing out 90% of stuff hahahaha

  • “M”4 months ago

    Great ♡♡

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    Good for you!!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I need to spring clean, too! I'm about it the mood...

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.