Writers logo

Challenge Fatigue

And What To Do About It

By Natasja RosePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
72
Challenge Fatigue
Photo by Zohre Nemati on Unsplash

Aside from the mental exertion of writing a story for one of Vocal's many challenges, there's an emotional toll to consider.

You're excited about finishing, upset or elated by the feedback some people left you, and anticipating the results. Your stat count goes up, some of them leave hearts. You're really proud of the story you submitted, and it looks like other people agree!

Surely this time....

The results are due out at any moment, and you're constantly checking your emails and refreshing the page. You haven't received an email yet, but that takes time, or maybe it ended up in your spam folder. You put so much work in, but maybe you didn't promote it hard enough. Maybe it just wasn't what people want to read.

Self-doubt starts to creep in, and depression won't be far behind.

The Challenge Winners are announced, and your name is nowhere on the list. You read a few of the entries, and can't see what they have that you didn't. Maybe you like some, maybe you can't see how others even got accepted.

You think about how your hearts are stagnating, and your reads are down, and you haven't received a tip, Top Story or bonus in over a month.

You wonder if it's even worth continuing to write on Vocal, since it doesn't seem like anyone would notice or care if you stay or go.

By kilarov zaneit on Unsplash

I've entered nearly every Challenge on Vocal since I joined about a week before the end of Doomsday Diary, except for two of the pet ones; Life Unleashed and EmPAWee of the Month, because I don't have a pet; and Inside Jokes, because I spent most of my childhood as the butt of said jokes.

Sometimes I've entered multiple times, - I had 18 submissions to the Vocal+ Fiction Awards - and with 121 stories, you'd think there'd be something worthwhile in there.

I haven't placed in a single Challenge, not even as a runner-up.

By Jonatán Becerra on Unsplash

It's easy to get discouraged and feel like giving up. It's easy to contemplate cancelling your Vocal account and spending the membership money on comfort food. It's easy to complain about biased judging or vent about how unfair it is on social media.

It's harder to pick yourself up and hope for better luck next time.

I definitely have a tendency to feel upset or resentful after a Challenge Result is announced, but it's a habit I'm doing my best to break.

Luckily, I had class almost immediately after, and a bunch of running around to do after that. (Channeling my latant annoyance into frustration at Centrelink's general incompetence and obstruction was very easy.)

I congratulated the winners of the Owl Challenge, and put a lot of effort into not picking at the winning submissions.

After this piece, I'm going to take a break from Vocal writing for a day or so - I have an upcoming stall that I need to make stock for, and a new book to outline, so it won't be time wasted - and I have a Zoom meet up with friends in a few minutes, and the fancy chocolate that my sister gave me as a belated Christmas present. (She was stuck in Canberra over the festive season, while I was equally trapped in Sydney)

After all: if you can't make your own endorphins, store-bought is fine.

I'll be OK, eventually, it just may take a while. I won't stop writing, but it will take time before I let myself get excited about a Challenge again.

I have a week to brace myself for the Hometown Heroes and We Have A Dream Challenge results, both of which have significantly more entries than I entered into the Owl Challenge.

So, here’s to the people who never give up, who keep trying even in the face of failure. You’re my heroes.

Maybe next time...

If you liked this story, leave a heart or a tip, and follow me on Vocal and Medium!

advice
72

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Owen Schaefer6 months ago

    So... do runners-up in the Owl Contest count toward the no-nitpicking effort? I mean, I finally achieved that dubious distinction, and the story still has had a grand total of eight reads. I'd even be happy for a few hate-views at this point. 😂 The frustration is real.

  • Amjad Dib10 months ago

    you are acting like a rose , you have done a great work , Keep going don't stop

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    This is my story. Listen: all you have to do is never give up and realize that you are not alone. Some contributors have over 1000 pieces here... and no wins. I have over 200 and a few Top Stories, so I feel my odds are good. As long as you have done what you were supposed to do, you are doing okay. ;)

  • Abigail Penhallegonabout a year ago

    Thank you. I hope you win in the future. :)

  • I remember reading this after the first challenge I lost, and it's still just as helpful now. 🖤

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I read this article awhile ago and was thinking about it today. Thank you so much for re-sharing it. You read (and wrote!) a lot of our minds. ❤️

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    I sometimes feel discouraged. A lot of times i find I like some of the stories written by myself and other authors In the facebook groups are worthy of winning.

  • Alina Zabout a year ago

    I am very late to the party, Natasja, but I want to give you a belated hug for the brutally honest and totally relatable account of post-vocal-challenge traumatic disorder. All Vocal challenge participants want to be endorsed somehow. It's not our fault, it's how brains fired by social media work. I think a big problem with the 'feedback' is...well, it's too nice. Nobody wants to upset another challenge contender. If you do, your story doesn't get likes and visibility, etc. So the feedback is rarely constructive (I've seen exceptions). A solution could be to ask specific, trustworthy Vocal community members whose style you like, or who you trust, for HONEST feedback, the kind that hurts but makes us better writers. Even more, you can ask specific questions, always easier to answer: is my story lagging somewhere, if yes–where? Is this plot point engaging enough? Is this metaphor good or it needs some love? Anyway, stopping is not a solution. Thanks again for your candid reflection on a very uncomfortable subject!

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    Great read. Thanks for writing it. I feel the same. Sometimes I get upset, not because I didn't place, but because some of my favourite writers didn't when the wrote truly excellent stories. Such as you!!!

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    Putting this in the GI article update. <3

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Re-read your splendid heartfelt story. Can definitely relate😊💖 previously 💕

  • This hits hard. Been on vocal a year, only ever had 1 top story, 1 tip. Entered a lot of challenges. I feel this hard.

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    I shared in GI. Very good reminder for us all.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    great story and timely share. thank you

  • Joe Patterson2 years ago

    Great article, don’t ever stop writing. We’ve all felt that fatigue, but your due season is coming and your writing will have an amazing impact that you never saw coming.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    You voice most people feeling. ♥️

  • Lots of pertinent points, already read, but worth the revisit.

  • Russell Ormsby 2 years ago

    Hello my dear friend, I have been away from vocal due to a long illness. (I had been listed as terminal by doctors at one stage.) Now I myself look for motivation to continue writing, which I have found in a piece like this one you have written here. If not to write new stories but to complete many that I have started but not finished. Especially stories that are important to my family as they are historical ones which surround the lives of my ancestors. Thank my friend, you will always be my winning writer.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.