Writers logo

Can Creative Writing Be Taught

Or Is It Natural

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2023
Can Creative Writing Be Taught
Photo by Samantha Borges on Unsplash

After reading Alexander McEvoy’s “How Do (I) Write?”, I commented on how the unique journey of a writer’s process cannot necessarily be taught, that it’s something that we must figure out for ourselves on an individual basis. Alexander McEvoy replied that he does not know if creative writing can be taught because it is so individual. This led me to wonder the obvious: Can creative writing be taught? If it cannot, then why do we have so many courses and workshops claiming to do so? Are we just all being duped by some big money-making scheme?

I have a Bachelor’s in English with Emphases in Criticism, Literature, and Theory and Creative Writing, as well as a Master’s in Creative Writing. Since I was in high school, I have attended various courses and workshops on creative writing. Certainly, one would think that if anyone believed that creative writing could be taught, it would be me. However, that is not why I took those courses, and I do not believe that those courses and workshops “taught” me to write creatively.

Does that mean that I regret taking those courses and workshops? Do I think that they were a waste of time? Far from it. They taught me aspects of creative writing that I did not know about before, forced me to think about my writing in new ways, forced me to interact with other writers (something that, as an introvert, I had a very hard time doing until I started taking those courses), got me to write and edit more frequently, got me to read like a writer, and much, much more. I would not have become the writer that I am today without the guidance that these courses and workshops—and the fellow writers that they introduced me to—provided.

By Alexander Grey on Unsplash

How, then, do these courses and workshops not teach creative writing? After all, they seem to provide all the tools necessary to become a better writer. Isn’t that what teaching creative writing is? But that’s the point; these courses and workshops are tools for sharpening the skills that you already have, not a way to learn how to write creatively if you can’t already do it. They won’t be able to give you ideas if you don’t have any. They won’t be able to show you what your voice is if you don’t have one in the first place. If you have nothing to say, they won’t give you something to say. Rather, they will help you to better hone your own style, your way of writing, by providing you with the basic tools that everyone needs to get started.

Creative writing is an individual journey, and not everyone is built for that journey. Yes, anyone can write creatively, but not everyone should write creatively, and it’s not a skill that can be taught. Creative writing comes from unexpected places, from somewhere deep inside of us, and that is something that cannot be duplicated and taught in a classroom. The best that we can do is nurture it, and no, we do not need an official classroom in order to do that. It can be a rec room, a coffee shop, a friend’s living room, anywhere where we can gather, write, read, learn, and give each other feedback. We can do it on our own, or, even better, we can do it with our fellow writers. We can give each other the tools needed to grow our talents, whether it’s a college degree or some feedback on our latest project.

So, no, creative writing cannot be taught, but that does not mean that we should stop “teaching” creative writing. We just need to stop thinking that one form of “teaching” creative writing is better than any other.

AdviceInspirationCommunity

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (22)

  • Kenneth Lawson9 months ago

    As you said Anyone can write, But not everyone should write. The same could be said of most sports. Technically, anyone can play most of them given the right equipment or basic training, They should be able to do the sport. But as you pointed out, They probably should not. It's the same with writing. Technically anyone can put words on a paper or a screen and call it a story. But very few of us can actually put the words on the paper in the way writers can. All of the training in the world won't go very far if there is no innate or native talent backing it up or to build upon. My daughter-in-law thought she could write. Unfortunately, she can't. What she would send me was long meandering passages most of which had nothing to do with the real story she was trying to tell. It usually took a while and lots of work to figure out what the real story was. I tried to work with her several times but in the end, she finally figured out this was something she couldn't do. This was a challenge because I see her regularly. Eventually, it petered out and she hasn't said anything about it in a couple of years. I wanted her to be able to write. But there was no native talent or ability to tell a story. As for me, I've been telling stories ever since I could hold a pencil. For me on a good day, it's like breathing, The words just come. On a bad day, Not So Much. As a pantser, I don't plan or outline or even try to. I start with the opening lines and build from there, then it's the next logical scene, each building on the ones before it. But that's me and how my mind works. As we know every mind works slightly differently had has a different process for getting to the same place. As for training and schooling, If you have native talent it can do wonders for improving what you have, If there's no talent, all the training in the world is only going to do so much good.

  • Scott Christenson9 months ago

    Books or YouTube writing videos can def turn a D+ writer into a B- one. The toolkit of how to use pov, avoid filtering words, etc. Agree to be better than that theres some natural talent needed. Workshops and writers meetups seem to be more social and networking events tbh

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Very interesting ideas & well expressed! 😊👏 I would like to do some type of creative writing classes, but I’d have a fit if I had do share! Lol. I once went to a more casual community writing group and when it was my turn to share (read my piece aloud) I had to pass. 😅 Anyhow, a great piece and congrats on your top story.

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    This is an excellent piece. You had me thinking about my own journey down this road and that is a good thing. I don't think creativity can be taught but I do believe that a good teacher can show you how to get the words from your head onto the paper in a way that works for both you and the reader.

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    This was really interesting to me because I also have a BA and MA in Creative Writing, and when I read the title, I was like, "yeah, I was taught how to do it." But you bring up some really good points. I was always a creative person before I decided to become a writer, the ideas were there, I just needed to refine the tools. You're also right when you say these things can be self-taught, but I do value my education as I personally needed that structure and accountability to see the results I wanted. Great article, and congrats on TS!

  • Lana V Lynx9 months ago

    This is an excellent, thought-provoking piece. If we all can agree that creative writing is good storytelling in a written form, than I believe anyone can learn how to do it, therefore creative writing can be learned and taught. After all, as kids we are all creative, but then the constraints of life and our own experiences force many of us to lose faith in our own creative potential. As long as you have several readers who believe in you and love your work, you are a creative writer for them.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    You say anyone can write creatively, but not everyone should— however, I don't see it this way! Who are we to say what anyone should or shouldn't do? My stories aren't super popular in any regard, but there is SOMEONE who relates; just as for anyone who writes, the audience may be very, very small, but it's there. I loved your thoughts on this; I can't imagine how powerful a Masters feel, (I wish to earn one myself!) congrats on your top story.

  • Tressa Rose9 months ago

    I want to start a creative writing group in my area to give me a way to be more social with my writing, because I know I have a lot of learning and growing I can do with my writing. Congrats on top story!

  • Prakash Singh9 months ago

    This is very interesting, I love it, Stephanie! I think that's the crux of it, I think I really need to work on my https://esarkariyojna.in/

  • This is Sociable and I Also Feel that Creativity is a Free specialty but Inspiration also plays a huge portion when it comes to writing 📝 ♥️😉👍Nice Article and Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this. As I read through it, I began formulating my own opinion that mirrored yours by the time I finished reading. I agree, it comes from within and doesn’t leave you alone until you do something about it and write, lol. Thanks again and congrats!!!

  • Test9 months ago

    I always believed that creative writing came from the source of one's own experiences and belief. I may be wrong on this one, the architect of life shared this with us creatives, thus forming the network of the collective word. Hah thats my half a penny in all this creative writing anyway. Thanks for the inspiration.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    A great read, and a concept I completely agree with. It's something I stressed when I was teaching photography workshops. You can give them the tools and show them how to use them. You can encourage and help them access their innate talents. But the creativity comes from the individual heart and mind. That said, I'm considering taking some Creative Writing classes myself, if I can make the time.

  • Test9 months ago

    This was an intereting read. I've never been to any kind of workshop for writing -creative or otherwise, but your article certainly made me think about it! Thank you! 🤍

  • Test9 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    This is so interesting to read, I've never been on so much as a workshop day for writing, and I'm becoming paranoid that I'm hopeless as a result at times, so it's nice to think it's not a prerequisite - but I would still feel like an imposter in those gathered spaces!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    That’s a good question

  • Amanda Starks9 months ago

    Thank you for this. Anyone can be taught the basic structure of writing in whatever language they choose, but when it comes to the creative aspect of it; the way you twist, paint, and construct those basics together, that's something that will be unique to you, as it is an ART. And art will always be subjective. You can take a course on how to paint portraits like Da Vinci, but the outcomes for every student will be varied. What makes art great isn't just about how much you know how to do it, but how you make it your own.

  • Luther9 months ago

    Nice writing ❤️ I think I really need to work on mine

  • This is interesting. I believe we are, by nature, creative beings. Learning to unleash and explore that creative side is undoubtedly more difficult for some, but I believe it can be nurtured, and, in some ways, at least, taught.

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    Yes!! Love this, Stephanie! I think the heart of it is “are you a storyteller at heart?”… if you are, then you can learn to express yourself better through courses and practice and all those things! If you aren’t though? Then, I don’t know 🤷🏼‍♀️🤷🏼‍♀️

Stephanie HoogstadWritten by Stephanie Hoogstad

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.