Writers logo

Blank Page

Writing can be such a challenge.

By Mark GagnonPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
11
Blank Page
Photo by Ashley West Edwards on Unsplash

I must have been staring at this blank computer screen for at least an hour with nothing to show for it. People write about writer’s block, which in is an oxymoron since they’re writing about it, but never experienced it until now. Bored, frustrated, and feeling useless, I did what anyone would do in this situation—I took a nap.

Waking refreshed, but not inspired, I returned to my sleeping computer. When the computer screen sprang to life, I found this.

Why not write about me?

My first reaction was to laugh out loud, but then reality struck. I’m here by myself, on the top floor of a high-rise apartment building with the door locked. Stranger still, I have not connected this computer to the internet. Thinking it was probably some strange glitch, I wiped the screen clean and once again stared at a blank page. This time, instead of going to sleep, I went for a walk.

Wandering the neighborhood usually works for me. I get some exercise, speak to a neighbor or two, and breathe in some semi-fresh air; it is the city after all. When I returned to my apartment, I was feeling much more confident about creating my next story. Maybe it will be a spy mystery or a thriller. I pushed a button, and the screen flashed to life. It wasn’t blank.

Where did you go? I’ve been waiting for you to start my story.

I’m sure it will receive a Top Story on Vocal or maybe get published in one of those online magazines you’ve been submitting to.

Startled, I pushed my chair back from the desk so hard it teetered on the brink of toppling over before I finally righted it. I’m not an excitable person, but this was really freaking me out. Not only is someone sending me messages on an isolated computer, but they know who I correspond with. Do they know my passcodes? Can they read and edit my emails and texts? My brain was spinning with all the what-ifs.

I pulled myself back to the keyboard, took a deep breath, and typed. “How can I write your story if I don’t know who you are? Maybe if you give me something to work with, I can get started.” The screen remained devoid of an answer for several minutes. Just as I started chastising myself for being so gullible, letters appeared, slowly at first, then increasing in speed.

Why do I need to give you something to work with?

You should already have everything needed to write the story.

Maybe I’ve chosen the wrong person to write my memoir.

Are you really that clueless?

The shift in tone, from friendly to hostile in a matter of a few sentences, concerned me. I’m not the type of person who placates people’s egos. I tell them what I think and if they don’t like it, oh well! This situation is unique. If the person on the other end has access to my electronic life, who knows how much damage he or she could do? I need to be careful. “Sorry, seeing your words pop up on my screen out of nowhere unsettled me for a minute. Why don’t we start by you writing the first sentence or two? We can collaborate to make this a truly remarkable story.”

Now you’re thinking!

I was born before computers were invented, and calculators were called adding machines

A loud buzzing noise interrupted the flow of words on the screen. It pierced my ears and forced me to open my eyes and locate the source. My alarm clock was stalwartly performing its job. I reached over, shut it off, and raced to my computer. The box sat stoically on my desk, displaying a blank screen.

After breakfast, I returned to my work area with no idea what I was going to write. Even with my bizarre dream, I was still facing a blank page.

Writer's Block
11

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Tina D'Angelo21 days ago

    Perhaps you should be writing your memoir and this was a message from beyond. Hmmm, born before computers at a time when we had adding machines that weighed about sixty pounds and spit out a tail of paper with barely legible numbers on it. Or how about an electric typewriter-- no, no, not an electric, but a real old-fashioned one that you had to use eraser tape with, and if you got your fingers stuck between the metal bars, you were a goner?

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Mark, I love that you pointed out writing about writers block is an oxymoron! So clever! I loved the short fiction about writers block and collaborating with a computer/ AI for a story! Great work Mark!

  • Wow, great piece! I had a dream sort of like this, having an internal battle with myself, talking about writing and what I was gonna do. Loved it, good work.

  • This was so freaking brilliant! Also, the communicable computer reminded me of Tom Riddle's diary from Harry Potter! I loved your story!

  • 😲 Mark, I loved this! Your creativity and acknowledgement of blank page angst immediately captured my attention. Kudos! 👏

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Now that had a twist, I was thinking how is he going to finish this with so few words left to read. Maybe Vocal will pick this up. Top Story?

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    I love this. I have also talked about the process, and I always recommend getting away from the work and letting the day take you where it will...

  • Sam Eliza Green8 months ago

    Thank you for sharing. Writing about yourself during a block can really help build confidence. We probably know most about ourselves as subjects, right?Here's to keeping the words flowing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.