Writers logo

AI Tales of a 90's Stripper

Yes. This is clickbait.

By Scott ChristensonPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
43

I used to be a stripper in the 1990s. I loved my job, but as time went on, I realized that I needed to grow up and move on.

When I was stripping, I had a few go-to songs that I loved to dance to. “Pour Some Sugar on Me” by Def Leppard was always a crowd-pleaser, and “Cherry Pie” by Warrant was another favorite. I also loved dancing to “You Shook Me All Night Long” by AC/DC.

Slowly removing my clothes and revealing more and more skin always got the crowd going. I also loved doing the pole dance, twirling around the pole and showing off my flexibility.

Looking back on those days, I realize how much I've grown and changed. But I'll always have a soft spot for the music and dance moves that made me who I am today.

This story was entirely generated by Monica AI based on a two sentence prompt. One can quickly produce a story about any trending topic, or a story full of exciting, attention grabbing drama.

If AI generated stories receive move clicks on Vocal, should we accept they are more successful? Surrender our humanity? Allow the Top Stories section to become dominated by optimized AI content designed to attract the maximum number of clicks?

I think not.

Let's fight back! The hallmark of AI generated content is a sort of bland averagish-ness. The details of the story are about what the average of what a reader would expect. Nothing truly unexpected ever sticks out. There's a lack of quirky, distinct thoughts from the writer. There's often a distant and passive point of view: “I'm a person who often feels depressed” rather than “the world today pisses me off.” And, you might expect an AI story to be written in 3rd person POV, but keep in mind, if a story is written in 1st person POV, it does not mean that that person actually exists.

If you see stories on Vocal that you feel might be AI generated, you could use the following websites to calculate the probability that they are AI or plagiarized content:

  1. copyleaks.com
  2. gptzero.me

I would like to know your thoughts on using AI generated content within Vocal. Could it be used as a tool? Could a story be partly written by human and partly by AI? Where exactly is the line between a grammar checker, such as Grammarly, and an AI text generator like ChatGPT?

Credits:

Thanks to Kayleigh Fraser and Judey Kalchik for recommending the text analysis websites.

Ashley Lima has written a much more extensive article, “How To Spot AI" that is also a great reference:

https://vocal.media/01/how-to-spot-ai-m2lj0bu4

Monica AI tells us how to spot her competitor ChatGPT:

If you're wondering if a story was written by ChatGPT, there are a few things you can look for. First, ChatGPT is an AI language model that generates text based on prompts given to it. This means that if a story has a very specific or niche topic, it's less likely that ChatGPT would have written it.

However, if the story is more general or covers a broad topic, it's possible that ChatGPT could have been used to generate it. In these cases, there are a few things you can look for to determine if ChatGPT was used.

One thing to look for is the writing style. ChatGPT is known for producing text that is very natural-sounding and often has a conversational tone. It also tends to use language that is similar to what you might find in everyday speech or writing. If the story you're reading has these characteristics, it's possible that ChatGPT was used to generate it.

Another thing to look for is the structure of the story. ChatGPT is designed to generate text based on a given prompt or topic, so the stories it produces often have a clear beginning, middle, and end. They may also include specific details or examples related to the topic at hand. If the story you're reading has these elements, it's possible that ChatGPT was involved in its creation.

Of course, there's no surefire way to know if a story was written by ChatGPT without more information. However, if you're curious about the origins of a particular story, these are some things you can look for to help you make an educated guess.

Guides
43

About the Creator

Scott Christenson

Born and raised in Milwaukee WI, living in Hong Kong. Hoping to share some of my experiences w short story & non-fiction writing. Have a few shortlisted on Reedsy:

https://blog.reedsy.com/creative-writing-prompts/author/scott-christenson/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Alice B. Schellinger. 9 months ago

    I definitely feel that AI could be useful in some cases, such as using Grammarly for a grammar checker or a word counting site to ensure you’re getting the proper word count for a piece. But, generating everything you’ve written with simple AI commands can lead to inauthenticity, especially as a writer. Yes, it can help you speed up the process of your writing to use ChatGPT or other AI formats. But, at what cost?

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    Hate to hijack this thread- but Ilene's posts have been reported as spam, and all of their 'content' has been flagged by me as unattributed ai-generated.

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    AI can be very useful, but using it to generate entire stories? A big fat NO.

  • Morgana Miller9 months ago

    I finally used ChatGPT last night to help me, instead of using it to curiously play around and see what it's capable of. It reworded a few paragraphs of a funding proposal when I was braindead AF, and the results were so much better than what my burnt-out brain was capable of producing. I have a love/hate relationship with these tools, at this point... I will say though, if the sentences you fed it were "help me generate some click-bait for Vocal.media" then this is AI-driven content. But if you wrote the title and asked the AI to write a story about stripping in the 90's, you're still steering the ship, you're just relying more on a deckhand. I don't feel like this nuance makes the use of AI defensible for creative writing, but I see a place for it as a supplementary tool in some capacity. The lines are just still blurry, though, and the ethics are of course subjective.

  • Raymond G. Taylor9 months ago

    Good to see you experimenting with AI and learning about its uses. Well done on the TS

  • Melissa Ingoldsby9 months ago

    I really don’t like the use of Ai to create art or books but I feel that in small doses it is interesting to see how “creative” it can get. Great article!

  • Jack Brel9 months ago

    Just last evening, a friend shared two book reviews created by ChatGPT. Different books, but the same structure, tired metaphors, and sarcastic tone. If this is AI's best, it's not passing my Turing test yet. Impressive article, Scott! ^^

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Very deserving. Congrats Scott.

  • I loved Monica AI's insight about ChatGPT! Lol, at your clickbait title. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Doc Sherwood9 months ago

    The funny thing was, just yesterday evening a friend of mine showed me two book reviews he'd generated by ChatGPT. Two different books, identical reviews. Same structure, same tired old figures of speech, same wearying sarcastic tone. If that's the best AI can do, it's yet to pass my Turing test. Great article, Scott!

  • Article Pins9 months ago

    copyleaks.com is very helpful

  • Marilyn Glover9 months ago

    As an editor, I am finding more and more pieces that are combos of human and AI content. Sometimes, the AI detectors are inaccurate, but I usually can get a good inkling by careful study and using multiple checkers. The old school me wishes the whole AI thing did not exist. Unfortunately, I deal with it daily and like anything else, it will continue evolving. 😂 congratulations on top story! 👏

  • yikes -- as much asI thought the beginning was a bit bland to win an award.. i first thought oh well --finding out that AI did it made my heart sink -- god help us if screen writers are ever replaced.. thanks for the insightful story.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Thank you for the AI-detection links, but I like to play a game and see if I can catch them myself. I just found out that one of my Top Stories was copied very badly by an AI (almost flattered). Thanks!

  • Back to say well done on top Story!!! 🥰😘

  • I agree that what the AI generates is pretty bland and blah. And I also agree, definitely shouldn’t let it become the norm, do not want to embrace mediocrity. My views on AI, I guess they could develop or change. So far, with all my exposure to it, they haven’t. I don’t like it. Beyond the mediocrity. I don’t like the idea of something without a heartbeat creating large portions of anything considered art. And then for the person with the heartbeat to be given credit. Because to me, that’s not what art is. I used AI art for a bit until I realized the connection of that and AI writing. AI writing bothered me because I write. AI art hadn’t bothered me as someone who isn’t an artist in that way, but then I realized it’s all the same. For me, I never want to use it at all. I really appreciate your piece on this and the resources too!

  • Rene Volpi 9 months ago

    Used to have a stripper support my ass in Sao Paulo, Brazil for months. All I had to do is teach her Spanish. Oh, and bring her cookies with orange juice on the morning for breakfast. One day I'll write a story about that summer in Brazil.

  • Congratulations on your Good Clickbait 🎉😉💯

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Clickbait!!! LOL Congratulations on Top Story!!! Disclosure of AI use is important.

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Back to say congrats on your Top Story! 🥂

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Another identifying factor of AI is it usually horrible. Monica the stripper was painful to read. Thank you for this informative piece. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Alexander McEvoy9 months ago

    Click bait you say? Well well, consider the bait clicked! Very informative piece, thanks for sharing. I guess I'm just an old fashioned guy at heart, but I hate the idea of AI writing stories. In much the same way as my sibling hates that I use AI to generate a lot of my story covers. Maybe that makes me a hypocrite. I honestly don't know. There's a philosophy paper in here somewhere

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    well done! I wonder if I would finish the guide on finding AI clues faster if i asked Monica to do it?....

  • ema9 months ago

    I have to say ai detectors are as stupid as ai generator. If you put a texts in 3 or 4 of them you get different results. Sometimes I try with my texts and I know I wrote them but it can results in some parts possible ai generated and I know they are not 😵

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    YES TO A TOP STORY TOO ❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.