Writers logo

A Singular World of Writers

A place of our own

By Tina D'AngeloPublished 5 months ago • 3 min read
A Singular World of Writers
Photo by Kamila Maciejewska on Unsplash

In a world where it is believed that all authors are rich and famous, the world of Vocal, and similar sites are astonishing to me. Having stumbled upon Vocal a full year ago, six months into my serious writing journey, I couldn't believe a place like this existed. A venue where my paltry attempts at writing garnered kind words of encouragement from others, who were in love with the pen and paper, just as I was. It was as if I'd landed upon a soft, warm cloud of words, that carried me from one challenge to another, beckoning the unplumbed depths of my ability.

When arriving at Vocal, I didn't know I could write poetry. Certainly, nothing as complicated as a Haiku. I wasn't even sure what that was, to be honest with you. I found a passion for free verse and slam poetry, which worked out every fiber of anger and angst within me. I also became fond of limericks and twisted fairy tales within the contest boundaries. The tighter the boundaries, the more I had to work to make the thoughts and words fit together. I thought it would be tedious_ but it was quite the opposite. It excited me and forced me to grow my vocabulary, as I struggled to fit just the right words into their perfect slots. For a writer, that is our lifeblood: words and more words, with a better understanding of their use.

The prompts made me stretch my writing wings wider than I believed possible. They forced me to live with a Thesaurus under my pillow at night and review grammar rules I hadn't seen since eighth grade. Each prompt taught me something new about the art of writing. Dragging me awkwardly through unfamiliar territory at first, until words began pouring out faster than I could put them on paper. You all know what I'm talking about.

Although I've never won money in these challenges, I've always walked away a winner, having learned more about my craft. That is always our greatest reward.

To have a ready crew of talented writers offering me encouragement and suggestions on my works in progress has been nothing less than a miracle. My own band of beta readers here on Vocal has helped me iron out wrinkles in three of my works in progress, as I submitted chapter after chapter to Vocal for their appraisal. G-Is for String, Save One Bullet, and G-Is for String: Oh, Canada! are all currently published or on their way to publication. Without my friends and colleagues on Vocal, whom I rely on for their honest opinions and reactions to my work, I wouldn't have had the courage to go forward with those books. Thank you for your kindness.

In 2024, two new stories from Vocal Challenges will become full-length novels: Carve Your Name into My Heart, and TEASE. One of the narrators for the audiobook versions of my books will be collaborating with me on a novella series. I, who am clueless about technical things, will have stories featured on a podcast. This seventy-year-old granny is getting around!

I honestly doubt if all these accomplishments would have been possible, had it not been for the supportive community I found on Vocal. When I began writing my memoir, I thought that would be it. Fun reminiscing, then I would go back to my cake baking and quilt sewing. I had no idea how hard I would fall for the lure of the pen. She is a demanding lover who takes over every waking hour and, many times, our dreaming slumber.

Let's all take our pens into 2024 together and I will see you all at the next challenge.

VocalPromptsInspirationCommunityChallenge

About the Creator

Tina D'Angelo

G-Is for String is now available in Ebook, paperback and audiobook by Audible!

https://a.co/d/iRG3xQi

G-Is for String: Oh, Canada! and Save One Bullet are also available on Amazon in Ebook and Paperback.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Wooohooooo congratulations!! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊 Here's to more novels by you! I wish you all the best! 🥰🥰🥰

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    Congratulations on your publications, audiobooks, and being featured on a podcast!! Wow!!! That is amazing and seriously inspiring. Also, I couldn't agree more with what you said about the challenges and community!

  • Mark Gagnon5 months ago

    Congratulations on producing an audiobook! I wanted to do that with mine but find it cost-prohibitive. Every other thing you've mentioned rings so true for me as well. I was one of four presenters on writing this week and found it surreal that I was standing in front of people talking about writing. What a strange world!

Tina D'AngeloWritten by Tina D'Angelo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.