Writers logo

A Helping Hand

A Little Unconventional Love and Support

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
12
A Helping Hand
Photo by Lina Trochez on Unsplash

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.”

                                                                  - Harriet Tubman

 

Dear Mama,

 

I’m sorry it’s been a while since I’ve visited and checked in. I think about you often.

I’d say I’ve been busy, but that’s not fair to you. You deserve better than some lame excuse to say why I haven’t been around like I used to. But I’d like to think you can appreciate and understand why.

 

I just hope that you are proud of me. Your little bird has flown the coop. I’m soaring higher than I thought I would and yet, I can’t help but feel guilty that I haven’t made more time for you.

I’d like to say I will from now on, but I can’t let myself make a promise I might not keep, not when I’m finally seeing the fruits of our labour.

 

I just wanted to say Thank You, for everything you’ve done for me. I may not show how grateful I am, like a typical child, but I’m also not a child to you in the typical sense.

I’m not yours by blood, but in spirit.

 

I appreciate everything you’ve done for me; pushing me to try new writing styles, reminding me to inject personality into my pieces, keeping me honest, and reminding me that the most important tool I can possess is self-confidence.

 

I know you have never asked for recognition or thanks. After all, I am not the first and certainly not the last of your little fledglings. But I want you to know that I am grateful for what you have done for me and what you continue to do for others here on Vocal.

 

You nourish, care for, and guide us as we grow into our craft. Then, when the time is right, you bid us goodbye as we spread our wings and fly into the world. Hoping that we will return, still remembering the lessons you had taught us. You watch us spread joy and share our talents, while you take on another batch of fledglings that will have you to thank for their successes.

 

So for that and so much more, I would like to say Thank You Mama Novel for your many lessons, sharing your wisdom and being a shining light on Vocal that many of have needed.

 

Your Forever Fledgling,

Donna Fox (HKB)

 

 

Author’s Note:

This is an entry for the Dragon Beside Me Challenge, where they have prompted us to write about a woman who influences or has influenced us during a time of need.

 

For me, one of the first people that came to mind was Mama Novel, or Novel Allen, as most of you know her. She was the very first person I started talking to on Vocal and was the first person to encourage me to venture out and try other genres, new styles, different narratives and publishing in different communities. She was also the person who told me to socialize and make friends with people on this platform, so I dare say that without her guidance I wouldn’t know many of you wonderful people like I do now. And for that, I am eternally grateful, because I dare say that I like most of you more than the real people I encounter in everyday life!

 

So Thank You Novel for taking me under your wing and teaching me to fly. I appreciate you and all that you do/ have done for me!

 

I know I used a lot of bird analogies in this piece and that is mostly because that was what we often used when talking about her mentorship over me. But upon further inspection, I think she empowered me more than I will ever really know. I think she has shown more qualities of a mother dragon than a bird; her strength, love and determination to help others see their potential is why I feel she is worthy of honouring in the Dragon Beside Me Challenge.

 

So from the bottom of my heart, thank you Mama Novel!

 

Much love,

Donna Fox (HKB)

VocalShoutoutResourcesLifeInspirationCommunity
12

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    I know that life is demanding, so no pressure on you for anything. Go at your own pace, we are all just doing the best that we can. I loved the days when things were easier, now there is a whole new set of things to deal with. Take your time, it is all about you. Enjoy yourself doing what you love.

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Oh my....I am totally shocked and speechless Donna. I still prefer the days when E-mails appeared in my inbox, because I almost missed my DAUGHTER'S tribute to me. AH, those notifications!!!!! Lately I have been like, "look at Donna Fox soar like the eagle". Sorry, birds still make the stories better. I am watching you and Dhar like a proud virtual momma should. From baby steps to accomplished successful writers blazing their Vocal trail and beyond. I have been a bit out of it lately, but I will catch up on what I have missed. Keep on shining like the star you are dear HKB, (we will know what that means one of these days). Still the mystery is part of the charm. Thank you from my heart. I really needed a 'pick me up'. You have made my day. Hugs and blessings.

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    This was such a sweet piece Donna :) The raw emotion of an artist towards the person who pushed them towards achieving their dreams and finding their feet is a beautiful thing. I'm glad Novel was able to help you out so that I could meet you, certainly deserving of all the praise we can give her and more

  • Novel has encouraged me sooooo much as well!! She definitely deserves to be written about, especially for this challenge! I'm so happy to have the same Momma as you D! 🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • ema3 months ago

    Donna, this is beautiful and tender, also a nice surprise because I thought you were talking to your mother, instead its about the Novel's loving support and guidance. Congratulations to both of you 🥰

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    What a fantastic and beautiful tribute Donna!

  • Carol Townend3 months ago

    This is really sweet. I read some of Novel's work. She is a great writer and a wonderful encourager. She is a very friendly person and a good mentor. She will love your story as much as I do.

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    I don't believe Novel and I have crossed paths more than a couple of times on Vocal, but she must be a beautiful person to illicit such a heartfelt tribute from you. It's a wonderful thing when you can come across somebody that will truly inspire you. I'm happy for you Donna!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    This is so wonderful, what a great tribute to someone who inspires and gave you the strength to write. We are all the better fir her encouragement of you.

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    What a sweet tribute to Novel! She is certainly one of the most supportive creators here and it's nice to know that she "took you under her wing." You fledged well and are flying high.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.