Writers logo

5 Questions Writers Ask Themselves When They Want To Quit

And the answers they need to remember so they don't

By Elise L. BlakePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2024
5 Questions Writers Ask Themselves When They Want To Quit
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

In every writer's journey comes the moment when the doubt creeps in and the desire to quit becomes stronger than the words of our supporters telling us to hang in there a little bit longer. We start asking ourselves questions about not only our writing but ourselves. 

Some of these questions include:

Am I Good Enough?

Self-doubt is a constant thorn in the side of almost all writers. They question whether their work is good enough to be worth the ink it may be printed in let alone whether or not it is good enough for readers to be willing to spend their time and money on. 

I may not have personally read what you've written, but as long as you have given it the best parts of you, your heart, soul, and dedication, I know for a fact that it is good enough, but not just "good enough" -  I believe that it is worth sharing. 

Is Anyone Even Reading My Work?

It's normal for a writer to wonder if the words they are putting out into the world are ending up in the hands of anyone. 

I wonder this same thing as I post articles on a daily basis. Some of them flop, but every once in a while I get a comment from someone saying that what I had to say was exactly what they needed to hear and it makes each post without a single view or read worth it. 

Lack of feedback can be disheartening, but you just have to keep holding on. Your efforts are not in vain. 

Will I Ever Get Published?

For most writers the end goal of writing is publishing. Going through the traditional route of publishing doesn't lead to guarantees that your book will get published and as rejection letters pile up, the hope of the writer can dwindle.

There's a secret answer to this one though - self-publishing. 

It's a guarantee that you're book will be published if you publish it yourself. Sure it's going to take a bit of extra work, but as long as you have the motivation, dedication, and patience, you might experience better results than if you had handed your book off to someone else to publish for you. 

Am I Wasting My Time?

Often writing is looked down on by those who don't write as being a waste of time and energy, there are better things that you could be doing such as the laundry, dishes, getting a real job, popping out grandkids, maybe working for the post office… whoops! How did my last conversation with my mother get in here?

There are many reasons why writers write. Some write to tell a story that's clawing at their insides begging to be set free, others write as a way of healing and for many more reasons. 

You know your reasons for writing better than anyone, and as long as you have one it is never a waste of time.  

Should I Give Up?

There is only one reason you should ever give up writing and it's a pretty drastic reason. 

If writing is somehow detrimental to your physical, emotional, or mental well-being. 

That's all. 

Nothing else should keep you from writing. 

You are more than good enough and there are readers out there that are just waiting for a story like yours to come along. 

If no one else will publish your work then you're just going to have to lace up your bootstraps and do it yourself. 

Now go get back to writing. 

With love, 

B.K. xo xo

Want to write with me live? I'm now on Twitch! Come join me in some writing sprints most days at 10:00 pm EST

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

_____________________________________________

This story was originally posted on Medium. Join Medium as a member for just $5/month to access premium content and help me continue creating articles like these. You can also earn money by posting your own stories using Mediums' Partner Program.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1. Your support keeps my creativity brewing. Treat me to a cup! ☕

Thanks for your support and happy writing!

ProcessInspirationCommunityAdvice

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (20)

  • Ted Ryan4 months ago

    Brilliant article!

  • Anna 5 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Unknown Person5 months ago

    never give up

  • Amy Black5 months ago

    Thank you! I shared this with my daughter, and we laughed and discussed it and felt inspired. Now, I'm going to get back to my writing.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Yes, some of these thoughtful questions have rolled in my head. Great article!

  • Christian Bass5 months ago

    Seems that I am the exception. I always believed that I am good enough, no matter what whoever throw at me, I knew that as a fact. As well as I knew that I will get published and as soon as that happens, I will have readers automatically. A self-therapy can't be a waste of time and writing always was that for me. But the last question, I asked myself quite a lot of times. Kinda funny, when I think about it now.

  • Something that helped me overcome imposter syndrome where folks appeared to be drawing a lot of meaning from a piece I didn't write with the depth they seemed to be finding is the mantra I came up with: "Your content is yours, but it belongs to everyone." Meaning that everyone can draw their own meaning and significance from a piece because to everyone, the same words can tap different emotions and speak to them differently based on their own unique experiences. This is equally important to remember should you find folks having negative reactions to your pieces.

  • Timothy E Jones5 months ago

    Went through some of these feelings last year, but decided to get back into it. One of the things that I find encouraging is that I'm being to get a bit of a following, which I didn't have before.

  • Sahib ali5 months ago

    That’s great😍

  • What a heartwarming piece! This reminded me of the place I was months ago. My goal has never been to be world-famous, but it can be discouraging when it seems like you are not being seen at all. Thankfully, I made some changes to my mindset and routine, and I started seeing a difference. That's part of what I like about Vocal -we are surrounded by fellow creators who get it and support you.

  • Shafi Faizi5 months ago

    Love it :)

  • I like writing on Vocal, but they make it clear that I am just here to pay my subscription, nothing more. My audience tells me how good I am and I believe them not Vocal. Some excellent points here

  • Annetta Brown5 months ago

    Thank you I needed to read this.

  • Mark Graham5 months ago

    All great questions that we all still have at times. I would love to self publish but cannot afford to do so. I like writing here on Vocal and I do have subscribers, but I do have one thing. I wish I could get more comments on my older work. I have been writing here for a few years now, and some of my earlier work either has not been read and none have hardly any comments. Sorry for complaining.

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    I needed to read this... I've been questioning if I'm good enough for even here, often feeling like I'm not because of my creativity being stifled.

  • Marth May Mauricy5 months ago

    do not ever give up your writing your advice is always helpful to me and others even though i new to writing i have learned much from you

  • Marth May Mauricy5 months ago

    You put yourself into this advice and I can tell it means much! Thank you

  • Marth May Mauricy5 months ago

    Loved this!

  • Ha Le Sa5 months ago

    Very Well written!

Elise L. BlakeWritten by Elise L. Blake

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.