Writers logo

1000 Reads!

My first major milestone

By Rene PetersPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
11
Google Image

For a long time, I checked my stats every day. Recently, it turned into every few days. Today I saw that on December 3rd, I hit 1,000 reads. I want to say thank you to everyone who reads my poetry and journal entry type things. Now, onto a few extremely special people.

*

First, although she has not read anything, my first therapist was possibly the most important in this milestone. Without her, I would not have discovered my love of writing. Before her, I only wrote in school and hated it because of the prompts. Thank you Sara, even though I know you will not see this.

Although he only has one poem here (not a huge fan of writing) thank you James Bergeron. You're always there for me. You're so supportive no matter what I'm talking to you about. You care when I share exciting new about anything but especially stuff related to Vocal since you know how much I care about it. You are the best friend a woman could ask for.

Now I have a list of people from here that have made this possible for me (in no particular order)...

-Mother Combs, thank you for helping me with improving with my writing. If it weren't for you, I wouldn't have tried writing fiction. I probably wouldn't have the consistency that I've had lately. I likely would not have even tried challenging myself in the slightest. Plus, you're overall a great friend, always there when I need, or just want, to talk. Plus, you share my writing when I don't have enough confidence to do it myself.

-River Joy, thank you for also being a really good friend. I know we don't talk outside of the Vocal discord chats but you're always so easy to talk to and extremely supportive no matter how much I hate my writing or how bad my mental/physical health is. It always helps to have someone to talk to. Plus pictures of your dog always brighten my day.

-Dharrsheena Raja Segarran, I know we don't talk outside of comments but you are a huge support by reading everything I write, almost always the day it's posted. I can't put how much that means into words. Your comments are always super thoughtful. It means so much that someone cares as much as you do about the pieces I've written, especially with my lack of confidence and high self hatred.

-Rick Henry Christopher, you are a great friend and an amazing writer. You are so helpful and caring about everything when we talk. You give great feedback and are an amazing listener. You leave such kind comments quite often, which is greatly appreciated.

-Celia in Underland, thank you for always being there for me both about writing and about life in general. I am so unbelievably sorry that I forgot (because of using a mental list) that I wanted to put you as a special thank you. You are a wonderful friend.

*

Thank you so much to the entire Vocal team. If it wasn't for you guys creating this platform, I wouldn't have some of the amazing friends that I have from this incredible community. I appreciate the ability to be able to write and share what I'm feeling, to get the support in a way outside of therapy, and to have freedom to explore myself as a writer. I would have never had any improvement without this platform and the people on it.

*

While I didn't thank everyone personally, I do want to thank everyone who spends time reading my stories and poems. Without everyone on this platform, I wouldn't be writing about reaching an amazing milestone.

* * *

A quote Mother Combs shared in a Facebook group, Vocal + Assist seems to be becoming true for me...

"Write until it becomes as natural as breathing. Write until not writing makes you anxious."

VocalCommunityAchievements
11

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred22 days ago

    Sorry I missed this, but am including it as an example in my latest piece

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Congratulations Rene! 🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • This is so beautiful René!!! You have much beauty in your heart. I enjoy reading what you write. I wish I could read more. Caring for mom is more than a full-time job. Congratulations on reaching 1,000 reads.

  • Test5 months ago

    Congratulations

  • Test5 months ago

    Congrats on 1,000! And thank you for the beautiful shoutout 🖤

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Congratulations, Rene!!💙

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fabulous story and quote!!! Congratulations on the 1000 read milestone!!! Sending hearts and hugs!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Love that quote on the end and congratulations Rene! A milestone worth celebrating! Here's to the next 1000! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.