Wheel logo

It Was Almost Warm Today. We Got The Upper 30s This Afternoon.

My husband got the motorcycles running today.

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
It Was Almost Warm Today. We Got The Upper 30s This Afternoon.
Photo by Nicole Geri on Unsplash

Now, don’t get me wrong, there is snow on the ground here. We won’t be riding anytime soon. We have taken a trip on rented bikes at this time of year before. We are not doing that this year though.

Hubby got the bikes both running today. Tomorrow it is going to be warmer yet and it looks like nice weather for the week.

We talked about getting scooters when we are too old to put our legs over the seat! No, can’t even imagine that, although, I love to ride. Yesterday he said no. Not going there.

We talked about downsizing. His bike is a 1900 Stratoliner and mine is a 1300 V-star. We thought of maybe downsizing to 800–900, that range. Any smaller and the wind can move you around a bit on the road.

I was riding my bike in my early 20s. The last time I rode before I took a long break. 21 years to be exact. I hit some soft sand, popped a wheelie, and slid off my bike. I was seven months pregnant.

I was read the riot act by my mother, who informed me that having two babies now, I needed to be around for them! I couldn’t afford to be sliding off my bike anymore. So, after more words, I promised to not ride again on my own until my baby was 21.

Photo by author; used with permission.

When my baby turned 21, I got a bike. He is 44 now. So, I have been riding for several years. And enjoying every minute of it! At some point, he chopped my old 800 Volusia into a bike he could ride. He is in the picture above.

I learned when I was young to ride my bike and I never did enjoy being a passenger on a motorcycle. I did ride as a passenger though during those years of not riding my own. It isn’t the same, but the ride is better than a car or truck!

When living and working in Montana, we rode small dirt bikes to round up cattle. My husband worked on a registered black Angus farm. I had a blast. We also used horses to round up cattle and I preferred bikes.

The only times I put my bike down was the time when pregnant and one time after a long trip, I pulled up in the yard and couldn’t hold it up for another second. I gently laid it down and my husband rushed right over and picked it up.

It barely touched the ground. And it was a very good thing that there were roll bars to keep the bike from getting any dents or scratches.

Over the years we have had lots of warnings and know others that have given up riding. We have even known those who have ended up in the hospital due to accidents on bikes. We hear stories about those families or friends that have died.

I always think that I could die many other ways and if it happens to be on a motorcycle, it is okay with me as it is something I love doing and we are more careful than the average guy or gal. No drinking or using drugs. We don’t ride side by side and never ride with a group.

We are defensive drivers and aware that people do not see motorcycles.

There are certain positions that the bike can be in that the car or truck simply can not see them. We are praying people and I have a favorite thing I always say when riding. Thank you, God/Creator, for keeping the critters in the ditch, the birds in the air, and the bugs where they belong.

Since we moved up north, people have asked how scary it was to ride a motorcycle in the cities. Not as bad as riding with the deer up here we said! And our season is shorter on both ends as the temperature is usually 10 degrees different up north.

We will enjoy riding until we no longer can put our legs over the seat!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

First published by Everything Fun on Medium.

feature
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.